The Complete Novels of Henry James: The Portrait of a Lady + The Wings of the Dove + What Maisie Knew + The American + The Bostonian + The Ambassadors + Washington Square and more (Unabridged): Confidence + Roderick Hudson + The Awkward Age + The Europeans + The Golden Bowl + The Other House + The Outcry + The Princess Casamassima + The Reverberator + The Sacred Fount….

1
Free sample

This carefully crafted ebook: “The Complete Novels of Henry James: The Portrait of a Lady + The Wings of the Dove + What Maisie Knew + The American + The Bostonian + The Ambassadors + Washington Square and more (Unabridged)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. Table of Contents: Confidence Roderick Hudson The Ambassadors The American The Awkward Age The Bostonians The Europeans The Golden Bowl The Other House The Outcry The Portrait of a Lady The Princess Casamassima The Reverberator The Sacred Fount The Spoils of Poynton The Tragic Muse The Whole Family The Wings of the Dove Washington Square Watch and Ward What Maisie Knew The Ivory Tower (Unfinished) The Sense of the Past (Unfinished) The Portrait of a Lady is one of James's most popular long novels, and is regarded by critics as one of his finest. The Portrait of a Lady is the story of a spirited young American woman, Isabel Archer, who in "affronting her destiny", finds it overwhelming. She inherits a large amount of money and subsequently becomes the victim of Machiavellian scheming by two American expatriates. “The Wings of the Dove” tells the story of Milly Theale, an American heiress stricken with a serious disease, and her effect on the people around her. Some of these people befriend Milly with honorable motives, while others are more self-interested. “The American” is an uneasy combination of social comedy and melodrama concerning the adventures and misadventures of Christopher Newman, an essentially good-hearted but rather gauche American businessman on his first tour of Europe. Henry James (1843–1916) was an American-British writer who spent most of his writing career in Britain. He is regarded as one of the key figures of 19th-century literary realism.
Read more
Collapse
4.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
e-artnow
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 31, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
1250
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9788026833741
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Romance / Collections & Anthologies
Fiction / Romance / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Regarded as one of the key figures of nineteenth century realism, Henry James has become famous for his novels and tales that explore the clash between the Old World Europeans and New World Americans. Using an innovative method of writing from a character’s point of view within a tale, James’ works explore issues related to consciousness and perception, producing his own inimitable ‘impressionist’ style. Delphi Classics is proud to present the complete works of this important master for the first time in publishing history, providing every novel, tale, non-fiction work and bonus material.  (Version 10)

* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All 23 novels – including THE OTHER HOUSE, often missed out of collections
* The unfinished novels THE IVORY TOWER and THE SENSE OF THE PAST
* The novel THE WHOLE FAMILY, which James collaborated on with 11 other authors
* All 112 of the novellas (including THE ASPERN PAPERS and THE TURN OF THE SCREW) and short stories with BOTH chronological and alphabetical contents tables
* Includes James' rare plays
* The complete travel writing, with many rare works appearing in digital print for the first time
* Rare Non-Fiction collections and essays
* Features James' three autobiographies, available nowhere else - explore the Great Master's literary life!
* Special BONUS critical texts - discover how writers such as Conrad, Wells, Woolf and Stevenson viewed James’ works
* Many images relating to James and his work
* COMPLETELY UPDATED with revised texts and improvements
* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres

The Novels
WATCH AND WARD
RODERICK HUDSON
THE AMERICAN
THE EUROPEANS
CONFIDENCE
WASHINGTON SQUARE
THE PORTRAIT OF A LADY
THE BOSTONIANS
THE PRINCESS CASAMASSIMA
THE REVERBERATOR
THE TRAGIC MUSE
THE OTHER HOUSE
THE SPOILS OF POYNTON
WHAT MAISIE KNEW
THE AWKWARD AGE
THE SACRED FOUNT
THE WINGS OF THE DOVE
THE AMBASSADORS
THE GOLDEN BOWL
THE OUTCRY
THE WHOLE FAMILY
THE IVORY TOWER
THE SENSE OF THE PAST

The Tales
LIST OF TALES IN CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER
LIST OF TALES IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER

The Plays
PYRAMUS AND THISBE
STILL WATERS
A CHANGE OF HEART
DAISY MILLER
TENANTS
DISENGAGED
THE ALBUM
THE REPROBATE
GUY DOMVILLE
SUMMERSOFT
THE HIGH BID
THE OUTCRY

The Travel Writing
TRANSATLANTIC SKETCHES
PORTRAITS OF PLACES
A LITTLE TOUR IN FRANCE
ENGLISH HOURS
THE AMERICAN SCENE
ITALIAN HOURS

The Non-Fiction
FRENCH NOVELISTS AND POETS
HAWTHORNE
PARTIAL PORTRAITS
ESSAYS IN LONDON AND ELSEWHERE
PICTURE AND TEXT
WILLIAM WETMORE STORY AND HIS FRIENDS
VIEWS AND REVIEWS
NOTES ON NOVELISTS
WITHIN THE RIM AND OTHER ESSAYS
NOTES AND REVIEWS
THE ART OF THE NOVEL

The Letters
THE LETTERS OF HENRY JAMES

The Autobiographies
A SMALL BOY AND OTHERS
NOTES OF A SON AND BROTHER
THE MIDDLE YEARS

The Criticism
HENRY JAMES — AN APPRECIATION by Joseph Conrad
HENRY JAMES, JR by William Dean Howells
HENRY JAMES: A CRITICAL STUDY by Ford Madox Ford
SUSPENDED JUDGMENTS: HENRY JAMES by John Cowper Powys
AN EXTRACT FROM ‘THE DECAY OF LYING’ by Oscar Wilde
OTHER ESSAYS: HENRY JAMES by Virginia Woolf
MEMOIRS AND PORTRAITS: AN ESSAY AND LETTER by Robert Louis Stevenson
UNDERWOODS: POEMS ADDRESSED TO HENRY JAMES by Robert Louis Stevenson
INTRODUCTION TO THE AUTOBIOGRAPHIES by F. W. Dupee
OF ART, OF LITERATURE, OF MR. HENRY JAMES by H. G. Wells
HENRY JAMES by Arnold Bennett

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he’d done something terrible?

 

‘A heart-wrenching and gripping tale. I was hooked from the very first page.’ Write Escape 

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandroand the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything he has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage. 

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. Then one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves? 

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price. 

A USA Today bestseller – a heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain. 

What everyone’s saying about The Silent Wife:

‘A compulsive read about secrets, lies, and the complexities of families.’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books

‘What a great novel this is! A very moving story filled with deception, betrayal and, contrastingly, loyalty, love, caring and forgiveness... and it has a brilliant ending!’ Splashes Into Books

‘Well, this book is a firecracker!...you will experience a rollercoaster of emotions, with laughter, sadness and a satisfying ending that will bring a lump to your throat.’ Many Books Many Lives

‘A fantastic, thought-provoking story, told with pace and style.’ Laura Bambrey Books

‘My heart broke … The plot is so well written that you begin to feel as though you are one of the family and it is packed with twists and turns.’ The Reading Reverie

‘A page turner - full of implied secrets, unravelling family lives, new family dynamics.’ Bookworms and Shutterbugs

‘An addictive novel about family dynamics, secrets and betrayals that will have your mouth hanging open in disbelief many times along the way.’ Books of All Kinds

‘A compelling, chilling and heart pounding read which will take you on a rollercoaster ride you’ll never want to leave. Phenomenally written and undeniably powerful, Kerry Fisher has done it yet again.’ The Writing Garnet

‘My only regret about this book is beginning to read it at half term and not being able to finish it quicker. A gripping and emotional read.’ De Ja Reads

‘It is rare that a book will make you look at your own personality and inspire you to be a better person. A less judgmental person. A braver person. The Silent Wife did that for me – and in the most unexpected way … I gasped, laughed and cried.’ The Glass House Girls

‘I loved this book… I was riveted throughout. 5 stars.’ Emma B books

‘The Silent Wife had me engrossed from page one. Five Stars!’ Boon’s Bookcase

‘Another five star read from Kerry Fisher ... I love Kerry Fisher’s books and this was no exception!’ Strongly Review

‘A wonderful, poignant, heart breaking, heart warming story of families and secrets, of hidden strength and unexpected friendship. Brilliant! Very highly recommended. Cannot wait for Kerry’s next!’ Renita D’Silva

This book was previously titled The Secrets of Second Wives 

A wonderful new collection of Henry James's short stories about the relationship between art and life, edited by Michael Gorra.

This volume gathers seven of the very best of Henry James's short stories, all exploring the relationship between art and life. In 'The Aspern Papers', a critic is determined to get his hands on a great poet's papers hidden in a faded Venetian house - not matter what the human cost. 'The Author of Beltraffio', 'The Lesson of the Master' and 'The Figure in the Carpet' all focus on naive young men's unsettling encounters with their literary heroes. In 'The Middle Years', a dying novelist begins to glimpse his own potential, while 'The Real Thing' and 'Greville Fane' both explore the tension between artistic and commercial success. These fables of the creative life reveal James at his ironic, provocative best.

Henry James was born in 1843 in New York and died in London in 1916. In addition to many short stories, plays, books of criticism, autobiography and travel, he wrote some twenty novels, the first published being Roderick Hudson (1875). They include The Europeans, Washington Square, The Portrait of a Lady, The Bostonians, The Princess Casamassima, The Tragic Muse, The Spoils of Poynton, The Awkward Age, The Wings of the Dove, The Ambassadors and The Golden Bowl.

Michael Gorra is Professor of English at Smith College and the author of Portrait of a Novel: Henry James and the Making of an American Masterpiece (2012), a finalist for both the Pulitzer Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in biography.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.