Hotelier Indonesia 32nd Edition: Feb - March 2018

Free sample

 Dear Hotelier Indonesia,

Talking about the Bali crisis , Horwath’s Indonesia-based Director Matt Gebbie

said “the volcanic activity and the precariousness of demand sources has shone

a spotlight on the over-reliance on one-trick ponies, Australia and China . Click

here to go to page 60

In this edition, Bali Hotel and Hotel Residences Market Report by leading consulting

firms Horwath HTL and C9 Hotelworks is not to be miss. Click here to

get there to page 64

See the Movenpick 70 years anniversary events on page 110.

And as always , some great hospitality events to

know and visit start from page 8.

I wish you all a wonderful life, and healthy mind.

more to come

Read more
5.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Hotelier Indonesia Magazine
Read more
Published on
Feb 1, 2018
Read more
Pages
130
Read more
Read more
Best For
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Antiques & Collectibles / Magazines & Newspapers
Business & Economics / Industries / Hospitality, Travel & Tourism
Business & Economics / Insurance / Property
Travel / Food, Lodging & Transportation / Hotels, Inns & Hostels
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.

Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you’ll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.