Multiculturalism: United in Diversity: A Romanian Perspective

ePublishers & Editura Coresi
1
Free sample

A VOYAGE OF DISCOVERY

 

Irina Budrina not only knows what she writes and talks about, but she is, as they say, walking her talk. Born in Russia, having traveled all over the world, with an MBA in Japan and a Ph.D. in Romania (REI, ASE) she has been living in Romania for the last 12 years.

The present book is, therefore, based on her very rich and significant encounters with people and organizations in various parts of the world and mainly in Romania.

You are reading a book which is a voyage of discovery and learning about our own and other cultures. Leadership, intercultural communication, cultural dimensions, cultural values and gender issues in business and beyond business are just some of the discussions you are going to be part of through Irina Budrina’s knowledgeable and skillful guidance.

This is a book to enjoy and to reflect upon.

 

Professor Mariana Nicolae, REI (ASE)

 

 

In today’s world, exposure to other cultures has become a symbol of increasing globalization processes. Many people leave their home area to go on a voyage of discovery and learning about other cultures that affects their original cultural identity. The needs of the 21st century demand citizens that are culturally sensitive and internationally focused, with an orientation toward the future rather than the past. Cultural Diversity is in it. The concept of multiculturalism offers a new orientation toward the future. “Multiculturalism is a system of beliefs and behaviors that recognizes and respects the presence of all diverse groups in an organization or society, acknowledges and values their socio-cultural differences, and encourages and enables their continued contribution within an inclusive cultural context which empowers all within the organization or society” (Caleb Rosado, 1997). The essence of multiculturalism is the ability to celebrate with the Other in a manner that removes all barriers and brings unity in diversity. Multiculturalism pushes us to look upon the Other not as a potential enemy but as a profitable partner. Managing diversity is an ongoing process that unleashes the various talents and capabilities which a diverse population brings to an organization, community or society, so as to create a wholesome, inclusive environment, that is safe for differences, enables people to reject rejection, celebrates diversity, and maximizes the full potential of all, in a cultural context where everyone benefits. Multiculturalism, as the art of managing diversity, is an inclusive process where no one is left out. Diversity, in its essence, then is a safeguard against ethnocentrism (making of one group as the norm for all groups). No cultures should be verbally and/or physically attacked based solely on the negative meaning given due to biological, cultural, political or socioeconomic differences (such as gender, age, race/ethnicity, political party, class, education, values, religious affiliation or sexual orientation The motivating factor for such attitude is fear, arising out of ignorance of the other culture, which is different from your own. Multiculturalism should be the only option open to educators, leaders and administrators in an ever-increasing culturally pluralistic environment. Today’s diverse student populations and workforce is simply not going to go away, but increase. This is the direction of the future multicultural, multi-ethnic, multilingual communities. And effective leaders are recognizing it. The art of managing diversity is thus of great concern to all persons charged with the responsibility of overseeing the work of others. Multiculturalism, then, may very well be part of an ongoing process which enables people to become world citizens–persons who are able to transfer their own racial/ethnic, gender, cultural and socio-political reality and identify with humankind throughout the world, at all levels of human needs.

 

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Irina Budrina has a degree in Psychology from Moscow State University (Personality and Cross-cultural Psychology, Psychology of Advertising, PR and Marketing) and Institute of Psychoanalysis, Moscow. She holds a Master’s degree from EMBA program (Temple University Japan–USA). 

While living in Moscow, Irina worked with INSEAD Global Leadership Center and professor Manfred Kets de Vries on Case-studies about Russian leaders. 

In Romania, Irina graduated from a doctoral school at ASE (Economic University in Bucharest). Her doctoral thesis combined sociology, psychology and international business analysis of the women-business leaders in Romania and Russia.  

She was a visiting lecturer of the Russian Business Language and Russian Business Culture and Intercultural Communication at the University of Bucharest and ASE.

Cross-cultural adaptation services to foreigners and foreign companies are also part of her expertise. She is a Cultural detective trainer and coach.

Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
ePublishers & Editura Coresi
Read more
Collapse
Pages
253
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Best For
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Education / Multicultural Education
Young Adult Fiction / Diversity & Multicultural
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
New York Times bestseller * Six starred reviews

At once provocative, terrifying, and darkly subversive, Dread Nation is Justina Ireland's stunning vision of an America both foreign and familiar—a country on the brink, at the explosive crossroads where race, humanity, and survival meet.

Jane McKeene was born two days before the dead began to walk the battlefields of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania—derailing the War Between the States and changing the nation forever.

In this new America, safety for all depends on the work of a few, and laws like the Native and Negro Education Act require certain children attend combat schools to learn to put down the dead.

But there are also opportunities—and Jane is studying to become an Attendant, trained in both weaponry and etiquette to protect the well-to-do. It's a chance for a better life for Negro girls like Jane. After all, not even being the daughter of a wealthy white Southern woman could save her from society’s expectations.

But that’s not a life Jane wants. Almost finished with her education at Miss Preston's School of Combat in Baltimore, Jane is set on returning to her Kentucky home and doesn’t pay much mind to the politics of the eastern cities, with their talk of returning America to the glory of its days before the dead rose.

But when families around Baltimore County begin to go missing, Jane is caught in the middle of a conspiracy, one that finds her in a desperate fight for her life against some powerful enemies. 

And the restless dead, it would seem, are the least of her problems.

One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish—and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos.

Now, for whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, a new wish will be granted. A new age is about to dawn.

Raised by monks in the isolated Silent Winds temple, Yumeko has trained all her life to hide her yokai nature. Half kitsune, half human, her skill with illusion is matched only by her penchant for mischief. Until the day her home is burned to the ground, her adoptive family is brutally slain and she is forced to flee for her life with the temple’s greatest treasure—one part of the ancient scroll.

There are many who would claim the dragon’s wish for their own. Kage Tatsumi, a mysterious samurai of the Shadow Clan, is one such hunter, under orders to retrieve the scroll…at any cost. Fate brings Kage and Yumeko together. With a promise to lead him to the scroll, an uneasy alliance is formed, offering Yumeko her best hope for survival. But he seeks what she has hidden away, and her deception could ultimately tear them both apart.

With an army of demons at her heels and the unlikeliest of allies at her side, Yumeko’s secrets are more than a matter of life or death. They are the key to the fate of the world itself.


New from the New York Times bestselling author of The Talon Saga and The Iron Fey. Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Julie C. Dao, Marie Lu, Cassandra Clare and more bestselling YA fantasy will be captivated by book one of this enchanting new series.


“One of my all-time favorite fantasy novels! I'm in love with this book, its characters, its worldbuilding!”
—Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy and Spirit Hunters series
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.