The Whispering Trees

The Thickety

Book 2
Sold by Harper Collins
9
Free sample

Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, book two in the acclaimed Thickety series is the story of a good witch, a bad witch, and a forest demon, trapped together in a world that is both enchanting and dangerous.

After Kara Westfall's village turns on her for practicing witchcraft, she and her brother, Taff, flee to the one place they know they won't be followed: the Thickety. Only this time Kara is magicless without her grimoire and Sordyr, the forest demon, is intent on keeping them there. Kara and Taff will meet other inhabitants of the Thickety in their search for a safe way out, including the infamous witch, Mary Kettle. But can they trust anyone—plant, creature, witch, book, or magic—to help them escape, to undo Grace's final terrible spell, and to stop Sordyr's horrible reach from spreading across the rest of the world?

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts

Read more

About the author

J. A. White is the author of The Thickety: A Path Begins. He lives in New Jersey with his wife, three sons, and a hamster named Ophelia that doesn't like him very much. When he's not making up stories, he teaches a bunch of kids how to make up stories (along with math and science and other important stuff). He wishes dragons were real because it would be a much cooler way to get to work.

Read more

Reviews

4.7
9 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Harper Collins
Read more
Published on
Mar 10, 2015
Read more
Pages
544
Read more
ISBN
9780062257307
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure / General
Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic
Juvenile Fiction / Monsters
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

See entire series

J. A. White
With so many versions of the gospel being marketed to the public, which message is correct? Why do so many professing Christians not know the essential elements of the message that Paul deemed to be the very “power of God for salvation” (Romans 1:16)? The Gospel of Our Grandfathers offers a theologically deep yet understandable overview of the glorious gospel that was “once for all delivered to the saints” (Jude 3). Ideal for small group study, personal devotion, evangelism, or new member instruction, this study explores the gospel in five sections: The Attributes of God The Depravity of Fallen Man The Substitutionary Atonement of Christ Man’s Response—Repentance and Faith Assurance of Salvation The Gospel of Our Grandfathers is a simple work that seeks to bring you face-to-face with the attributes of God, the plight of man, the excellence and sufficiency of Christ, the application of redemption, and the assurance of salvation. Whether you are a seasoned follower of Christ, a new Christian, or a curious skeptic, you will find in this account a clear, biblically saturated presentation of the message that men of old have proclaimed and men of valor are called to proclaim still. “J. A. White ... lists the facts of the gospel of Jesus Christ and shows his reader that, in short, this is your father’s and grandfather’s religion.” —Rick Walston, PhD, President of Columbia Evangelical Seminary “A clear and faithful presentation of the gospel of Jesus Christ, once delivered to the saints! The Gospel of Our Grandfathers will deepen your understanding and encourage your soul.” —Greg Gilbert, author of What Is the Gospel? and pastor of Third Avenue Baptist Church in Louisville, KY. “In The Gospel of Our Grandfathers, John White points the reader’s gaze to the God of the gospel, portraying the various facets of His character and His work for the salvation of sinners through Jesus Christ. Amply supported by Scripture and expanded upon by gospel sages past and present, the thoughts John shares in this warm-hearted book will enrich your love for Christ, deepen your appreciation for the Faith once-delivered to the saints, and equip you to deliver the gospel to the next generation with clarity and depth. This present generation, and the generations to come, are well served by this resource!” – Milton Vincent, author of A Gospel Primer for Christians
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.