A Pilgrimage to Death

A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery

Book 1
Sidecar Press, LLC
4
Free sample

An acclaimed new series from a USA TODAY BEST-SELLING author, J.J. Cagney. Winner of the 2019 National Indie Excellence Awards, 2019 TopShelf Book Awards Mystery Finalist, and named to Kirkus Reviews' Best Books of 2018. 


Cici discovers a body in the forest, and the victim’s wounds are identical to the ones that killed her sister a year ago... 


Someone murdered her sister. And shot her dog. The killer won't stop until she's dead, too. Now, the killer has Cici on the run.


With her identical twin sister hauntings her dreams, as Cici and her dogs must dodge arrows, bullets, and even a demon truck. Worse, she must grapple with the knowledge her twin's death was much more sinister than a random act of violence. The chase is on. As Cici closes in on the takedown, the criminals plan to wipe the sleuth off their radar. 


Permanently


Fans of Ruth Ware, J.D. Robb, and Angela Marsons will love A Pilgrimage to Death


Praise for A Pilgrimage to Death


"A wholly absorbing gumshoe tale elevated by an extraordinary detective." ~ Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 


"This winning mystery novel is a breeze to read and Cici's laidback approach as a reverend means that readers certainly don't have to be religious to find her relatable." ~ IndieReader 


"Vivid, alluring, and heart-wrenching, Alexa Padgett's A Pilgrimage to Death is every reason I love mystery. A breathtaking tale." ~ Darynda Jones, NY Times Bestselling Author 


"A Pilgrimage to Death was an edge-of-my-seat thrill ride that kept me guessing all the way through. Alexa Padgett weaves an intricate and enthralling tale, with relationships that run deep, and mystery that does the same. This was an all-around fantastic story, and I'm excited to read the next books in the series." ~ Allyson Lindt, USA Bestseller

Read more
Collapse

About the author

J. J. Cagney is the mystery/thriller pen name of USA Today bestselling author Alexa Padgett. Her debut mystery, A Pilgrimage of Death, was named to Kirkus Reviews’ 100 Best Books of 2018 and Goodreads Best Mysteries of the 2010s. 

Cagney holds a bachelor’s in international marketing and spent part of her twenties as the marketing director for an elite sports management firm. And, yes, she did her requisite stint with a dotcom back in the that early 2000s, first as a marketing coordinator and then as a content manager. She’s penned work for a variety of websites and magazines, and she worked as a literary agent for Irene Webb Literary. 

She lives in northern New Mexico with her husband, children, about a million fish, and their Great Pyrenees, Ash. Kirkus Reviews called Cagney’s latest mystery, An Artifact of Death, “An exhilarating entry in a thoroughly enjoyable series.”

Read more
Collapse
4.8
4 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Sidecar Press, LLC
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 14, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
260
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
An unconventional woman. A brutal murder. To solve the case, one reverend will look for help from beyond the grave…


Cici Gurule wants to pretend her dream is nothing more than a meaningless nightmare. But she cannot ignore that the bruised and bloodied woman looked alarmingly like her.


When a baby turns up on her porch—a baby who was reported missing days before—evidence points to a connection with the woman in Cici’s dream, and she can no longer ignore the nighttime vision. Cici and Detective Sam Chastain struggle to follow the garbled evidence, but the killer scores his victim first.


Worse, a message pinned to the victim’s blouse states, “You’re next.”


Now, it’s a race against the clock to keep the baby safe and find the murderer before his trail goes cold. Cici’s only chance to solve this mystery, before she becomes the next victim, means choosing between her faith and believing a message left by her ghostly twin.


A Heritage of Death is the second novel in a compelling female sleuth mystery series for fans of Ruth Ware and Gilly MacMillan.


★ WHY READERS CAN'T PUT DOWN REV. CICI GURULE'S MYSTERIES ★


"The pace was excellent with lots of story strands woven into an intricate plot that left you guessing, second guessing and even third guessing. There were some unexpected twists all wrapped up in a writing style that was both easy to read and that also had a lovely flow to it." ~ The Wandering Bookaholic


"A Heritage of Death grabs your attention from the start and will keep you hooked right up until the end holding all its secrets with an ending that I never saw coming." ~ MagickofBooks


"A great new character sleuth that I for one is quite happy to follow the adventures of Reverend Cici Gurule with hopefully Sam by her side. I so pleased to find a series that has blown me away, this was just perfect." ~ Cheryl, Goodreads Review


"The characters are so well written that I felt a connection with them. The mystery is powerful. I couldn’t stop reading." ~ rmkrejsa42, Bookbub Review


"This is a very good mystery that keeps you interested." ~ Kenl, Bookbub Review


"Cici is a character that has staying power to keep you in from beginning to end." ~ vp_mom, Bookbub Review


"Clearly well researched, this novel is a good read within its genre and one I can definitely recommend to fans of murder mysteries." ~ Grant, Goodreads Review


"The author did a great job of feeding us little bits of information, while keeping us on the edge of our seat, and also without giving too much away and ruining the story straight away." ~ Three Degrees of Fiction

An unconventional woman. A brutal murder. To solve the case, one reverend will look for help from beyond the grave…


Cici Gurule wants to pretend her dream is nothing more than a meaningless nightmare. But she cannot ignore that the bruised and bloodied woman looked alarmingly like her.


When a baby turns up on her porch—a baby who was reported missing days before—evidence points to a connection with the woman in Cici’s dream, and she can no longer ignore the nighttime vision. Cici and Detective Sam Chastain struggle to follow the garbled evidence, but the killer scores his victim first.


Worse, a message pinned to the victim’s blouse states, “You’re next.”


Now, it’s a race against the clock to keep the baby safe and find the murderer before his trail goes cold. Cici’s only chance to solve this mystery, before she becomes the next victim, means choosing between her faith and believing a message left by her ghostly twin.


A Heritage of Death is the second novel in a compelling female sleuth mystery series for fans of Ruth Ware and Gilly MacMillan.


★ WHY READERS CAN'T PUT DOWN REV. CICI GURULE'S MYSTERIES ★


"The pace was excellent with lots of story strands woven into an intricate plot that left you guessing, second guessing and even third guessing. There were some unexpected twists all wrapped up in a writing style that was both easy to read and that also had a lovely flow to it." ~ The Wandering Bookaholic


"A Heritage of Death grabs your attention from the start and will keep you hooked right up until the end holding all its secrets with an ending that I never saw coming." ~ MagickofBooks


"A great new character sleuth that I for one is quite happy to follow the adventures of Reverend Cici Gurule with hopefully Sam by her side. I so pleased to find a series that has blown me away, this was just perfect." ~ Cheryl, Goodreads Review


"The characters are so well written that I felt a connection with them. The mystery is powerful. I couldn’t stop reading." ~ rmkrejsa42, Bookbub Review


"This is a very good mystery that keeps you interested." ~ Kenl, Bookbub Review


"Cici is a character that has staying power to keep you in from beginning to end." ~ vp_mom, Bookbub Review


"Clearly well researched, this novel is a good read within its genre and one I can definitely recommend to fans of murder mysteries." ~ Grant, Goodreads Review


"The author did a great job of feeding us little bits of information, while keeping us on the edge of our seat, and also without giving too much away and ruining the story straight away." ~ Three Degrees of Fiction

A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW BEST CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR
A CrimeReads Best Crime Novel Notable selection
Harry Bosch and LAPD Detective Renée Ballard come together again on the murder case that obsessed Bosch's mentor, the man who trained him---new from #1 New York Times bestselling author Michael Connelly

Back when Harry Bosch was just a rookie homicide detective, he had an inspiring mentor who taught him to take the work personally and light the fire of relentlessness for every case. Now that mentor, John Jack Thompson, is dead, and his widow gives Bosch a murder book, one that Thompson took with him when he left the LAPD twenty years before -- the unsolved killing of a troubled young man.

Bosch takes the murder book to Detective Renée Ballard and asks her to help him discover what about this crime lit Thompson's fire all those years ago. As she begins her inqueries -- while still working her own cases on the midnight shift -- Ballad finds aspects of the initial investigation that just don't add up.

The bond between Bosch and Ballard tightens as they become a formidable investigation team. And they soon arrive at a disturbing question: Did Thompson steal the murder book to work the case in retirement, or to make sure it never got solved?
Written with the intense pacing and masterful suspense that have made Michael Connelly "the hard-boiled fiction master of our time" (NPR), The Night Fire continues the unofficial partnership of two fierce detectives determined not to let the fire with burn out.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.