In the Shadow of the Dragon King

Month9Books, LLC.
3
Free sample

Seventeen-year-old Eric is a kick-butt squire to the most revered and protective knight in Fallhollow—well, he would be if Sir Trogsdill allowed him to do anything even remotely chivalrous. Determined to prove his self-worth, Eric sets out to find the mythical paladin summoned to protect the realm. After all, if he can join forces with this legendary savior Sir Trogsdill will have to promote him to knighthood, right? Meanwhile, 16-year-old David is whisked off to the magical realm of Fallhollow where everyone thinks he's some sort of paladin destined to fulfill a wacked-out, two-hundred year old prophecy. As Paladin, David is supposed to help kill a dragon bent on destroying the realm, but he needs some sort of magic key to do it. The problem is that the key is around the neck of an annoying squire who's too wrapped up in proving himself which makes him completely unhelpful. With egos as big as the dragon they need to destroy, Eric and David must get over themselves or watch everything they know and love burn.
Read more

About the author

J. Keller Ford is a former paralegal who grew up as an Army brat, traveling the world and wandering the halls of some of Germany's most extraordinary castles. When not at her keyboard breathing new life into fantasy worlds, she spends time overloading on coffee, collecting seashells, bowling, swimming, riding roller coasters, and talking plotlines with anyone who will listen. She lives on the West Coast of Florida.
Read more
4.0
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Month9Books, LLC.
Read more
Published on
May 31, 2016
Read more
Pages
346
Read more
ISBN
9781944816674
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic
Juvenile Fiction / Historical / Medieval
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / General
Young Adult Fiction / Historical / Medieval
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The New York Times Bestseller!

“Absolutely riveting.” —Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger 

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story’s atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters and a fearsome heroine. Fans of Victoria Aveyard’s THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won’t want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in the And I Darken series.

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

“A dark and twisty fantasy . . . think Game of Thrones, but with teens.”—Seventeen
 
“Sinister, suspenseful, and unapologetically feminist.”—Buzzfeed
 
“Will completely spin you into another time and place.”—Bustle
 
“Takes no prisoners, offering up brutal, emotional historical fiction.”—NPR.org

An ALA Rainbow List Top Ten Selection
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.