J.T. Ellison Dr. Samantha Owens Series Books 1-2: A Deeper Darkness\Edge of Black

Sold by MIRA
Free sample

"WHAT LIES BEHIND grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go. Ellison is a great talent—enjoy." —Catherine Coulter, # 1 New York Times bestselling author


Together for the first time in one volume, the first two books in J.T. Ellison’s fan—favorite Sam Owens series



A Deeper Darkness



Since the Tennessee floods took her husband and children, medical examiner Samantha Owens has been pulled into a suffocating grief no amount of workaholic ardor can penetrate—until she receives a peculiar call requesting she perform a second autopsy on a recent murder victim.



Eddie Donovan is officially the casualty of a vicious carjacking, but under Sam's sharp eye the forensics tell a darker story. It’s clear that nobody's hands are clean, and that making sense of this murder might put Sam in the crosshairs of death.



Edge of Black


Dr. Samantha Owens is starting over: new city, new job, new man. But before she's even unpacked her office, she's called to consult on a case that's rocked the country. An unknown pathogen released into the Washington Metro has caused nationwide panic. Three people died—just three.


Sam soon realizes this is no textbook terrorist, but an assassin whose motive is deeply personal and far from understandable. But with the help of Xander Whitfield, a former army ranger and Sam's new boyfriend, Sam will learn truth…and land once more in the line of fire.





More Praise


"Shocking suspense, compelling characters and fascinating forensic details." —Lisa Gardner, # 1 New York Times bestselling author



"A terrific thriller…fans of forensic mysteries, such as those by Patricia Cornwell, should immediately add this series to their A-lists." —Booklist
Read more

More by J.T.Ellison

See more
"A thriller packed with nonstop action, real-life name-dropping and enough cutting-edge science to make you wonder how much of it could be true." —Kirkus Reviews

The newest entry in the sizzling international thriller series featuring Nicholas Drummond, from #1 New York Times–bestselling author Catherine Coulter.

Freshly minted FBI agent Nicholas Drummond is barely out of his Quantico training when he and his partner, Mike Caine, are called to investigate a stabbing on Wall Street.  

     Their investigation, however, yields more questions than answers. It quickly becomes clear that the victim, John Pearce, was more than the naval historian and antiquities dealer he appeared to be. What Drummond doesn’t know is that buying and selling rare books was Pearce’s cover, and that he had devoted his life to discovering the whereabouts of a missing World War I U-boat concealing a stash of gold bullion, and an unexpected surprise that only raises more questions. When Drummond and Caine find both of Pearce’s adult children have disappeared, the case assumes a new sense of urgency. The FBI agents know their best lead lies in the victim’s cryptic final words—“The key is in the lock.” But what key? What lock?

     The search for Adam and Sophia Pearce takes them on an international manhunt, which threatens to run them afoul of an eccentric billionaire industrialist with his own plans not only for the lost gold, but the creation of a weapon unlike anything the world has ever seen.

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
MIRA
Read more
Published on
Jan 18, 2016
Read more
Pages
400
Read more
ISBN
9781459294882
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Romance / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"WHAT LIES BEHIND grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go. Ellison is a great talent—enjoy."—Catherine Coulter, #1 New York Times bestselling author
Books 3 and 4 in the Dr. Samantha Owens series by New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison.
When Shadows Fall
Forensic pathologist Dr. Samantha Owens thought life was finally returning to normal, when she receives a letter from a dead man imploring her to solve his murder. There's only one catch. Timothy Savage's death was ruled a suicide. When Sam learns Savage left a will requesting she autopsy his body, she feels compelled to do it. Sam discovers clear signs that Savage was murdered and she finds DNA from a kidnapped child whose remains were recovered years earlier. Nothing about the case makes sense, but it is clear someone is unwilling to let anyone, especially Samantha Owens, discover the truth.
What Lies Behind
Waking to sirens in the night is hardly unusual for Samantha Owens. No longer a medical examiner, she doesn't lose sleep over them, but a routine police investigation in her neighborhood has her curious. When her homicide detective friend, Darren Fletcher, invites her to look over the evidence, she immediately realizes the crime scene was staged. What seems to be a clear case of murder/suicide is anything but. The discovery of toxic substances in hidden vials indicates that something much more sinister is at play?
Unsure who to trust, Sam and Fletch find themselves up against very powerful people at every stage in the investigation. No one is who they appear to be. It's Sam's most complex case yet and the terrifying reality is beyond anything she could have imagined.

More Praise
"Shocking suspense, compelling characters and fascinating forensic details." —Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author


"A terrific thriller…fans of forensic mysteries, such as those by Patricia Cornwell, should immediately add this series to their A-lists." —Booklist
Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.