A Lady of Letters: A Regency Romance

K. Loren Wilson
2
Free sample

This Regency lady has a dangerous secret.

It isn’t Marianne Arnet’s fault that her parents are reputed to be spies for Napoleon and have fled Regency England. Now the handsome and powerful Lord Whitestone is threatening to bar her from the upcoming London Season and deny her a longed-for chance to mingle in the literary world.

Lord Whitestone doesn’t realise that Marianne is his secret correspondent, and that he’s already half in love with her. Now she’s determined to come to London, even if that means using a disguise.

After these two meet, there’s love in the air. And danger, not only for Marianne but for her parents as well.

“[A Lady of Letters has] enough screwball-comedy touches to keep things prancing along cheerily.”--Kirkus Reviews

"I was thrilled to find another author, like Candice Hern, writing in the great tradition of the Heyer Regency."--Anne Glover, Regency Reader

Cover by customgraphics.etsy.com

Read more
Collapse

About the author

USA Today bestselling author Jacqueline Diamond is known for her mysteries, romantic comedies, medical romances and Regency romances—more than a hundred titles. A former Associated Press reporter, Jacqueline received a Romantic Times Career Achievement Award and two finalist placements for the RITA© Award. She currently writes the Safe Harbor Medical Mysteries, and has reissued her classic romantic comedies and Regencies, including Lady in Disguise, Song for a Lady and A Lady’s Point of View.

Read more
Collapse
5.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
K. Loren Wilson
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 21, 2011
Read more
Collapse
Pages
172
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781936505081
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Regency
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Victorian
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
“Ashlyn Macnamara brings all the elegance and romance of the Regency to life,” raves Tessa Dare. Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries, these three seductive novels follow a group of friends from the Eton school who are devastated by secrets, lies, and betrayal—until their hearts are mended by the women in their lives. Now What a Lady Craves, What a Lady Demands, and What a Lady Requires are together in one scintillating eBook bundle.
 
WHAT A LADY CRAVES
 
Henrietta Upperton is about to marry Alexander Sanford until he rushes off to India to salvage his family’s fortune. Then comes the devastating news that Alexander has wed another. Eight agonizing years later, long-buried desires are reawakened when he washes ashore—injured, widowed, and hunted. Alexander knows he does not deserve forgiveness. Given the choice between two virtuous deeds, he picked the wrong one. And yet he longs to wrap his arms around Henrietta’s warm body once again. What’s more, he is sure the lady craves the same.
 
WHAT A LADY DEMANDS
 
Viscount Lindenhurst cannot seem to find a governess who meets his standards—until Cecelia Sanford interrupts the widower’s brooding. With her soft curves and sharp tongue, she’s a tempting distraction, but not a welcome one. Past the usual marrying age, Cecelia finds herself caring for both the child and the viscount, a brittle man whose presence nevertheless makes her body stir. Moved by the deep sense of abandonment that tortures his soul, Cecelia soon aches to fully awaken Lind’s heart from its rancorous slumber for a second chance at love.
 
WHAT A LADY REQUIRES
 
Miss Emma Jennings views marrying well as little more than a means to an end. Her practical views are shattered, however, when her father ties her to the fabulously handsome ne’er-do-well Rowan Battencliffe, a man she loathes on sight—from that wicked smile to the way he ogles her with those striking blue eyes. Deep in debt, Rowan agrees to wed the prim and proper woman with delightful curves and an ample dowry. But Emma seems to think it’s her business to reform him! Their marriage is a tinderbox—and it’s just too tempting to resist playing with fire.
 
Praise for Ashlyn Macnamara and the Eton Boys series
 
“Ashlyn Macnamara is a born storyteller, weaving tales rich in angst, humor, and history as she treats readers to the steamier side of Regency. Her inventive prose has secured her a place on my auto-buy list, and her memorable characters have secured a place in my heart. Don’t forget to set your morning alarm, though . . . you’ll be reading long past your bedtime!”—New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer McQuiston
 
“A witty, sexy historical romance . . . Pain, scandal, forgiveness, honor, intrigue, passion, clever banter, romance and love all play a part in this delightful tale, which will keep readers turning the pages.”—Romance Junkies, on What a Lady Craves
 
“An intriguing, dramatic, and sexually charged novel that is recommended for most historical romance lovers.”—Library Journal, on What a Lady Demands
 
“A wonderful tale depicting an intelligent heroine who speaks her mind, and a misguided hero who is struggling with his past.”—Fresh Fiction, on What a Lady Requires
Ashlyn Macnamara weaves a delicious tale of two souls torn apart by circumstance and reunited by fate—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries.
 
Henrietta Upperton is about to marry Alexander Sanford when he rushes off to India to salvage his family’s fortune. Then comes the devastating news that he has wed another. Eight agonizing years later, a storm washes Alexander ashore—injured, widowed, and hunted—and one glimpse of his ruggedly handsome face reawakens the desire Henrietta thought she had buried deep inside. Her body still yearns for his touch, but she’s determined not let him wound her again . . . not this time.
 
For Alexander, honor always comes first. But only now does he realize that when given the choice between two virtuous deeds, he picked the wrong one. On the run with his life in tatters and a pair of daughters in tow, Alexander burns for Henrietta. He knows he does not deserve forgiveness. And yet he longs to wrap his arms around her warm body once again. What’s more, he is sure the lady craves the same.

Praise for Ashlyn Macnamara and What a Lady Craves
 
“Ashlyn Macnamara is a born storyteller, weaving tales rich in angst, humor, and history as she treats readers to the steamier side of Regency. Her inventive prose has secured her a place on my auto-buy list, and her memorable characters have secured a place in my heart. Don’t forget to set your morning alarm, though . . . you’ll be reading far past your bedtime!”—New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer McQuiston
 
“Ashlyn Macnamara brings all the elegance and romance of the Regency to life.”—New York Times bestselling author Tessa Dare
 
“A witty, sexy historical romance . . . Pain, scandal, forgiveness, honor, intrigue, passion, clever banter, romance and love all play a part in this delightful tale, which will keep readers turning the pages.”—Romance Junkies
 
“I found this read to be fast paced, highly entertaining and engrossing. If you’ve never read this author before, this would be a great one to start you on the journey of discovery of what Ms. Ashlyn Macnamara offers to her fans. It really is a win-win!”—bookworm2bookworm
 
“If you are looking for a historical romance that covers both the romance and the mystery aspect, you should pick up your copy of What a Lady Craves as soon as possible!”—(un)Conventional Bookviews
 
“The powerful connection between the lead characters and the deft writing of Ashlyn Macnamara made me glad these characters got a second chance at love.”—The Polished Bookworm
 
“A historical romance full of passion, depth and darkness . . . Ashlyn Macnamara is a master of intrigue. . . . She makes you crave details and insight, makes you want to discover more. The anticipation of such a journey lured me in, and I couldn’t wait to uncover the true story of what happened between Alexander and Henrietta all those years ago.”—3 Chicks After Dark
 
Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.
She's a servant masquerading as a lady...

Gillian Beaumont never had a fairytale life: the illegitimate daughter of an earl, she was left penniless after her father’s death, forcing her into service as a lady’s maid. Luckily, her mistress is more adventurous than most ladies and soon Gillian is aiding her espionage. One such spy mission forces Gillian to masquerade as a high-born lady to infiltrate a Hellfire Club. But when she falls into the club’s trap, she’s rescued by gentleman rogue, the Earl of Pembroke. His heated kisses make her long for a different life, but she has a secret that could destroy everything...


He's a gentleman on the outside, but a rogue on the inside...


James Fordyce, Earl of Pembroke, tries to be a well-behaved man—for the most part. A member of the Wicked Earls’ Club, he has his fair share of notoriety, but he’s longing for the day when he might settle down. A chance encounter with a mysterious beauty leaves him feeling full of hope. When she vanishes without a trace and danger seems to be following her, he knows he must find her and rescue the woman he is determined to make the future Countess of Pembroke. Tracking her down to the seedy halls of a Hellfire Club, he knows he’ll have to fight against all odds to save her before it’s too late...


Warning: This book contains a woman dreaming of a life she can never have, a hero who’s convinced he’ll never find the one woman destined to be his and a love so powerful nothing can stop it.


Steamy and adventurous, fans of Julia Quinn and Johanna Lindsey won’t want to miss out on this upstairs/downstairs romance!

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.