Raising Fire

Sold by Orbit
Free sample

Ben Garston has broken the Lore. Now it's time to face the music. Life isn't treating Red Ben well. He's lost everything he held dear, including the love of his life. Still, at least he escaped the clutches of a malevolent spirit bent on total destruction. So there is that.

Now Ben just wants to drink, and forget, and drink some more. But he can't. Not yet.

Because someone is stirring up trouble. Someone who wants to unleash a powerful ancient magic that could bring the realm of mythology crashing into the modern world.

If Ben fails to stop them, the world will burn -- and that's the last thing he needs on his conscience.

Fans of BEN AARONOVITCH and JIM BUTCHER will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology.

"A superior piece of magical myth-making." --SFFWorld on Chasing Embers
Ben Garston novelsChasing EmbersRaising Fire
Read more
Collapse

About the author

James Bennett is a debut fantasy author currently living in Wales. Born in England and raised in South Africa and Cornwall, his travels have furnished him with an abiding love of different cultures, history and mythology. He's had several short stories published internationally and draws inspiration from long walks, deep forests and old stones. Also the odd bottle of wine.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Orbit
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 29, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
432
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780316390729
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Fiction / Fantasy / Dragons & Mythical Creatures
Fiction / Fantasy / Urban
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
From the author of The Iron Druid Chronicles comes a rollicking urban-fantasy adventure featuring Atticus O’Sullivan. Atticus has a history of messing with the gods, and now he’ll have to outfox a deity at her own deadly cat-and-mouse game.
 
When he’s not vanquishing villainous gods or dodging demons, two-thousand-year-old Druid Atticus O’Sullivan can be found behind the counter of Third Eye Books and Herbs in modern-day Tempe, Arizona, literally minding his own business. But when an evil sorcerer—and amateur shoplifter—snatches an ancient Egyptian tome of black magic, The Grimoire of the Lamb, Atticus is not sheepish about pursuing him to the ends of the earth . . . or at least to the Land of the Pharaohs.
 
Unfortunately, Atticus already has enemies in Egypt—including cat goddess Bast, who wants her own book of mischief back from the Druid. In the streets of Cairo, she sends a feline phalanx after Atticus and his Irish wolfhound, Oberon. With fur still flying, Atticus must locate the sorcerer’s secret lair—where he will face killer crocodiles, spooky sarcophagi, and an ancient evil Egyptian who’s determined to order the sacrificial lamb special tonight.
 
Includes an excerpt from Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid Chronicles novel Hunted!
 
Praise for Kevin Hearne and The Iron Druid Chronicles
 
“Celtic mythology and an ancient Druid with modern attitude mix it up in the Arizona desert in this witty new fantasy series.”—Kelly Meding, author of Three Days to Dead
 
“[Atticus is] a strong modern hero with a long history and the wit to survive in the twenty-first century. . . . A snappy narrative voice . . . a savvy urban fantasy adventure.”—Library Journal, on Hounded
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.