Past All Dishonor

Open Road Media
Free sample

A Confederate spy risks his life to win the heart of a fallen woman
Early in the Civil War, the Confederacy sends Roger Duval to Sacramento, to keep an eye on the situation in California in hopes of turning the Western territory towards the Southern cause. It’s a plush assignment, well out of the line of fire, but Duval hasn’t been there long before he comes into mortal danger. On a swim in the Sacramento River, he gets knocked on the head by a paddleboat, and is drowning in the muck when Morina, a quick-witted woman of the night, tosses him a rope. Suffocated by instant, irresistible love, Roger follows Morina to her home turf: Virginia City, Nevada. For the miners, gamblers, and gunfighters who populate this hardscrabble town, her price is negotiable. But for a man in love, she charges a thousand dollars. Roger will sacrifice body, mind, and soul to get that money—but will his sacrifice be enough to make her love him?
Read more
Collapse

More by James M. Cain

See more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 15, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
233
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781453291665
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Westerns
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
British spies Malcolm and Suzanne Rannoch race to find a missing child in this “thrilling” historical mystery set during the end of the Napoleonic Wars (Deanna Raybourn, New York Times–bestselling author).
 
In the wake of the Battle of Waterloo, Paris is a house divided. The triumphant Bourbons flaunt their victory with lavish parties, while Bonapartists seek revenge only to be captured and executed. Amid the turmoil, British attaché and intelligence agent Malcolm Rannoch and his wife, Suzanne, discover that his murdered half-sister, Princess Tatiana Kirsanova, may have covertly borne a child—and Malcolm suspects there was more than mere impropriety behind her silence.
 
As Malcolm and Suzanne begin searching for answers, they learn that the child was just one of many secrets Tatiana was keeping. The princess was the toast of Paris when she arrived in the glamorous city, flirting her way into the arms of several men—perhaps even those of Napoleon himself—and the father must be among them. But in the melee of the Napoleonic Wars, Tatiana was caught up in a deadly game, and now Malcolm and Suzanne must race against time to save her child from meeting the same fate . . .
 
“Grant nicely blends the political machinations of the time with the murder investigation.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“No one else can combine page-turning suspense, fascinating mystery, a palpable sense of time and place, with such unforgettable and masterfully-drawn characters. Superb!” —Deborah Crombie, New York Times–bestselling author 
 
In the fallout of one of history's bloodiest battles, a personal war is waged. . .

Paris in 1816 is reeling from the Battle of Waterloo, and relations between the British and French are uneasy at best. So it's hardly a surprise to British attaché and Intelligence Agent Malcolm Rannoch when he and his wife Suzanne, soon to give birth to their second child, become the target of violent threats. Malcolm is certain that the secrets of his past have caught up with him—but he's unaware that Suzanne has more than a few secrets of her own. . .

The Rannochs both served as spies throughout the Napoleonic Wars, Malcolm for the British and Suzanne for the Bonapartist French—and both could have left any number of enemies in their wake. But even for two seasoned agents, finding a would-be killer in a country where allegiances are tested and no one can be trusted may prove as impossible as escaping their history. . .

Praise for Teresa Grant's The Paris Affair

"Twists and turns galore, swashbuckling adventure and suspense throughout. . .for readers in search of smart historical mysteries." –Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author

"I loved this book! No one else can combine page-turning suspense, fascinating mystery, a palpable sense of time and place, with such unforgettable and masterfully-drawn characters. Superb!" –Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author

"One of the ‘best' when it comes to delivering thrills. . .this is one book that is unforgettable." –Suspense Magazine

24,000 Words
"Page-turning suspense and a fascinating mystery. . .unforgettable and masterful." –Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author

A stolen treasure may hold the secret to a ghastly crime. . .

Ensconced in the comfort of their elegant home in London's Berkeley Square, Malcolm and Suzanne Rannoch are no longer subject to the perilous life of intrigue they led during the Napoleonic Wars. Once an Intelligence Agent, Malcolm is now a Member of Parliament, and Suzanne is one of the city's most sought-after hostesses. But a late-night visit from a friend who's been robbed may lure them back into the dangerous world they thought they'd left behind. . .

Playwright Simon Tanner had in his possession what may be a lost version of Hamlet, and the thieves were prepared to kill for it. But the Rannochs suspect there's more at stake than a literary gem--for the play may conceal the identity of a Bonapartist spy--along with secrets that could force Malcolm and Suzanne to abandon their newfound peace and confront their own dark past. . .

Praise for Teresa Grant's The Paris Affair

"Twists and turns galore, swashbuckling adventure and suspense throughout. . .for readers in search of smart historical mysteries." –Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author

"I loved this book! Superb!" --Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author

"Unravel the secrets and lies at the heart of an almost impenetrable mystery. . .thrilling!" --Deanna Raybourn, New York Times bestselling author

"A treat. . .readers will be holding their breath and eagerly anticipating Grant's next story." --RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars

Praise for Vienna Waltz

"A brilliantly multilayered mystery and a must-read for fans of the Regency era." --Publishers Weekly on Vienna Waltz

"Absolutely gripping. . .historical intrigue at its finest." –Deanna Raybourn

"Murder, deception, and romance, drenched in a richly detailed portrait of early nineteenth-century Vienna." –C.S. Harris
Thieves, mansions and murders... no one can be trusted in this classic historical mystery

The tangled threads of family conspiracy and dark intentions will not let John Mellamphy rest. Seeking help from Henry Bellringer, a relation of a school friend, he instead finds himself in a nest of thieves.

Reading his mother's journal, with tantalising details of his parentage, his grandfather's murder and his deadly legacy, John finally discovers a terrible truth that could mean his death. But when John finally escapes the gang and a kindly household takes him in, their intentions may not be entirely altruistic...

The third part of the bestselling classic, The Quincunx, is perfect for fans of C.S. Quinn, M.J. Carter or Alex Grecian.

Praise for The Quincunx

‘Grips like steel... it’s a book to make you miss your stop on the bus or the train, keep you up at night and wake you early... a formidable achievement’ Kaleidoscope, BBC Radio 4

‘His brilliant and entertaining pastiche of the mid-nineteenth-century novel’ The Times

‘A brilliant and deeply eccentric attempt to reproduce an early Victorian novel...it combines massive scope with minute detail – there is a cast of thousands, but every figure is lovingly painted. The plot is so thick the spoon stands up in it, and by the end, the reader has toured the whole of late Regency society... Magnificent – gripping and beautifully written; the sort of book that sends you into a trance of pleasure’ Independent

‘Charles Palliser has realised a world that can almost be smelt and tasted as it pours off the page of this gripping, extraordinary novel’ Daily Telegraph

‘His plot is of an intricacy that Wilkie Collins himself might have envied... an astonishing achievement’ Scotsman
The QuincunxThe HuffamsThe MompessonsThe ClothiersThe PalphramondsThe Maliphants
This book is titled Hidden Relationships of the Homicide Detective. The responsibility of overseeing the Homicide Unit and my everyday exposure to witnessing violent crimes throughout the city of Birmingham led me to write this fiction novel that depicts a young man who takes a circuitous route in his quest to restore the luster in his parents’ dismal marriage. While in pursuit of what he believes is the key to restoring happiness in his family, Trey Wilcox meets some interesting people who at one time or another crossed paths with his dad, along with other amazing discoveries. But more than anything else, this long and winding voyage reinforces his belief that family and lifelong relationships are vitally important for survival. This book is designed to help restore family values, to encourage friendly relationships, and to truncate the rise in the number of dysfunctional families across the globe. It is also designed to uplift victims of violent crimes who might still be in despair because of the unwarranted trauma they have experienced. It will also help them understand that irrespective of the odds that they currently face, they can pick up the fragments of their broken lives and rise far above that experience. This is a must read for adults of all ages. But with the vast majority of youths in the world maturing as quickly as they do, I envision upper-class high school age as a starting point for marketing this book. This is definitely a must read for high school seniors as they prepare to enter college and adulthood in a world filled with an assortment of surprises, traps, and vices designed to trip them up. It serves as an eye-opener for all of us, irrespective of whether we, or any of our family members, have ever been the victim of a violent crime. As a matter of fact, the content in this book is written in such a manner that it serves as a great read for every family and ideal for public libraries. Throughout this book, we are reminded just how fragile life and relationships are, as many of us take for granted on a daily basis that one incident is all that separates us from an enormous setback, irrespective of our current walk of life.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.