The Secret Ingredient

Diversion Books
Free sample

“The supremely talented Ms. Heller delivers snappy wit, lush romance, and plenty of surprises... just the thing to spark a romantic adventure of your own. “– DALLAS MORNING NEWS

“Riotous, hilarious, but also ruefully dead-on in depicting the dangers of not appreciating one’s mate – warts and all.” – WOMAN’S OWN

The magic of married life might be fading a little for Elizabeth Baskin, but after six years is it any surprise? That her husband Roger has grown a little paunchy is no big deal. She wouldn't kick him out of bed for bringing along a spare tire, if he bothered to show any interest. Lately Roger's great love affair seems to be a sordid three-way between the couch and T.V.

Wondering what happened to the chiseled daredevil who rescued her after her car broke down on the freeway, Elizabeth turns to her sister. When she tips her off to a Beverly Hills doctor who has a pack of miracle herbs that cure every disinterested husband's ailments, Elizabeth just has to buy it.

She slips the herbs into Roger's orange juice hoping to get a taste of the man she married, but things go a little sideways. The new Roger isn't the man she once loved. In fact, he isn't even someone she likes.

Desperate to get the old Roger back, she breaks into the Beverly Hills doctor's office looking for the cure and risks jail time, her marriage—and her life.
Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Diversion Books
Read more
Published on
Apr 26, 2016
Read more
Pages
386
Read more
ISBN
9781682303627
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
This hilarious romantic comedy is perfect for readers of Nancy Thayer and Mary Kay Andrews! The sequel to bestselling author Jane Heller’s much-loved novel Princess Charming.

"A hilarious culinary comedy dripping with both romance and suspense that deliciously sends up the farm-to-table foodie phenom. Prepare to laugh out loud—sustainably.”—Ciji Ware, New York Times bestselling author of That Winter in Venice

In Jane Heller’s wild and charming novel of romantic comedy and suspense, three friends go on a cooking excursion with a famous chef, only to discover one of their classmates is very keen on practicing knife technique.

Elaine Zimmerman and her best friends Jackie Gault and Pat Kovecky venture to a farm in Litchfield, Connecticut. It’s been over a year since their last trip together, a Caribbean cruise aboard the Princess Charming, and after dealing with a murderous ex and his hit man, they’re yearning for a no-drama vacation this time. During their Cultivate Our Bounty Week, they and eight other guests will learn how to cook farm-to-table meals with Whitley’s artisan-in-residence, a renowned TV/restaurant chef named Jason Hill. Elaine, the jaded, neurotic narrator, is less than thrilled—especially because the program wasn’t supposed to include a surprise appearance by her former boyfriend Simon, who’s still the love of her life but can’t commit to her. What’s more, after milking a cow and making cheese, she stumbles on evidence that one of her fellow agritourists is out to murder Chef Hill at the resort’s Bounty Fest finale.

Is the killer among the freakishly fit Manhattan couple who takes their devotion to organic, hormone-free, non-GMO food to the point of obsession? The grandmother from Wisconsin who’s a groupie of the celebrity chef and follows him to every event? The mother and son from Palm Beach who bicker over whether he should give up his law practice to open his own restaurant? Three Blonde Mice serves up a crackling romance between Elaine and Simon, a twisty whodunit involving a screwball cast of suspects and a satire of current food fads and the farm-to-table chefs who perpetuate them.
Three divorced friends—and one killer—set out to sea in the New York Times–bestselling author’s hilarious and “unforgettable” cruise-ship murder mystery (Booklist).
 
Three best friends are on a Caribbean cruise for their latest vacation together. But the trip could be their last—unless they sort out which of the passengers is Mr. Right and which is the hit man hired by one of their ex-husbands . . .
 
Feisty, fast-talking P.R. executive Elaine Zimmerman needs some persuading by her pals Jackie and Pat to climb aboard the luxury liner—and once she does, her luggage is mislaid and she’s forced to resort to the ship boutique’s tacky version of cruisewear. But Elaine cheers up once she finds herself seated next to Sam Peck. This couldn’t be love at first sight (because she doesn’t believe in love at first sight), or even lust at first sight (because she’s the least lusty person on the planet), but whatever it is, she can’t resist it. She’s on a once-in-a-lifetime holiday, and it wouldn’t kill her to fall in love. . . . or would it?
 
A glimmer of doubt becomes full-fledged suspicion when Elaine inadvertently learns that somebody’s ex-wife has been marked for murder—and the hired hit man is already on board. Now the ladies have to figure out whose ex is out to deep-six whom . . .
 
From the author of Three Blonde Mice, Princess Charming is a fun-filled mystery and a buoyant tale of friendship and true love—even if the glass slipper is several sizes too small and the prince arrives about ten years late.
 
“Sure to be a big hit with her faithful following.” —Kirkus Reviews
Thirty-year-old Celebrity journalist Ann Roth has one last chance to prove herself. She is different from the other reporters at Famous, the L.A. magazine, where she has her dream job interviewing stars like Britney Spears and Angelina Jolie. She values her ethics—she doesn't pick through people's garbage, doesn't print rumor and gossip, doesn't try to pervert the truth. But when her editor tells her she's too nice, that what he needs is a killer journalist who'll do whatever it takes to get a story, she realizes that she must do something drastic. Of course, her plan backfires. Not only does she fail to score an interview with the notoriously media-averse actor Malcolm Goddard (he'll only do the interview while piloting his Cessna and she has a terrible fear of flying), she gets fired. Her disappointment turns to rage when she learns that Malcolm knew about her phobia all along. He insisted on doing the interview on his plane just to get her off his back.

Hurt, disappointed, not to mention unemployed, she trudges to her tiny hometown in Missouri to try to regroup, vowing to cure herself of her fears and reclaim her career. And suddenly her life takes a surprising twist: Ann hears that the great Malcolm himself is in Middletown as a patient at the local hospital—under an alias. Opportunity knocks. Ann sees a chance for payback and her ticket out of Missouri. She volunteers at the hospital with the sole intention of pretending to befriend Malcolm in order to worm the story of a lifetime out of him without his knowledge. If she writes it, she'll have her job back and prove she's the killer journalist her editor had wanted her to be. But after facing her fear of falling in love, how much is she willing to risk for her career?

This hilarious romantic comedy is perfect for readers of Nancy Thayer and Mary Kay Andrews! The sequel to bestselling author Jane Heller’s much-loved novel Princess Charming.

"A hilarious culinary comedy dripping with both romance and suspense that deliciously sends up the farm-to-table foodie phenom. Prepare to laugh out loud—sustainably.”—Ciji Ware, New York Times bestselling author of That Winter in Venice

In Jane Heller’s wild and charming novel of romantic comedy and suspense, three friends go on a cooking excursion with a famous chef, only to discover one of their classmates is very keen on practicing knife technique.

Elaine Zimmerman and her best friends Jackie Gault and Pat Kovecky venture to a farm in Litchfield, Connecticut. It’s been over a year since their last trip together, a Caribbean cruise aboard the Princess Charming, and after dealing with a murderous ex and his hit man, they’re yearning for a no-drama vacation this time. During their Cultivate Our Bounty Week, they and eight other guests will learn how to cook farm-to-table meals with Whitley’s artisan-in-residence, a renowned TV/restaurant chef named Jason Hill. Elaine, the jaded, neurotic narrator, is less than thrilled—especially because the program wasn’t supposed to include a surprise appearance by her former boyfriend Simon, who’s still the love of her life but can’t commit to her. What’s more, after milking a cow and making cheese, she stumbles on evidence that one of her fellow agritourists is out to murder Chef Hill at the resort’s Bounty Fest finale.

Is the killer among the freakishly fit Manhattan couple who takes their devotion to organic, hormone-free, non-GMO food to the point of obsession? The grandmother from Wisconsin who’s a groupie of the celebrity chef and follows him to every event? The mother and son from Palm Beach who bicker over whether he should give up his law practice to open his own restaurant? Three Blonde Mice serves up a crackling romance between Elaine and Simon, a twisty whodunit involving a screwball cast of suspects and a satire of current food fads and the farm-to-table chefs who perpetuate them.
Three divorced friends—and one killer—set out to sea in the New York Times–bestselling author’s hilarious and “unforgettable” cruise-ship murder mystery (Booklist).
 
Three best friends are on a Caribbean cruise for their latest vacation together. But the trip could be their last—unless they sort out which of the passengers is Mr. Right and which is the hit man hired by one of their ex-husbands . . .
 
Feisty, fast-talking P.R. executive Elaine Zimmerman needs some persuading by her pals Jackie and Pat to climb aboard the luxury liner—and once she does, her luggage is mislaid and she’s forced to resort to the ship boutique’s tacky version of cruisewear. But Elaine cheers up once she finds herself seated next to Sam Peck. This couldn’t be love at first sight (because she doesn’t believe in love at first sight), or even lust at first sight (because she’s the least lusty person on the planet), but whatever it is, she can’t resist it. She’s on a once-in-a-lifetime holiday, and it wouldn’t kill her to fall in love. . . . or would it?
 
A glimmer of doubt becomes full-fledged suspicion when Elaine inadvertently learns that somebody’s ex-wife has been marked for murder—and the hired hit man is already on board. Now the ladies have to figure out whose ex is out to deep-six whom . . .
 
From the author of Three Blonde Mice, Princess Charming is a fun-filled mystery and a buoyant tale of friendship and true love—even if the glass slipper is several sizes too small and the prince arrives about ten years late.
 
“Sure to be a big hit with her faithful following.” —Kirkus Reviews
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.