Three Blonde Mice

Diversion Books
1
Free sample

This hilarious romantic comedy is perfect for readers of Nancy Thayer and Mary Kay Andrews! The sequel to bestselling author Jane Heller’s much-loved novel Princess Charming.

"A hilarious culinary comedy dripping with both romance and suspense that deliciously sends up the farm-to-table foodie phenom. Prepare to laugh out loud—sustainably.”—Ciji Ware, New York Times bestselling author of That Winter in Venice

In Jane Heller’s wild and charming novel of romantic comedy and suspense, three friends go on a cooking excursion with a famous chef, only to discover one of their classmates is very keen on practicing knife technique.

Elaine Zimmerman and her best friends Jackie Gault and Pat Kovecky venture to a farm in Litchfield, Connecticut. It’s been over a year since their last trip together, a Caribbean cruise aboard the Princess Charming, and after dealing with a murderous ex and his hit man, they’re yearning for a no-drama vacation this time. During their Cultivate Our Bounty Week, they and eight other guests will learn how to cook farm-to-table meals with Whitley’s artisan-in-residence, a renowned TV/restaurant chef named Jason Hill. Elaine, the jaded, neurotic narrator, is less than thrilled—especially because the program wasn’t supposed to include a surprise appearance by her former boyfriend Simon, who’s still the love of her life but can’t commit to her. What’s more, after milking a cow and making cheese, she stumbles on evidence that one of her fellow agritourists is out to murder Chef Hill at the resort’s Bounty Fest finale.

Is the killer among the freakishly fit Manhattan couple who takes their devotion to organic, hormone-free, non-GMO food to the point of obsession? The grandmother from Wisconsin who’s a groupie of the celebrity chef and follows him to every event? The mother and son from Palm Beach who bicker over whether he should give up his law practice to open his own restaurant? Three Blonde Mice serves up a crackling romance between Elaine and Simon, a twisty whodunit involving a screwball cast of suspects and a satire of current food fads and the farm-to-table chefs who perpetuate them.
Read more

About the author

Jane Heller is the USA Today bestselling author of over a dozen titles, including hits like Female Intelligence, Name Dropping, and Some Nerve. She has been translated into several languages around the world, and recently enjoyed success as an independently published author after years being published by houses such as St. Martin's, HarperCollins, and Kensington. Also known for her non-fiction titles You'd Better Not Die Or I'll Kill You and Confessions of a She-Fan, Heller has been critically adored for over two decades.

Read more
4.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Diversion Books
Read more
Published on
Aug 2, 2016
Read more
Pages
244
Read more
ISBN
9781682302842
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Three divorced friends—and one killer—set out to sea in the New York Times–bestselling author’s hilarious and “unforgettable” cruise-ship murder mystery (Booklist).
 
Three best friends are on a Caribbean cruise for their latest vacation together. But the trip could be their last—unless they sort out which of the passengers is Mr. Right and which is the hit man hired by one of their ex-husbands . . .
 
Feisty, fast-talking P.R. executive Elaine Zimmerman needs some persuading by her pals Jackie and Pat to climb aboard the luxury liner—and once she does, her luggage is mislaid and she’s forced to resort to the ship boutique’s tacky version of cruisewear. But Elaine cheers up once she finds herself seated next to Sam Peck. This couldn’t be love at first sight (because she doesn’t believe in love at first sight), or even lust at first sight (because she’s the least lusty person on the planet), but whatever it is, she can’t resist it. She’s on a once-in-a-lifetime holiday, and it wouldn’t kill her to fall in love. . . . or would it?
 
A glimmer of doubt becomes full-fledged suspicion when Elaine inadvertently learns that somebody’s ex-wife has been marked for murder—and the hired hit man is already on board. Now the ladies have to figure out whose ex is out to deep-six whom . . .
 
From the author of Three Blonde Mice, Princess Charming is a fun-filled mystery and a buoyant tale of friendship and true love—even if the glass slipper is several sizes too small and the prince arrives about ten years late.
 
“Sure to be a big hit with her faithful following.” —Kirkus Reviews
Thirty-year-old Celebrity journalist Ann Roth has one last chance to prove herself. She is different from the other reporters at Famous, the L.A. magazine, where she has her dream job interviewing stars like Britney Spears and Angelina Jolie. She values her ethics—she doesn't pick through people's garbage, doesn't print rumor and gossip, doesn't try to pervert the truth. But when her editor tells her she's too nice, that what he needs is a killer journalist who'll do whatever it takes to get a story, she realizes that she must do something drastic. Of course, her plan backfires. Not only does she fail to score an interview with the notoriously media-averse actor Malcolm Goddard (he'll only do the interview while piloting his Cessna and she has a terrible fear of flying), she gets fired. Her disappointment turns to rage when she learns that Malcolm knew about her phobia all along. He insisted on doing the interview on his plane just to get her off his back.

Hurt, disappointed, not to mention unemployed, she trudges to her tiny hometown in Missouri to try to regroup, vowing to cure herself of her fears and reclaim her career. And suddenly her life takes a surprising twist: Ann hears that the great Malcolm himself is in Middletown as a patient at the local hospital—under an alias. Opportunity knocks. Ann sees a chance for payback and her ticket out of Missouri. She volunteers at the hospital with the sole intention of pretending to befriend Malcolm in order to worm the story of a lifetime out of him without his knowledge. If she writes it, she'll have her job back and prove she's the killer journalist her editor had wanted her to be. But after facing her fear of falling in love, how much is she willing to risk for her career?

Three divorced friends—and one killer—set out to sea in the New York Times–bestselling author’s hilarious and “unforgettable” cruise-ship murder mystery (Booklist).
 
Three best friends are on a Caribbean cruise for their latest vacation together. But the trip could be their last—unless they sort out which of the passengers is Mr. Right and which is the hit man hired by one of their ex-husbands . . .
 
Feisty, fast-talking P.R. executive Elaine Zimmerman needs some persuading by her pals Jackie and Pat to climb aboard the luxury liner—and once she does, her luggage is mislaid and she’s forced to resort to the ship boutique’s tacky version of cruisewear. But Elaine cheers up once she finds herself seated next to Sam Peck. This couldn’t be love at first sight (because she doesn’t believe in love at first sight), or even lust at first sight (because she’s the least lusty person on the planet), but whatever it is, she can’t resist it. She’s on a once-in-a-lifetime holiday, and it wouldn’t kill her to fall in love. . . . or would it?
 
A glimmer of doubt becomes full-fledged suspicion when Elaine inadvertently learns that somebody’s ex-wife has been marked for murder—and the hired hit man is already on board. Now the ladies have to figure out whose ex is out to deep-six whom . . .
 
From the author of Three Blonde Mice, Princess Charming is a fun-filled mystery and a buoyant tale of friendship and true love—even if the glass slipper is several sizes too small and the prince arrives about ten years late.
 
“Sure to be a big hit with her faithful following.” —Kirkus Reviews
This tale of murder and mistaken identity in a Manhattan apartment building is “a rollicking and delectable read” by a New York Times–bestselling author (People).
 
A teacher at a fancy Manhattan preschool, Nancy Stern spends her days cleaning spills, moderating bathroom breaks, and preventing that one kid in the back of the room from eating glue. With America’s precious future in her hands, Nancy rises to the occasion—but sometimes she yearns for something a little more glamorous.
 
Meanwhile, another woman by the name of Nancy Stern has moved into her apartment building—and as if the constant mail mix-ups aren’t annoying enough, every mistaken delivery and misdirected message reminds her that the other Nancy Stern is outshining her by far. That pile of exclusive party invitations spilling out of her mailbox? Not for her. The stunning coat that’s arrived straight from the cleaners? Not a chance. And that smooth voice on the other end of the line calling to ask Nancy out on a blind date?
 
Now that is something the penthouse-floor Nancy Stern doesn’t have to find out about . . .
 
But while her night out with the hunk stirs up a romance, The Other Nancy gets murdered. And suddenly the real identity of not just the killer, but the intended victim, is a mystery in desperate need of solving . . .
 
“Very funny . . . When teacher Nancy accepts a blind date meant for the other Nancy, things rapidly spiral out of control. Murder and mayhem follow, all in Heller’s trademark witty and entertaining style.” —Library Journal
 
“A charmingly improbable love story.” —USA Today
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.