Fancy Nancy: Best Reading Buddies

Sold by HarperCollins
Ages 5 & Under
3
Free sample

Nancy has fun with her reading buddy in this I Can Read story from New York Times bestselling team Jane O’Connor and Robin Preiss Glasser!

Ooh la la—Fancy Nancy is so lucky! She and her reading buddy, Violet, read together every Monday. But when a few Mondays go by without being able to meet, Nancy begins to miss her new friend. Will Violet and Nancy find a way to read together even if they’re not at school?

Fancy Nancy: Best Reading Buddies is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it’s perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

 

Read more
Collapse
5.0
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 6, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
32
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780062377852
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Books & Libraries
Juvenile Fiction / Humorous Stories
Juvenile Fiction / Readers / Beginner
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
This hilarious tale of a friendship forged by books is the perfect picture book for fans of IT'S A BOOK and OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA! A great read-aloud for storytime.

Everyone needs a little attention from time to time. Just ask our gorilla who will stop at nothing to be noticed by the boy with his eyes glued to the TV set. But for the gorilla, it’s going to take more than a quiet nudge to steal away the boy’s attention. When his usual antics fail to catch the boy’s eye—LOOK OUT! The gorilla has some other tricks up his sleeve.
 
Using only two words—LOOK and OUT—Jeff Mack relates an adorably hilarious story about an attention-loving gorilla, a television-loving boy, and a friendship that develops over books. Simple in construct yet richly creative, this interactive and colorful tale will leave children laughing and loving books for years to come.

Perfect for fans of It's a Book and Officer Buckle and Gloria. 

Praise for LOOK!:

An Amazon Best Book of the Month!
 
* "The slapstick action unfolds on linen-textured backgrounds, battered vintage book covers, and the actual pages of a book—hat-tips to the physicality of books that hint at a happy ending for bibliophiles of all ages. Even if audiences miss these winks and nods to the tactile pleasures of reading, they’ll still love that gorilla: hulking, eager-to-please and almost palpably furry, he’ll be welcome in any room."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

"The personalities and emotions of the chunky, fluffy ape and the TV-entranced boy nearly vibrate off the page. Look, indeed! An energetic invitation to the joys of books."—Kirkus Reviews

"This is a fun read-aloud that will have children wanting to look and look again."—School Library Journal

"Mack’s gentle, cartoonish illustrations are cleverly drawn on old book covers and endpapers, a subtle detail that emphasizes the joy of reading, and with a playful two-word vocabulary, even the littlest readers will be able to get in on the fun."—Booklist

"Look! treads familiar metafictive ground in celebrating the pleasures of reading, but it manages to feel fresh nonetheless, with inventive use of controlled text, vibrant mixed-media art, and thoughtful design."—Horn Book



 
Open up a fresh and stylish story about growing up and keeping hold of your favorite memories. As the year passes, the narrator’s favorite dress goes through a series of creative changes, from dress to shirt to tank top to scarf and so on, until all that’s left of it is a good memory. Assisted by her patient and crafty mama, the narrator finds that when disaster strikes her favorite things, she doesn’t need to make mountains out of molehills—she “makes molehills out of mountains” instead! Structured around the days of the week, the story is also illustrated to show the passing of the seasons, a perfect complement to the themes of growing older and keeping hold (and letting go) of special mementos.

Praise for I Had a Favorite Dress
"A spunky story about adjusting to change with creativity and style. Tailor-made, so to speak, for the Etsy generation of DIY enthusiasts.” –Publishers Weekly

“Everyone is smiling in the buoyant confections created by illustrator Julia Denos—including, it’s fair to say, young readers looking at them. Endearing picture book.” –Wall Street Journal

“What could have been yet another example of kindergarten consumerism instead becomes one of resourcefulness and resilience.” –New York Times

“Denos’s multimedia illustrations reinforce the narrator’s vibrant personality and the amazing transformations of the dress while capturing the action and emotion of the story. This book is sure to capture the imaginations of would-be seamstresses; children who can’t bear to part with a favorite item; and those who want to reduce, reuse, recycle.” –School Library Journal

 

“Breezy in style, they smartly stitch each scene of alteration as the not-so-little girl sashays through the days of the week and the seasons. A charming interpretation of an old story that will speak to young fashionistas.” –Kirkus Reviews

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.