Fires of London

The Francis Bacon Mysteries

Book 1
Open Road Media
Free sample

A killer takes refuge in the blacked-out streets of wartime London, upending the world of one of Britain’s greatest painters in this chilling and captivating reimagining of the life of Francis Bacon

Francis Bacon walks the streets of World War II London, employed as a warden for the ARP to keep watch for activities that might tip off the Axis powers. Before the war, Bacon had travelled to Berlin and Paris picking up snatches of culture from a succession of middle-aged men charmed by his young face. Known for his flamboyant personal life and expensive taste, Bacon has returned home to live with his former nanny—who’s also his biggest collector—in a cramped bohemian apartment. But one night, death intrudes on his after-hours paradise. When a young man is found dead in the park, his head smashed in, Bacon and the rest of London’s demimonde realize that they have much more to fear than the faraway scream of war.
Read more

About the author

Janice Law (b. 1941) is an acclaimed author of mystery fiction. The Watergate scandal inspired her to write her first novel, The Big Payoff, which introduced Anna Peters, a street-smart young woman who blackmails her boss, a corrupt oil executive. The novel was a success, winning an Edgar nomination, and Law went on to write eight more in the series, including Death Under Par and Cross-Check. Law has written historical mysteries, standalone suspense, and, most recently, the Francis Bacon Mysteries, which include The Prisoner of the Riviera, winner of the 2013 Lambda Literary Gay Mystery Award. She lives and writes in Connecticut. 
Read more
3 total

Additional Information

Open Road Media
Read more
Published on
Sep 4, 2012
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The Lambda Literary Award–winning historical mystery series featuring the real-life British painter continues with three prequels set in Europe between the wars.
In this second trilogy that predates the first in Janice Law’s award-winning Francis Bacon series, the Edgar Award–nominated author once again delightfully reimagines the famous and flamboyant Irish-born British painter as an “artist-sleuth . . . unflappable and acidly witty” as he courts danger, solves murders, and navigates international intrigue (Booklist).
Nights in Berlin: In this first prequel, set in 1927, sixteen-year-old Francis is sent by his father to live with his uncle in Berlin as punishment for his flirtations with boys at school. But when Francis arrives, he finds Uncle Lastings welcoming countless men into his hotel room—some for pleasure, others to be recruited for the fight against Bolshevism. When the Nazis send Lastings fleeing for his life, Francis is left alone, penniless, and hunted, with only his keen sense of hedonism to distract him from a city that gets more menacing every night.
Afternoons in Paris: Escaping Germany, young Francis finds refuge—and inspiration—in the cafés of Paris. But his peaceful life as a budding artist is short-lived when he hears gunshots and sees a Russian émigré cut down by an assassin. To escape murderous Russians, Francis must flee to the countryside and eventually lays low with an avant-garde theater company. When Uncle Lastings appears in Paris up to his old tricks, Francis will find himself once again pulled into a deadly game of international espionage.
Mornings in London: The final volume in Law’s prequel trilogy comes full circle, with Francis returning to England. As much as Francis loves the nightclubs and back alleys of swinging Soho, he’s put aside his distaste for the pastoral life to rescue his favorite cousin, Poppy, a spirited young debutante who’s fallen for one Freddie Bosworth, an accused blackmailer with a love for Mussolini and more than one dark secret. When the cousins find Freddie on the manor grounds with his throat slit, Francis has another murder to solve.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.