Three Souls

· Harper Collins
4.5
20 reviews
Ebook
496
Pages

About this ebook

A finalist for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize

A dazzling historical-fiction debut perfect for readers of Amy Tan and Lisa See

Civil war China is fractured by social and political change. Behind the magnificent gates of the Song family estate, however, none of this upheaval has touched Leiyin, a spoiled and idealistic teenager. But when Leiyin meets the captivating left-wing poet Hanchin, she defies her father and learns a harsh reality: that her father has the power to dictate her fate. Leiyin’s punishment for disobedience leads to exile from her family, an unwanted marriage and ultimately a lover’s betrayal—followed by her untimely death. Now a ghost, Leiyin must make amends to earn entry to the afterlife. But when her young daughter faces a dangerous future, Leiyin has to make a heart-wrenching choice.

4.5
20 reviews
Third-party review
This was a moving story about so many things...it is more than a gritty and entertaining novel. It has depth, historical significance and one heck of a storyline! I want more by this author and maybe, just maybe there is more to the story?
Third-party review
This book was so engaging that I had to do the book/audiobook combination - I just had to know what happened next. At the beginning of the book, we know that our main character, Leiyin, has died, and ...
Third-party review
Three Souls tells the story a young woman named Leiyin. The story takes place in 1935 China, against the backdrop of some turmoil. Communism is becoming a popular political movement , set against the ...

About the author

Born in Taiwan, JANIE CHANG has lived in the Philippines, Iran, Thailand, New Zealand and Canada. She writes historical fiction with a personal connection, drawing from family history and ancestral stories. Chang has a degree in computer science and is a graduate of the Writer’s Studio Program at Simon Fraser University. She is the author of Three Souls and Dragon Springs Road.

 

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.