Dias de despedida

Editora Seguinte

Uma história tocante sobre luto, amizade e superação, que mostra que os pequenos momentos com as pessoas que amamos são o que realmente importa — e o que as torna inesquecíveis.Cadê vocês? Me respondam.Essa foi a última mensagem que Carver mandou para seus melhores amigos, Mars, Eli e Blake. Logo em seguida os três sofreram um acidente de carro fatal. Agora, o garoto não consegue parar de se culpar pelo que aconteceu e, para piorar, um juiz poderoso está empenhado em abrir uma investigação criminal contra ele.Mas Carver tem alguns aliados: a namorada de Eli, sua única amiga na escola; o dr. Mendez, seu terapeuta; e a avó de Blake, que pede a sua ajuda para organizar um “dia de despedida” para compartilharem lembranças do neto.Quando as outras famílias decidem que também querem um dia de despedida, Carver não tem certeza de suas intenções. Será que eles serão capazes de ficar em paz com suas perdas? Ou esses dias de despedida só vão deixar Carver mais perto de um colapso — ou, pior, da prisão?
Read more

About the author

Jeff Zentner começou escrevendo músicas. Cantor e guitarrista, já gravou com Iggy Pop, Nick Cave e Debbie Harry. Passou a se interessar pela literatura jovem adulta depois de trabalhar como voluntário em acampamentos de rock no Tennessee. Morou no Brasil por dois anos, na região da Amazônia, e hoje vive em Nashville com a esposa e o filho.
Read more

Reviews

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Editora Seguinte
Read more
Published on
Nov 24, 2017
Read more
Pages
392
Read more
ISBN
9788554510251
Read more
Language
Portuguese (Portugal)
Read more
Genres
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Death & Dying
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Depression
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Jeff Zentner
Named to ten BEST OF THE YEAR lists and selected as a William C. Morris Award Winner,The Serpent King is the critically acclaimed, much-beloved story of three teens who find themselves--and each other--while on the cusp of graduating from high school with hopes of leaving their small-town behind. Perfect for fans of John Green's Turtles All the Way Down.

"Move over, John Green; Zentner is coming for you." —The New York Public Library

“Will fill the infinite space that was left in your chest after you finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” —BookRiot.com 
 
Dill isn't the most popular kid at his rural Tennessee high school. After his father fell from grace in a public scandal that reverberated throughout their small town, Dill became a target. Fortunately, his two fellow misfits and best friends, Travis and Lydia, have his back. 

But as they begin their senior year, Dill feels the coils of his future tightening around him. His only escapes are music and his secret feelings for Lydia--neither of which he is brave enough to share. Graduation feels more like an ending to Dill than a beginning. But even before then, he must cope with another ending--one that will rock his life to the core.
 
Debut novelist Jeff Zentner provides an unblinking and at times comic view of the hard realities of growing up in the Bible belt, and an intimate look at the struggles to find one’s true self in the wreckage of the past.

“A story about friendship, family and forgiveness, it’s as funny and witty as it is utterly heartbreaking.” —PasteMagazine.com

“A brutally honest portrayal of teen life . . . [and] a love letter to the South from a man who really understands it.” —Mashable.com

“I adored all three of these characters and the way they talked to and loved one another.”—New York Times
Jeff Zentner
“Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming.” —Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything.

Perfect for fans of Turtles All the Way Down,Thirteen Reasons Why, and Zentner's own The Serpent King, one of the most highly acclaimed YA novels of 2016, Goodbye Days asks what you would do if you could spend one last day with someone you lost.

Where are you guys? Text me back. That's the last message Carver Briggs will ever send his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. He never thought that it would lead to their death.

Now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, a powerful judge is pressuring the district attorney to open up a criminal investigation. 
 
Luckily, Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli’s girlfriend, the only person to stand by him at school; Dr. Mendez, his new therapist; and Blake’s grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a “goodbye day” together to share their memories and say a proper farewell.
 
Soon the other families are asking for their own goodbye day with Carver—but he’s unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these goodbye days bring Carver one step closer to a complete breakdown or—even worse—prison?

"Jeff Zentner, you perfectly fill the John-Green-sized hole in our heart." —Justine Magazine

“Evocative, heartbreaking, and beautifully written." —Buzzfeed

"Masterful." —TeenVogue.com

“Hold on to your heart: this book will wreck you, fix you, and most definitely change you.” —Becky Albertalli, Morris Award-winning author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.