Last Girls Alive: A totally addictive crime thriller and mystery novel

· Bookouture
4.8
10 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

Totally loved this! The characters were amazing and drew me right in. This one cut deep on the emotional scale. Highly recommend this book.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


Her pale skin looks like porcelain in the early morning light. Her fragile arms bent and crooked like a broken doll. Lying half-buried in the muddy earth is the naked body of a beautiful young girl...


When Detective Katie Scott is called to the discovery of a young girl buried on the grounds of a former children’s home in Pine Valley, California, Katie assumes the victim is Candace Harlan, who ran away from Elm Hill Manor five years ago. It would be a devastating end to the cold case Katie’s been working on. But the girl in the ground is not Candace.


Fear grips Katie as she takes in the black ink that decorates the mystery girl’s back – a terrifying message about a hunter stalking his prey tattooed on her skin after she drew her last breath.


Forcing down traumatic memories of losing her own parents, Katie suspects someone mistook this poor soul for Candace, and that this crumbling home for lost girls is at the heart of this terrible crime. She sets to work digging into the tragic history of the owners who lost so many children of their own and tracking down the last six residents and the staff who cared for them – but no one wants to talk, let alone remember.


The next day, a second girl’s body is found down by the creek at high water, the same words etched into her skin. Katie fears the worst: someone is picking off the last of the Elm Hill girls one by one. But what does the tattoo mean? And what monster would target these innocent girls who have already been through so much?


Katie must dig deep to confront her own fears and protect the vulnerable – but as the body count rises further, will there be anyone left to save?


An absolutely gripping, dark, and totally unputdownable serial killer thriller that will keep you racing through the pages all night long. Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh will read in one sitting!


Everyone is talking about Last Girls Alive:

THERE WAS NO WAY I WAS PUTTING THIS BOOK DOWN!!!!!… I was literally holding my breath… I HAD TO KNOW!!!!! As for the explosive ending WOW definitely not what or who I was expecting.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I was hooked from the start. I couldn't stop reading. I just needed to find out what happens next with Katie and the case. Katie is a total badassI loved the story sooo much awesome book. I recommend it to everyone.’ Mama Bear’s Book Shelf, 5 stars


Totally loved this creepy thriller!! The characters were amazing and drew me right in This one cut deep on the emotional scale. I highly recommend this book.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


One hell of a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns along the way. On more than one occasion I almost had to read through my fingers as I feared what was going to happen next. A brilliant, and highly recommended read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


This series just gets better and better… I envy you the binge readI’m already looking forward to the next one!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Brilliant! Brilliant! Absolutely freaking brilliant!!… Fantastic and so real.’ Shalini’s Books & Reviews, 5 stars


Wow!!! What can I say about this page-turning, nail biting crime thriller!! It was absolutely fantastically written and had me completely hooked from the first pagefilled with nail biting suspensekept me hooked.BookWorm86, 5 stars

Ratings and reviews

4.8
10 reviews
Linda Strong
February 2, 2021
Detective Katie Scott and Deputy Sean McGaven are working a case of a missing girl, case gone cold, when they get a call saying a body has been found buried on the grounds of a former home for children. Katie assumes they have found the body of missing teen, Candace Harlan who's been gone for 5 years. Surprisingly, the body is not that of Candace. When the medical examiner finds a tattoo across the victim's back, the message seems to be that of a hunter stalking his prey. The next day, another girl's body is found, with the same message across her back. Both girls had been residents of the children's home. What did they know .. or see ... that would have someone hunting them down one by one? These two girls will not be the only victims ... more bodies will fall. The twists and turns encountered resemble a roller coaster ride, going first one way and then the other. Characters are solidly defined and there are multiple suspects to watch. Who has a secret big enough to kill to keep it secret? Katie is a wonderful character. She did two tours in Afghanistan and now suffers from PTSD when stressed .. and these days she's stressed to the max. Add to that stress, a new undersheriff watching her every move in the hopes that Katie messes up to justify closing down the cold case unit. It's full of action, especially when both Katie and Sean are targeted by the killer. All roads lead to an explosive conclusion. Although 4th in the series, this is easily read as a stand alone. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime fiction. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Mo Stephenson
October 20, 2020
I have read all 4 books they were brilliant, read book 1 enjoyed it so got the next 3 books. Couldn't put them down.hope there is more of defective Scott and company.
1 person found this review helpful
Anik MamaBearsBookSelf
October 7, 2020
This novel is about Detective Kati Scott, Kati is a detective for the Pine Valley department. Her and partner work on solving cold cases together. Kati hasn't had an easy life but things will be getting worst for her before getting any better. Kati has a lot of anxiety but she makes it work. She and her partner are put on a case where a girl from the past is found on the property of a former children's home in Pine Valley. and it's up to her and her partner to figure out who the killer is. This novel was so good. I was hooked from the start, I couldn't stop reading I just need to find out what happens next with Katie and the case. Katie is a total badass. She is one strong lady. She is a very good female lead. I loved the story soo much it was full of suspense and mystery. I loved how it wasn't very predictable. Things could change at any time and the ending was perfectly full of action. I really enjoyed this book. The writing was perfect and it flowed very well. This is my first Jennifer Chase book, I will definitely be looking for more. This book had everything I like action/mystery/romance/ suspense. I would like to say thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for giving the change to read and review this awesome book. I recommend it to everyone that loves the dark/mystery/suspense kinda books.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.