The Vanishing Child: An absolutely gripping, emotional page-turner with a jaw-dropping twist

Bookouture
2
Free sample

It’s funny how one innocent decision can ruin your life. For me it was letting my son pedal away on his bike that hot summer day. He’d been so excited to go out by himself—like a big boy. And though I was usually so protective, I let him…

 

When Carla returns to her father’s house to care for him in his final days, she feels lost and heartbroken. So she’s glad when she meets a kindly older woman named CeCe, and they develop a warm, natural friendship. CeCe understands loss too. Because nearly forty years before her only son disappeared without trace, from this same small town.

 

Then, sorting through her father’s house, Carla discovers a box of diaries and newspaper clippings from the year CeCe’s son went missing. Her father was barely more than a child himself at the time, but it’s clear the disappearance affected him strongly.

 

The whole town is haunted by the memory of that summer: of the boy who was never found. But as Carla delves further into her father’s past she realises he may actually have known more than he has ever said—and that perhaps the answers CeCe so desperately seeks have been hidden here in this house all along.

 

With her father now too ill to tell his story himself, will Carla be able to discover the truth about what happened to the child who vanished—and give CeCe the answers she’s been seeking for forty years?

 

A heart-wrenching and emotionally charged novel about small-town secrets and the price of facing up to the truth. Fans of Liane Moriarty, Nicole Trope and The Silent Daughter will be gripped from the very first page until the final, heart-stopping twist.

 

Readers love Jennifer Harvey:

 

Wow, sooooo many emotions with this outstanding book… Awesome, GrippingHeartbreaking!!!” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wow. What a suspenseful read! This book will keep you on the edge of your seat! Such vivid, visual characters that I felt I knew personally. I can't wait to read more books by this author!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


One of the best books I’ve read this year… The suspense was start to finish… I could not put this one down, I’ve carried my book around with my nose in it while cooking, cleaning and even taking a walk… This had my heart poundingAbsolutely a must read! Top of your list!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Thrilling. Suspenseful. Taut. Breathtakingly tense. Addictive. WOW, this was a book I couldn’t put down.” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Gripping thriller!This has so many emotions rolled into one! I quickly became engrossed in this… You won't be able to stop reading it once you've started! A true page-turner for sure!Oh Happy Reading ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Fast paced, very emotional, totally heartbreaking… I was just blown away!… An unforgettable story!” Heidi Lynn Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wonderful from start to finish… Amazing. Stunning. Brilliant.” Renita D’Silva ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Engaging, twisty and page-turningI could not put this book down.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Beyond amazing… The characters and storyline were fantastic… A must read.” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

It’s hard to put this book downWill stay with you for a long time.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Read more
Collapse
4.5
2 total
5
4
3
2
1
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 26, 2021
Read more
Collapse
Pages
327
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781800196247
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Small Town & Rural
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.