A Barefoot Summer

Bookouture
Free sample

'You’ll love Libby’s heartwarming journey as her life changes in ways she’d never have expected… A warm, light, brilliantly romantic story.’ 5/5 GirlsLovetoRead.com

A Barefoot Summer is a beautiful, touching story about coming home, the importance of family, and the special place that first loves hold in our hearts. Fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley, Susan Mallery and Susan Wiggs – and anyone looking for a perfect, feel-good summer read will enjoy this.

Sometimes you find perfect where you least expect it …

Libby Potter has just lost the perfect job, the perfect apartment and the perfect boyfriend. Moving back to the home town that she couldn’t wait to escape when she was younger was definitely not on her to-do list. Especially as it means running into the man whose heart she broke when she left.

Pete Bennett can still make Libby’s world stop with just the sound of his voice – even ten years on. Only now, she is the last person in the world that he wants to see.

As everyone else welcomes Libby home with open arms, she realizes she’s missed that special closeness that comes from lifelong friendship. And, as Libby seeks to make amends with Pete, she begins to wonder whether she made the right choice in leaving all those years ago.

When an amazing career opportunity gives her the chance to leave again, Libby will have to decide what her version of perfect is… and where she really belongs.

A Barefoot Summer was previously published as Love Me for Me.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 23, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
290
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781909490345
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life
Fiction / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Summer by the Sea is a beautiful, heart-warming summer read about sisters, first love and not always getting what we want – but sometimes ending up with exactly what we need.

They say there’s always one summer that changes you.

For Faith the one summer she can’t forget is when she fell in love as a teenager – only for her sister, Casey, to steal her man. Now, at the request of her beloved ninety-year-old Grandmother, Faith has agreed to a family holiday – at their childhood beach house, where it all began.

Faith hasn’t seen her sister in years but is finally ready to forgive and forget, enjoy the sunshine and relive happy memories. What she’s not ready for is meeting Jake Buchanan – the owner of the beach house – or the long-forgotten feelings he ignites in her.

Can Faith overcome the hurt of the past, rekindle the close bond she had with Casey and make this summer THE ONE to remember?

What readers are saying about Jenny Hale…

‘Jenny Hale has done it again–written a great story about second chances at love with characters you really care about.’ Kim the Bookworm

‘A gorgeous novel with wonderful characters and such a meaningful plot, one which I think everyone can learn from.’ Reviewed the Book

‘a delightful read with a wonderful setting and cast of characters at its core; definitely recommended to chick lit fans!’ Spoonful of Happy Endings

‘This book is the epitome of everything I love about reading, about fiction and about romance. It was heart-warming, touching, upsetting, endearing, beautiful and one hundred other adjectives I could reel off… It’s an absolute must-read for any romance fan.’ Paris Baker’s Book Nook

‘A perfect romance read. Full of tension and heart wrenching feelings that have you biting your lower lip in either frustration or sadness. Have a lump in your throat, a tear in your eye or giggling like a schoolgirl.’ The Book Geek Wears Pajamas

A beautiful story about the magic of childhood Christmas memories, the strength of family and falling in love when you least expect it.

 

Fans of Carole Matthews, Susan Wiggs and Scarlett Bailey – and anyone who loves the sound of Christmas songs and the sparkle of decorations on the tree – will adore this festive holiday treat!

 

Everyone loves Christmas – don’t they?

 

Carrie Blake loves her job as a nanny but, while her friends are settling down, all of Carrie’s spare time is spent with other people’s families.  Though it breaks her heart, her New Year’s resolution is to embark on a new career and fix her love life.

 

As Carrie starts her last job, she’s sure she’ll be going out on a high – the house is amazing, the kids are adorable, and she’s in charge of decorating the tree!

 

The only problem could be her boss…  single-dad, Adam Fletcher might be both handsome and successful, but he’s always working.  Doesn’t he realise he’s missing out on precious moments with his son and daughter?

 

As Adam’s family arrive for Christmas including his sensitive sister, Sharon, and his fun-loving, elderly Grandpa, Walter, Carrie realises that she might just have found the perfect allies in her quest to persuade Adam to loosen up.  There’s still time for Carrie to make this the best Christmas ever… after all, Christmas is the time for miracles, isn’t it? Let the festivities begin!

 

What readers are saying about A Christmas to Remember…

‘I instantly fell in love with this book and its characters, especially Carrie... I loved the way that she injected fun and Christmas spirit into the children and eventually Adam.  This is a book that made me feel warm  and cosy inside and I know I will want to read it every Christmas, it has the perfect mix of elements for a Christmas…  So get on your big Christmas jumper, make yourself some hot cocoa, curl up by the fire and read it too! 5/5 That Thing She Reads

 

‘Jenny's character development was perfect, and I grew to know and love Carrie, the children, Adam, and his entire family more as I turned the pages… I cannot recommend this absolutely beautiful story enough. It is perfect for everyone, and I beg you to read it before Christmas rolls around. I feel like it's reinforced my Christmas beliefs once more. That the presents beneath the tree and the food on the table is definitely an advantage, but as long as you have your family around you, I really don't think that you need much more than that.’ Becca’s Books

 

‘A Christmas to Remember is a wonderful holiday story about love, life and learning to say yes to the things that matter most in your life. I absolutely adored this novel, it’s the perfect holiday romance!’ Life with Joy

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.