The Summer We Ran Away

Sold by HarperCollins UK
6
Free Sample

A moment of madness. A summer of a lifetime.

‘Pure escapism’ Bella

‘Hilarious and relatable’ Woman

‘A story of friendship and laughter’ My Weekly

It was meant to be the party of the summer...

In Cedar Road, everyone is preparing for Lexi’s ‘White Hot’ summer party. For one night, parking squabbles and petitions are put aside as neighbours sip Prosecco under the fairy lights and gather by the hot tub to marvel at Lexi’s effortlessly glamorous life with Hot Hamish.

For Julia, it’s a chance to coax husband Charlie out of his potting shed and into a shirt so they can have a welcome break from the hellish house renovation they’ve been wrestling with. And it’s a chance for Julia to pretend – just for a night – that her life is as perfect as Lexi’s.

But when, during the party, one of Julia’s WhatsApp messages falls into the wrong hands and reveals her most intimate thoughts, things reach boiling point...

And when all the neighbours know exactly what you’re thinking, there’s only one thing to do.

Run away.

It’s going to be a summer Julia will never forget...

Warm, funny, and feel-good, The Summer We Ran Away is the ideal uplifting read for fans of Veronica Henry, Milly Johnson, and Carole Matthews.

Praise for The Summer We Ran Away:

‘Pure escapism’ Bella

‘Hilarious and relatable’ Woman

‘A story of friendship and laughter’ My Weekly

Praise for Jenny Oliver:

‘You know you’re in for a treat when you open a Jenny Oliver book’ Debbie Johnson, award-winning and bestselling author

‘Made me want to fly to Spain and dance on the beach with a glass of sangria in my hand. The perfect summer read’ Sarah Morgan, Sunday Times bestelling author

‘Brilliantly written ... packed full of humour and there is a wonderful thread of love’ The Sun

‘Heart-warming, funny and wonderfully observed’ Fiona Harper, bestselling author

‘Dramatic and fun!’ My Weekly

‘Jenny Oliver does a brilliant job’ Woman

Read more
Collapse

More by Jenny Oliver

See more
The Summerhouse by the Sea... you’ll wish you were here!

The Top 10 bestselling author tells a summery story about returning to your past and finding a new beginning.

Bestselling author Debbie Johnson says, 'You know you're in for a treat when you open a Jenny Oliver book’.

Escape with Jenny Oliver’s new uplifting read, The Summer We Ran Away in June 2020!!

Every summer has its own story...

For Ava Fisher, the backdrop to all her sun-drenched memories – from her first taste of chocolate-dipped churros to her very first kiss – is her grandmother’s Summerhouse in the sleepy Spanish seaside town of Mariposa.

Returning for one last summer, Ava throws herself into a project her grandmother would be proud of. Café Estrella – once the heart of the sleepy seaside village – now feels more ramshackle than rustic. Just like Ava, it seems it has lost its sparkle.

Away from the exhausting juggle of London life, Ava realises somehow her life has stopped being...happy. But being back at the Summerhouse by the sea could be the new beginning she didn’t even realise she needed...

Praise for Jenny Oliver:

'You know you're in for a treat when you open a Jenny Oliver book' Debbie Johnson

‘Brilliantly written, this is packed full of humour and there is a wonderful thread of love... A perfect holiday read’ The Sun

‘This book made me want to fly to Spain and dance on the beach with a glass of sangria in my hand. The perfect summer read’ Sarah Morgan

'Jenny Oliver writes contemporary women's fiction which leaves you with a warm, fuzzy feeling inside’ Books with Bunny

‘Intelligent, delightful and charming! The writing is exquisite’ What’s Better Than Books

‘A very uplifting story full of happy endings and guaranteed to make you smile....’ Goodreads

'You know you're in for a treat when you open a Jenny Oliver book' Debbie Johnson From the top 10 best-selling author of The Summerhouse by the Sea

Welcome to Jenny Oliver’s brand new Cherry Pie Island series!

Home, Sweet Home....?

There’s nowhere more deliciously welcoming...

When Annie White steps back onto Cherry Pie Island, it’s safe to say her newly inherited Dandelion Café has seen better days! And while her childhood home on the Thames-side island idyll is exactly the same retreat from the urban bustle of London she remembers, Annie’s not convinced that Owner of The Dandelion Cafe is a title she’ll be keeping for long. Not that she can bear the idea of letting her dedicated, if endearingly disorganized staff lose their jobs. Plus café life does also have the added bonus of working a stone’s throw away from millionaire Matt and his disarmingly charming smile!

One (shoestring budget) café makeover, a few delightful additions to the somewhat retro menu and a lot of cherry pie tastings later, The Dandelion Café is ready for its grand reopening! But once she’s brought the dilapidated old café back to life, Annie finds herself wishing her stay on the island was just a bit longer. She always intended to go back to the big city...but could island living finally have lured her back home for good?

Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Sophie Kinsella and Cathy Bramley.

The Cherry Pie Island series

The Grand Reopening of Dandelion Café – Book 1

The Vintage Ice Cream Van Road Trip – Book 2

The Great Allotment Challenge – Book 3

One Summer Night at the Ritz – Book 4

The Grand Reopening of Dandelion Café is Book 1 in The Cherry Pie Island series.

Each part of Cherry Pie Island can be read and enjoyed as a standalone story – or as part of the utterly delightful series.

Praise for Jenny Oliver

'I thoroughly enjoyed this book it had a sprinkling of festivity, a touch of romance and a glorious amount of mouth-watering baking!' - Rea Book Review on The Parisian Christmas Bake Off

'With gorgeous descriptions of Paris, Christmas, copious amounts of delicious baking that’ll make your mouth water, and lots and lots of snow – what more could you ask for from a Christmas novel!' – Bookboodle on The Parisian Christmas Bake Off

'The baking part of the book is incredibly well written; fans of The Great British Bake Off will not be disappointed to see all their favourites in here! This is a lovely little read that is perfect for the festive period!' - Hanging on Every Word on The Parisian Christmas Bake Off

’ ideal for a summer read.' – Catch a Single Thought on The Vintage Summer Wedding

'Jenny Oliver writes contemporary women's fiction which leaves you with a warm, fuzzy feeling inside.’ – Books with Bunny on The Vintage Summer Wedding

'...it was everything I enjoy. Oliver did a wonderful job of allowing us to immerse ourselves in the lives of the pair, she created characters that were likeable and well rounded...I couldn’t find a single flaw in the book.' - 5* stars from Afternoon Bookery to The Little Christmas Kitchen

4.7
6 total
Loading…

Additional information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Collapse
Published on
11 Jun 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
384
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780008297558
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / General
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Fiction / Small Town & Rural
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.