Fine Line: A Phantom Force Tactical Novel (Book 2), Book 2

Jessica James
21
Free sample

“Heart-pounding and heartfelt, Fine Line is a perfectly paced romantic suspense that captivates.” ~LITERAL ADDICTION

 With a new wife and a successful career as the co-owner of Phantom Force Tactical, retired U.S. Navy SEAL and former homicide detective Blake Madison thinks he has it all. But when his wife disappears from their bed while he’s taking a morning jog, Blake has to figure out if it’s someone from her past as an investigative journalist, or his as a combat veteran and police officer.

 Fortunately, Blake has a team of the nation’s best warriors at hand to assist in solving the crime. With the help of his partner, Nick “Colt” Colten, they set out to take down the mastermind behind the heinous plot—a violent adversary who is hell-bent on retaliation and vengeance.

Despite the stakes stacked against them, the men of Phantom Force Tactical are willing to risk everything to bring Caitlin back alive and rid the world of this powerful and formidable foe. But will it be enough, or will this enemy, with his vast influence and powerful connections, be one they can’t defeat?

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Jessica James is an award-winning author of suspense, historical fiction, and military fiction ranging from the Revolutionary War to modern day. She is the only two-time winner of the John Esten Cooke Award for Southern Fiction, and was featured in the book 50 Authors You Should Be Reading, published in 2010.

Her novels appeal to both men and women and are featured in library collections all over the United States including Harvard and the U.S. Naval Academy. By weaving the principles of courage, devotion, duty, and dedication into each book, she attempts to honor the unsung heroes of the American military—past and present—and to convey the magnitude of their sacrifice and service.

James resides in Gettysburg, Pa., and is a member of the Military Writers Society of America, the Independent Book Publishers Association, and the Romance Writers of America. She is also a member of the American Legion Post 202, Gettysburg.

Jessica James Awards

 

2016 Gold Metal Military Writers Society of America

2016 Readers’ Favorite International Book Award Bronze Winner Romance – Suspense

2016 Finalist for BOOK OF THE YEAR in Foreword Magazine’s IndieFab contest

2015 NJRW Golden Leaf Award

2014 Valley Forge Romance Writers Sheila Award Finalist

2014 John Esten Cooke Award for Southern Fiction
2014 Reader’s Crown Award Finalist
2014 Next Generation Indie Award Finalist in Fiction/Religious
2013 USA “Best Books 2013” Finalist in Fiction/Religious

2012 Bronze winner Foreword Magazine Book of the Year in Romance
2011 John Esten Cooke Award for Southern Fiction
2011 USA "Best Books 2011" Finalist in Historical Fiction
2011 Next Generation Indie Award for Best Regional Fiction
2011 Next Generation Indie Finalist in Romance
2011 Next Generation Indie Finalist in Historical Fiction
2011 NABE Pinnacle Book Achievement Award

2010 Military Writers Society Award in Historical Fiction
2009 HOLT Medallion Finalist for Best Southern Theme
Read more
Collapse
4.0
21 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Jessica James
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 20, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
136
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781941020104
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Best For
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Fiction / Romance / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / Terrorism
Fiction / War & Military
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"Hold on tight - this one burns like a lit fuse" - Gregg Hurwitz, Internationally Bestselling Author of Orphan X

An explosive, race-against-time thriller and the first in the action-packed Ryan Lock series.

Christmas Eve in New York, but for ex-military bodyguard Ryan Lock it's business as usual. His task: to protect the head of one of America's most powerful corporations.

But when a bloody massacre leaves bodies littering the streets of midtown Manhattan, Lock's hunt for the killers turns into an explosive game of cat and mouse.

As the clock ticks towards midnight on New Year's Eve, and a female suicide bomber stalks the island of Manhattan, Lock realizes that not only is his own life in terrible danger but so are the lives of millions of others...

Daily Telegraph Thriller of the Year.
"An impressive debut novel featuring one of the finest female villains since Ian Fleming's Rosa Klebb...this is a writer, and a hero, to watch" - The Daily Mail
"Sean Black writes with the pace of Lee Child, and the heart of Harlan Coben. Lockdown is a sure-fire winner" - Joseph Finder, New York Times Bestselling Author of Buried Secrets
"Funny, tough, and furiously paced, Lockdown explodes off the page" - Jesse Kellerman
"Supremely slick...An excellent first novel" - The Daily Telegraph

For fans of Vince Flynn, Jack Reacher, Brad Thor, James Patterson, Lee Child, Alex Cross, Nelson DeMille, David Baldacci, John Sandford, Harlan Coben, Robert Crais, Mark Greaney, Tom Clancy, Gregg Hurwitz, Dan Brown, John Grisham, Simon Kernick, Joseph Finder.

On the front lines, where battles are waged and fates decided, two counterterrorism operatives learn they have a lot to fight for—and even more to lose.

 Phantom Force Tactical’s Nicholas “Colt” Colton thought the radical extremist he captured years ago was locked away for good. Unfortunately, a new classified mission reveals that the threat is still very real, and corruption within the U.S. government runs deep.

 Task Force 2 agent Josephine “Joey” Summers has been working her own angle, trying to figure out where the terrorist leader will strike next. She’s come up with a very plausible—and terrifying—theory, but doesn’t know who she can trust. After teaming up with a retired Navy SEAL, she discovers the plot is even bigger than she’d imagined—and the consequences much more alarming.

 When the stakes are this high, promises must be kept. And when thousands of people could die, sacrifices must be made. Only by letting go of their pasts will they have any hope of stopping the chaos. But courage and commitment—plus a pledge—fuse to create an outcome that is both unpredictable and unimaginable.

Excerpt:

Colt looked through the scope of his rifle and blinked away the sweat dripping into his eyes. The man in his ear was ordering him to pull the trigger, while the voice in his head was screaming not to. He knew his partner Josephine “Joey” Summers was in that vehicle, but so were a handful of really bad guys who were getting ready to do a lot of bad things to a large number of innocent people.

 Seconds ticked by. The voice in his ear warned him that time was running out.

 He had to kill so that others would live.

 Taking a deep breath, Colt applied a little pressure to the trigger, and lined up the driver’s head in his sights. He knew it probably didn’t matter where the bullet hit. The vehicle was full of explosives and was going to blow sky-high.

 Colt released his breath slowly as the vehicle came closer, and did what he’d promised he’d do.

 He pulled the trigger.




A sudden-savant, his days numbered, his loved ones at risk...

Publishers Weekly heralded this first book in Richard Bard's Brainrush thriller series as "terrifically entertaining" and "inventive and compelling." It went on to earn The Wall Street Journal's #1 Action/Adventure slot in their Guide to Self-Published Big Sellers.

Before he slid into the MRI machine, Jake Bronson was just an ordinary guy with terminal cancer. But when an earthquake hits during the procedure, Jake staggers from the wreckage a profoundly changed man, now endowed with uncanny mental abilities.

An ocean away, Luciano Battista wants a piece of Jake's talent. Posing as a pioneering scientist, the terrorist leader has been conducting cerebral-implant experiments in a sinister quest to create a breed of super jihadist agents...and Jake's altered brain may be the key to his success. But Jake refuses to play the pawn in an unholy war--and when an innocent woman and autistic child are taken hostage to force his cooperation, he embarks on a jihad of his own. Jake and his band of loyal friends are thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush mountains of Afghanistan--where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.

An “international thriller with soul.” Ideal reading for fans of Michael Crichton, Clive Cussler, James Rollins, Marcus Sakey, Michael Grumley, Brad Thor, Dan Brown, Matthew Reilly, Tom Clancy, Robert Ludlum, and Vince Flynn. 

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.