The Do-Gooder

Sold by Simon and Schuster
Free sample

A college girl tries to make up for her bad karma by doing one good deed for anyone willing to ask—a witty, sweet romance perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Abbi Glines.

Lara Montgomery is no good. Having been scorned by her classmates since high school, she’s used to it. From where she’s sitting, the one with more notches on the bedpost has more fun anyway. At least, that’s what she tells herself.

Really, a small part of her hopes that her massive amounts of bad karma can be neutralized by wearing her Do-Gooder hat—that thing she does where she’ll complete one good deed for anyone who asks. And she does an amazing job at it, if she does say so herself. Still, there’s one thing she knows she can’t make better, no matter how many problems she solves for other people: on the night her brother died, she was off hooking up with his not-so-single best friend, Fletch.

It’s been three years since that night, and Fletch just wants her to let it go. To him, her persistence with the good deeds only serves to remind everyone in their small university town about what they did. As it is, they can’t help but get into a heated argument every time they run into each other on campus. And yet, neither of them can seem to stop that pesky electricity that runs between them whenever they get too close….
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Jessie L. Star hails from a family of voracious readers and talkers who all relish in a good story and a well-crafted squabble.

She was born in a small town in rural Australia and so learnt early the value of making her own entertainment—in her case, writing stories. This remains her favorite form of entertainment, along with reading too late into the night, having her heart broken on a regular basis by her football team, and pestering her long-suffering friends into watching the numerous TV shows she’s addicted to.

Jessie started writing online as a teenager and developed her style with the aid of a cohort of brilliant readers who provided a lot of helpful and encouraging feedback. She won six awards on Some Kind of Wonderful (SKoW)—an original romance awards site—and was inducted into the Hall of Fame. Her first completed original story, So Much to Learn, has over 1.3 million views on Fictionpress.com.

Jessie writes romance stories full of snark, banter, a smidgeon of heartache, and people, ultimately, falling in love. She lives in Tasmania.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 20, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
416
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781501161575
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY LIBRARY JOURNAL

RITA finalist and New York Times bestselling author Ruthie Knox kicks off a steamy series set in the city that never sleeps—alone, at least.
 
May Fredericks hates New York. Which is fair enough, since New York seems to hate her back. After relocating to Manhattan from the Midwest to be with her long-distance boyfriend, NFL quarterback Thor Einarsson, May receives the world’s worst marriage proposal, stabs the jerk with a shrimp fork, and storms off alone—only to get mugged. Now she’s got no phone, no cash, and no friends. How’s a nice girl supposed to get back to safe, sensible Wisconsin?
 
Frankly, Ben Hausman couldn’t care less. Sure, it’s not every day he meets a genuine, down-to-earth woman like May—especially in a dive in the Village—but he’s recovering from an ugly divorce that cost him his restaurant. He wants to be left alone to start over and become a better man. Then again, playing the white knight to May’s sexy damsel in distress would be an excellent place to start—if only he can give her one very good reason to love New York.

Praise for Truly
 
“Knox writes such sultry, detailed romance. The sexual tension and the sex itself are very hot. . . . Highly recommend this story.”—Smexy Books
 
“Truly is another Knox classic. Well written, heartwarming, sweet, super sexy with a dash of heartbreak and soul-searching, I devoured this fabulous story. . . . An absolutely fabulous read about two imperfect people . . . I can’t wait to see what Ruthie Knox will come up with next.”—The Brunette Librarian
 
“Knox is rapidly becoming my go-to author for excellent contemporary romance, providing all of the necessary components to a great read: accessible characters, solid plot, well-paced events and a whole lotta steam. And she delivers it all here. . . . Knox is amazingly talented at incorporating emotion with the physical that fairly sizzles with heat. I strongly encourage readers to immediately read this wonderful book.”—Pretty Sassy Cool
 
“Knox is an incredible writer. She has the gift of making ordinary people larger than life. She adds a special blend of humor, creative dialogue, unique characters, and an interesting plot with its own magical flare. . . . These two vastly different people will discover the magic of life, love, and happiness in a new way. . . . They will console each other about their past failures, cheer each other on, and find their chemistry is much more than sexual. . . . I highly recommend this book.”—Smut Book Junkie Book Reviews
 
“Well written and my favorite Ruthie Knox book to date, Truly is a powerful story and an amazing journey of self-discovery with a sexy love story thrown in for good measure!”—Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
 
“Truly is one of those stories that just got under my skin and into my heart. . . . It’s not just a romance, it’s a story of two people finding a new path at those crossroads in life we all have to face from time to time. And while the romance between Ben and May is hot and intimate, it is their individual discovery of the path into their future that really hit home with me. This was the story that made me a Ruthie Knox fan for life. If you haven’t read it, I wholeheartedly recommend it. The writing is top notch and the story is interesting, fast paced and has very unique characters.”—Red Hot + Blue Reads
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.