Dead Ringer

Full Fathom Five Digital
6
Free sample

From the moment Laura Rivers steps foot into Englewood High, she notices the stares—and they aren’t the typical once-overs every pretty new girl endures. The students seem confused and…spooked. Whispers echoing through the halls confirm that something is seriously off. “That new girl looks just like her,” they say.
 
It turns out Laura has a doppelgänger, and it isn't just anyone—it's Sarah Castro-Tanner, the girl who killed herself by jumping into the Navasink River one year ago.
 
Laura is determined not to let the gossip ruin her chances of making a fresh start. Thanks to her charming personality and California tan, she catches the eye of Englewood’s undisputed golden boy, Charlie Sanders, and it’s only a matter of time before they make their relationship official.
 
But something is making Charlie and his friends paranoid—and Laura soon discovers it has to do with Sarah Castro-Tanner.
 
What really happened to Sarah? Why is Charlie unraveling? And how does Laura Rivers fit into it all?
 
After all, she’s the dead ringer for a dead girl.

Praise for Dead Ringer:
"Rosen crafts a wild ride that keeps you guessing with every chapter. While the twists and turns are dynamite, it's the deep and original characters that will truly capture your mind and heart with their singular voice. A triumphant debut." —Jillian Lauren, New York Times best-selling author of Some Girls: My Life in a Harem and Everything You Ever Wanted

"Thriller lovers won't be able to put down Jessie Rosen's fantastic debut, Dead Ringer. Twisty and creepy (in the best way!), it's a page turner from start to finish. I'm anxiously waiting for the next book!" —Jeanne Leitenberg, writer for ABC Family's Chasing Life

"Don't be fooled by the picture-perfect teens who roam the halls of Englewood High; beneath the surface lurk dark secrets and shocking truths that Jessie Rosen reveals with the delicious, slow-burn timing of a maestro. Dead Ringer reminded me of the Christopher Pike novels I devoured as a teen, in the very best way. This book will leave you with chills." —Una LaMarche, author of Five Summers, Like No Other, Don't Fail Me Now, and Unabrow: Misadventures of a Late Bloomer

"Jessie Rosen’s Dead Ringer reminds me of a Hitchcock movie transferred to high school. As the book tangles through its different points of view, I bit my nails, tensely wondering which character to trust as I discovered the next twists waiting on the next page. Buy this book if you want to feel like that (and you do)."  —David Iserson, author of Firecracker

"Jessie Rosen has masterfully crafted this story about manipulation, obssession, and lies, and just when you think you're starting to figure it out, something happens to turn it all upside down. I raced toward the end but hated when it was over." Lucy Keating, author of Dreamology
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Jessie Rosen is a writer, producer, and performer. She grew up in New Jersey, attended Boston College in Massachusetts, and began her writing career in New York. Her live storytelling seriesSunday Night Sex Talk has received national attention. She was named one of “The 25 Best Bloggers, 2013 Edition” by TIME magazine for her blog 20-Nothings, which was also named in “The 100 Best Websites for Women” and “The Top 10 Best Websites for Millennial Women” in 2013 by Forbes.

Rosen is the oldest of four girls, which gives her a special window into the minds of teenagers. She now lives in Los Angeles, where she’s working on film and television projects, as well as her next novel.
Read more
Collapse
3.2
6 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Full Fathom Five Digital
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 11, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
352
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781633700871
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Young Adult Fiction / Mysteries & Detective Stories
Young Adult Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Suicide
Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Seconds seem like a lifetime when the life you lived is slowly drained out of you by those who care not what you felt, hoped, or dreamed. When the darkness comes it is all-consuming; there is no light and there is no pain. It is the never-ending loss of hope that now consumes me as I die in his arms.This is Abigail Martin's nightmare. After her parents become the first victims of a serial killer obsessed with the vampire saga, "Crimson Reign," Abigail does the only thing that she thinks will save her from her parent's fate–she becomes some one else. As Vera MacIntrye, she falls in love with the very handsome Tad Knightley, and then walks into her first day at her new school to see him standing at the front of the classroom. He's every teenage girls fantasy, but as he writes “Mr. Knightley: AP British Literature” across the white board Vera realizes the one person who filled the gaping hole in her heart will soon rip it wide open again.Vera struggles to adjust to being a 'normal' teenager with very adult responsibilities like paying the rent, buying groceries and making sure that lights stay on, while being drawn time and time again back to her off-limits teacher. What's worse is he is drawn to her too, and their worlds refuse to stay apart when Tad finds Vera screaming in terror in the parking lot after the winter formal. The murderer has struck again and is getting closer to the next target–Vera. Tad will do whatever he can to save her, even if it means losing his dream job, but will it be enough when the murderer is closer than anyone ever thought?
The final book in Katharine McGee's epic New York Times bestselling Thousandth Floor series

When you have everything, you have everything to lose.

Welcome back to New York, 2119. A skyscraper city, fueled by impossible dreams.

LEDA just wants to move on from what happened in Dubai. Until a new investigation forces her to seek help—from the person she’s spent all year trying to forget.

RYLIN is back in her old life, reunited with an old flame. But when she starts seeing Cord again, she finds herself torn: between two worlds, and two very different boys.

CALLIOPE feels trapped, playing a long con that costs more than she bargained for. What happens when all her lies catch up with her?

WATT is still desperately in love with Leda. He’ll do anything to win her back—even dig up secrets that are better left buried.

And now that AVERY is home from England—with a new boyfriend, Max—her life seems more picture-perfect than ever. So why does she feel like she would rather be anything but perfect?

Perfect for fans of Kiera Cass and Anna Godbersen, and with all the drama, romance, and hidden secrets from The Thousandth Floor and The Dazzling Heights, this explosive finale will not disappoint.

“We couldn’t put this one down.” —The Skimm

“The luxe lives of Manhattan’s elite are even more extraordinary in Katharine McGee’s futuristic, highly addictive page-turner. The irresistible cast of characters lures you into the elevator for an unexpected ride, packed with wittily prescient high-tech details and good old-fashioned romance and drama. The Thousandth Floor will give you vertigo and leave you eager for more.” —Cecily von Ziegesar, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Gossip Girl

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.