The Shattered Rose: Medieval Romance

ePublishing Works!
4
Free sample

"This book certainly does NOT fit the usual romance formula, and is the better for it!" ~Suzanne G.

When Galeran of Heywood returns from the Crusades, longing for his wife, Jehanne, he finds his castle under siege and his wife alone with a child that is not his own.

Seeing Galeran alive was all Jehanne ever hoped for. But credible rumors of Galeran's death wrought dangerous folly that Jehanne never expected when they kissed goodbye three years prior.

Now enemies from church and state hover, looking for spoils, and Galeran and Jehanne must decide: find a way to forgive each other and fight together, or allow others to orchestrate their fate.

From the Publisher: Readers with a passion for history will appreciate the author's penchant for detail and accuracy. Fans of Elizabeth Chadwick, Bernard Cornwell and Philippa Gregory as well as Tamara Leigh and Suzan Tisdale will appreciate this medieval romance.

"...a powerful, thought-provoking romance." ~Romantic Times

"An entertaining, original read." ~The Romance Reader

"Readers who enjoy stories that have The Crusades as a backdrop will appreciate Ms. Beverley's fine romance." ~A Romance Review

Read more

More by Jo Beverley

See more
". . . this whole story had me on the edge of my seat." ~Stephanie Porter, Reviewer

A Case of Mistaken Identity . . . a Christmas Eve to Remember: The Wise Virgin by Jo Beverley

It was quite daring of Edmund de Grave to rescue Lady Nicolette de Montelan before her father found out she was pregnant with an enemy family's child. Unfortunately, he kidnapped the wrong woman when Nicolette's cousin, Joan, took Nicolettes place as the Blessed Virgin in the Christmas re-enactment—a last minute change that seemed fitting given her "condition".

Now, Lady Joan finds herself trapped in a cave on Christmas Eve with the great Edmund de Grave and neither are very happy about it. He's fuming because his plan was spoiled and worrying about his brother, now in enemy hands. She's perturbed that a man she thought a hero is the type to get a lady "with child" outside of marriage.

There's a battle brewing as the fires of ancient hatreds are stoked and the true spirit of Christmas is about to be tested.

From the Publisher: Fans of Jo Beverley will recognize this story as one of her early works previously published as part of an anthology. Readers with a passion for history will enjoy the author's penchant for detail and accuracy. Fans of Elizabeth Chadwick, Bernard Cornwell and Philippa Gregory as well as Tamara Leigh and Suzan Tisdale will delight in this medieval romance.

"So sensual in such a short story, it was a pure Beverley delight." ~Marilyn Rondeau, Reviewer

About The Author: Publishers Weekly declared Jo Beverley "Arguably today's most skillful writer of intelligent historical romance..." Her work has been described as "Sublime!" by Booklist, and Romantic Times described her as "one of the great names of the genre."

She is the NYT bestselling author of over thirty historical romance novels, all set in her native England in the medieval, Georgian, and Regency periods. Her novels have won the RITA, romance's top award, five times, and she is a member of Romance Writers of America's Hall of Fame.

She also writes some romantic stories with a science fiction and fantasy twist. The Trouble With Heroes... won the Sapphire Award for Best SF Romance, and The Marrying Maid was an honorable mention for Best SF 2011.

She firmly believes that reading should be fun, and that every book should leave the reader with a smile.

". . . romance with mistaken identities, wicked villians, strong women and men who are strong enough to accept them as equals." ~Shamim Morani

The death of her husband freed Serena Riverton from life as an abused sex-object. Now, her brother plans to sell her to another vile man.

This time, Serena flees, but finds herself stranded and near penniless. When a passing gentleman offers help, Serena accepts, and develops a new plan: become a rich man's mistress so she can leave at any time.

Believing herself barren, Serena initiates a passionate encounter with her rescuer. However, Francis, Lord Middlethorpe is already committed to a sweet-natured lady. He finds Serena refuge with an elderly relative, and must return to his life. Then Serena discovers she's pregnant.

They have no choice but to marry, but assailed by Serena's scheming brothers, Francis's appalled relatives and Serena's painful past, is there any hope for the loving future they both seek?

From The Publisher: Author Jo Beverley is known for her consumate attention to historical detail that wisks the reader back in time to a near first-hand experience. Fans of Regency romance and historical British fiction set in the 19th century, as well as readers of Jess Michaels, Mary Balogh, Christi Caldwell, Stephanie Laurens, Madeline Hunter and Mary Jo Putney will want to read every book by Jo Beverley.

Please Note: Story contains references to the heroine's sexually abusive first marriage that some readers may find disturbing.

"Any woman would be able to understand Serena’s horror... and her inability to trust" ~Romance Reviews Today

"Nobody does Regency better than Jo Beverley." ~Rendezvous

"Ms. Beverley breaks just about every rule in the book and makes us beg for more in this enthralling love story." ~Romantic Times

3.8
4 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
ePublishing Works!
Read more
Published on
Oct 11, 2014
Read more
Pages
400
Read more
ISBN
9781614176671
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Ancient World
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Medieval
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Viking
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.