Transgressor

Ren Gifford Mysteries

Book 2
Joe Scholes
Free sample

The text message read:

Call me in two minutes, Warren,

or you'll be dead in three. — M

Six months after successfully out-maneuvering the Malefactor, private investigator Ren Gifford is sucked back into M’s vortex of evil manipulation. Despite the Malefactor’s promise to leave Ren and company alone, he ultimately refuses to accept defeat. As a result, Ren and Terry, with Russ, Alex and Glen, find themselves in another battle of wits to survive. 

M coerces former accomplices, including Warren Millpond, to assist in his quest to destroy Ren. With vast wealth and resources at his command, M believes he is invincible. Ren, however, is not without resources of his own. New friendships spring from old, and Ren finds support in powerful new allies. 

The battle for survival has begun. 

Revenge is a dish best served cold —

but who will be the victor to set the table?

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Joe retired from the US Postal Service in 2010, after thirty-six years. Not long after, he became the proofreader and jack of all trades for author Connie Suttle, a long-time, very close friend.
With Connie as his inspiration, he decided to write a book of his own, Malefactor. The manuscript languished in a dusty computer folder for almost twenty years before he finally found his author's voice. He felt he had a good story idea, but he basically had to start over, because the old manuscript was woefully out of date.

Joe lives in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA, with his two kids, Dingo and Ringo, miniature long-coat Chihuahuas.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Joe Scholes
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Dec 23, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
245
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781634780155
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / LGBT / Gay
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Private Investigators
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The first four novels of the Dan Sharp mystery series, winner of the Lambda Award for best gay mystery.

Collected into a single volume, the Lambda-award winning Dan Sharp series by Jeffrey Round follows a gay father and missing persons investigator as he weaves from upper-class enclaves to the seedy underbelly of Toronto and Southern Ontario.

Includes:

Lake on the Mountain - #1
Dan Sharp, a gay missing persons investigator, accepts an invitation to a wedding on a yacht in Ontario’s Prince Edward County. But the event doesn’t go as planned. A member of the wedding party is swept overboard and Dan finds himself deep in troubled waters as he searches for possible killers, not only in the present, but also twenty years earlier.

Pumpkin Eater - #2
Missing persons investigator Dan Sharp makes a grisly find in a burned-out Toronto slaughterhouse. His search for a killer takes him deep into Toronto’s underworld.

The Jade Butterfly - #3
A chance meeting in a bar sends missing persons investigator Dan Sharp in search of a woman presumed dead in the Tiananmen Square Massacre. But there may be international consequences and big players in a mystery that spans two continents.

After the Horses - #4
When a notorious bar owner is found dead, Dan Sharp is approached by a couple who claim they know the killer’s identity. Reluctant at first, Dan reconsiders when he learns about the club’s shady payments to the cops. As suspicious disappearances mount, Dan finds himself targeted by someone who wants the case — and anyone connected — dead.

"Such devotion to his work makes Round's writing absorbing for readers. You sympathize with Sharp, even as he falls into a whiskey-drenched hell, and you wait for him to rise again."
– Xtra!

"The writing is raw, the emotions are taut and author Jeffrey Round brings it together in a breathtaking conclusion."
– Hamilton Spectator

"Jeffrey Round is the gay Margaret Atwood!"
– Luba Goy, Comedian
The first three novels of the Dan Sharp mystery series, winner of the Lambda Award for best gay mystery

Collected into a single volume, the Lambda-award winning Dan Sharp series by Jeffrey Round follows a gay father and missing persons investigator as he weaves from upper-class enclaves to the seedy underbelly of Southern Ontario.

Dan Sharp, missing persons investigator, has his hands full. His partner, Bill, is dodgy about commitment and loves to taunt Dan about his lurid past. His son, Kedrick, is the shifting centre of his world, a weak spot in his hardboiled life, and a serious complication in his relationships. And then there's the work.

A wedding guest is swept off a yacht and vanishes beneath the waves, but the wrong person ends up reported missing. In Toronto, someone is murdering sex offenders. And why is a son still searching for man who left a suicide note – and six dead horses – when he disappeared, twenty years ago?

A chance meeting in a bar sends missing persons investigator Dan Sharp in search of a woman presumed dead in the Tiananmen Square Massacre. But there may be international consequences and big players in a mystery that spans two continents.

"Such devotion to his work makes Rounds writing absorbing for readers. You sympathize with Sharp, even as he falls into a whiskey-drenched hell, and you wait for him to rise again."
– Xtra!

"The writing is raw, the emotions are taut and author Jeffrey Round brings it together in a breathtaking conclusion."
– Hamilton Spectator

"Jeffrey Round is the gay Margaret Atwood!"
– Luba Goy, Comedian

Includes

Lake on the Mountain Pumpkin Eater The Jade Butterfly
The instant New York Times Bestseller (January 2018)!

"A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" —New York Times Book Review

"Buckle up, because you won't be able to put this one down." —Glamour

"Jaw dropping. Unforgettable. Shocking." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The best domestic suspense novel since Gone Girl." —In Touch Weekly

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Read between the lies.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of Glamour Magazine's Best Books of 2018 | One of Hello Giggles' 19 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Praise for The Wife Between Us:

"Fiendishly clever...in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." —Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

“A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"The Wife Between Us delivers a whip smart, twisty plot in a taut, pacy narrative. It's terrific and troubling. This is one scary love triangle where you won't know who to trust. I loved it." –Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" –Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

“This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed, with an ending that smacks you between the eyes and takes your breath away. These authors are destined to become trail blazers in the field of psychological suspense books that explode in your hands!” —Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault

“Like a house of mirrors, The Wife Between Us kept me guessing around every corner, delving into the complexities of marriage, friendship, and obsession.” —Javier Ramirez, The Book Table

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.