Serendipity: A Miscellany of Short Stories

Pneuma Springs Publishing
Free sample

An avid reader of short stories myself, I have enjoyed journeying along with the likes of Mark Twain, O’Henry, Maupassant, Frank O’Connor and others of such ilk. Nearer home, writers like Keith Waterhouse, Bill Naughton, Sid Chaplin, Stan Barstow are among my favourites and of course the inimitable P.G.Wodehouse. In gathering together over the years, this collection of short stories, I feel somewhat like a campanologist with his carillon of bells – ringing the changes. In ‘Serendipity’ there is something for everyone. If your taste is humour there are plenty including ‘It’s No Laughing Matter’, ‘Stop! …Don’t Go Any Further’. There are slices of real life in ‘Arthur’, ‘Lanky Franky’, ‘Death of the Hindenburg’ and ‘My Only Sunshine’. There is satire and irreligious ones – written without any malice. In the animal stories ‘The Dog’, ‘The Gulls’ Court’ and ‘The Camel’ I have given myself full rein and enjoyed exercising anthropomorphism. In short ‘Serendipity’ is the word - take a dip and find your winner. I hope while reading these stories you will be able to share the enjoyment that I felt when writing them. Book reviews online: PublishedBestsellers website.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

After leaving university John tried to make a career in banking but finding himself a square peg in a round hole, decided to enter the teaching profession. In his forty years of teaching, he has taught all ages from infants to 6th form, eventually becoming a headmaster. As secretary of his local teachers’ union he was involved with reports and political matters in education. On retirement he started a course of lectures for the W.E.A and Sheffield University, teaching creative writing to adults. He had a short story accepted by a Chicago magazine and the Daily Mail published his account of the death and resurrection of Oscar, his children’s goldfish. He has travelled to many places in the world. On its sesquicentennial anniversary he followed the route of the Oregan Trail. He has also travelled extensively through the USSR, in Europe and the Road to Samarkand. And of course Ireland!
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Pneuma Springs Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Dec 6, 2012
Read more
Collapse
Pages
184
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781782281856
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

‘Absolutely fantastic!... I cannot recommend this book enough!!’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

When Evelyn Dooley married her high-school sweetheart, James, she thought she was set for life. Now she’s twenty-eight, single, and fleeing to Dublin from her hometown to avoid the gossip surrounding their break-up. And all because of a test-your-relationship board game.

This was not in her five-year plan.

 

Then a chance encounter with gorgeous musician Danny leads to an unlikely friendship, and soon the pair are running music nights together in one of the oldest pubs in Dublin. For the first time Evelyn is following her dreams rather than someone else’s – and sparks are beginning to fly between her and Danny…

 

But when her savings run out and home beckons, Evelyn has to choose. The safe, comfortable life she left behind, or a new adventure with Danny? Will Evelyn flee back to the familiarity of her ex, or reach for the stars and take a leap into the unknown?

 

A laugh-out-loud, feel-good story of friendship, second chances, and romance, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Marian Keyes.

 

This book was previously published as Reach for the Stars.

 

Read what people are saying about I’m Still Standing:

 

‘Love, love, love this book!... You know you’re onto a winner when a book makes you laugh out loud from start to end.’ Chelle’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

‘I LOVED this book!’ Southern-in-Law, 5 stars

 

‘I absolutely loved this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I really enjoyed this book!! It genuinely made me feel good… I laughed out loud… I loved it – 5 stars from me.’ Donna’s Book Blog, 5 stars

 

‘An absolutely phenomenal read… I was glued to Evelyn’s story… Everything I could have wished for… Outstanding… Easiest five stars ever!’ The Writing Garnet, 5 stars

 

‘Colleen Coleman has done it again!... I read this book in one go… Highly recommended.’  Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Funny, uplifting and heart-warming… A top read.’ Jen Med’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

‘I really couldn’t put this novel down… A joy to read.’ Cosy Cute Knits, 5 stars

 

‘Fantastic… If you want to laugh until your belly hurts and find the sweetest book boyfriend ever, pick up this book.’ The Bookish Sisters, 5 stars

 

‘Truly fabulous.’ Postcard Reviews, 4 stars

 

‘Heart-warming, cute, and full of hope, this is a feel-good story to read with your favorite tea and blanket!’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles, 4 stars

 

‘Heartfelt, believable, and engaging from beginning to end… I highly recommend it.’ Urban Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

‘A beautiful, uplifting novel… Everybody should read this book because it’s just wonderful and I loved every minute of it.’ Sincerely Book Angels, 5 stars

 

‘An unexpected masterpiece… Enjoyable and hard to put down… A powerful and inspiring feel-good book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘A really feel-good book… I flew through the pages… Such great fun to read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Colleen is a fantastic author… A funny, light-hearted read that will leave you smiling a long time after reading it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 4 stars

 

‘I loved this book.’ Librarian, 5 stars

 AS THE READER, I SUSPECT THAT YOU ARE AS GUILTY AS MY BROTHER RON AND ME FOR RAISING HELL IN YOUR YOUTH.

Within these pages are the memories of two senior citizens who drove their family and neighbors absolutely crazy with their youthful foolhardiness during the forties and fifties in Acton, Massachusetts. True stories of two youngsters who terrorized a town, enraged their parents, Ole Ern and Ethel, their neighbors, Ray and Bell Harris, and succeeded in blaming all of them on another kid labeled Gunk, who is ultimately the star of this book. “He was much taller than us, and uglier too. The jerk was as stupid as a box of hair, yet because he thought it funny to push my four-year-old face into his butt and release gas . . . well, it was war.”

It didn’t matter what crime we committed; the fact that Gunk was there to take the blame ensured that Ron and I would live another day to get up to more antics, create more chaos, which would be enough to condemn our neighbor across the street. Ron and I did so many tricks on a lot of people that the end results of blaming that other person and getting away with it were so funny that inspiration became an extension of our disruptive activities.

Gunk Did It became my mantra for the subsequent indiscretions and were cause for his receiving castigations from anyone we deemed necessary. Predictable as always, as we were to proclaim that Gunk Did It, we never tired of conspiring against him. I owe my learning to inflict falsehoods never dreamed of by humankind to Gunk’s butt-inflicted abuse, which initiated and developed our proclivity for youthful and very funny revenge.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.