Junkyard Angel

The Scott Mitchell Mysteries

Book 3
Open Road Media
Free sample

Scott Mitchell, Britain’s toughest private eye, finds himself marked for murder in this gritty hardboiled mystery.

In a freezing London flat, Scott Mitchell fights to stay warm. His thermos is empty and his hands are numb, but he keeps his vigil for the best reason in the world: He needs the money. A sleazy developer hired him to keep track of the comings and goings in the building across the road, but after too many hours of inactivity, Mitchell decides to do something unorthodox. He goes across the street and lets himself inside. It’s the worst decision he’ll ever make.

Mitchell has just stepped inside when a blackjack cracks him across the skull, and he crashes to the floor. When he comes to, he finds a photo of a beautiful woman—and a dead girl lying on the bed. Mitchell has fallen face-first into a murder scene, and it won’t be long before he’s wishing he’d frozen instead.

A hardboiled mystery in the tradition of Raymond Chandler and John D. MacDonald, Junkyard Angel grips readers from the first page and doesn’t let go. From the creator of legendary detective Charlie Resnick, the Scott Mitchell Mysteries give us the toughest private eye to ever walk the streets of London.

Junkyard Angel is the 3rd book in the Scott Mitchell Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

John Harvey (b. 1938) is an incredibly prolific British mystery writer. The author of more than one hundred books, as well as poetry and scripts for television and radio, Harvey did not begin writing professionally until 1975. Until then he was a teacher, educated at Goldsmiths College, London, who taught literature, drama, and film at colleges across England. After cutting his teeth on paperback fiction, Harvey debuted his most famous character, Charlie Resnick, in 1989’s Lonely Hearts, which the English Times called one of the finest crime novels of the century.
 
A police inspector noted for his love of both sandwiches and jazz, Resnick has starred in eleven novels and one volume of short stories. The BBC has adapted two of the Resnick novels, Lonely Hearts and Rough Treatment (1990), for television movies. Both starred Academy Award–nominated actor Tom Wilkinson and had screenplays written by Harvey. Besides writing fiction, Harvey spent over twenty years as the head of Slow Dancer Press. He continues to live and write in London.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 13, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
160
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781504038850
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Private Investigators
Fiction / Noir
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A private investigator stumbles upon the body of a female singer in this mystery from an author praised by Elmore Leonard for his “clean and simple” prose.

When Scott Mitchell loved Candi Carter, her name was just plain Ann. Back then she was a hippie, playing tambourine in some no-name band. Now she’s the most famous singer in Britain, and she has plans to conquer America next—but first she needs her old friend’s help. And when the famed songbird asks Mitchell to come down to her house in Nottingham, he can’t refuse, even though the sound of her voice makes him feel like his heart is breaking all over again. He pulls himself out of an alcoholic haze, takes the train from London, and stumbles right into a murder scene.
 
Mitchell finds Carter dead in her living room, a trickle of blood coming from her mouth and a bullet in her chest. Her body is still warm. But before he can get out of there, he’s blackjacked, and when he comes to, he’s picked up by a pair of cops who beat him senseless and drag him to the nearest cell. Mitchell is having a hell of a day—and things will only get worse from here.
 
First published in 1976, this is the debut novel of John Harvey, who would go on to create the legendary hardboiled Charlie Resnick Mysteries. Harvey’s first crack at transplanting the kind of tough-talking American PI of Raymond Chandler and John D. MacDonald to the United Kingdom works beautifully. Scott Mitchell isn’t just the toughest detective in Britain—he’s also the best.
 
Amphetamines and Pearls is the 1st book in the Scott Mitchell Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
After television’s hottest singing star goes missing, detective Steve Conacher follows a trail of glitter, glamour, bodies, and blood to find her.
 
When popular cartoonist Lawrence Lariar decided to moonlight as a mystery writer, creating comic book artist turned amateur sleuth Homer Bull was a natural. From the 1940s through the 1960s, Lariar continued to switch from sketching caricatures to sketchy characters, writing hardboiled crime fiction under his own name as well as the pseudonyms Michael Stark, Adam Knight, Michael Lawrence, and Marston La France, and creating a series of memorable gumshoes. Now his classic whodunits are available as ebooks.
 
With knockout curves and killer chords, nobody sells a song like Mari Barstow. Destined for stardom and eager to make the grade, she’s poised for the big time. So it doesn’t make sense that she’d disappear a few short days before headlining a high-paying, career-changing television spectacular. Unless the publicity-hungry belter is just looking to tease the gossip trade.
 
Steve Conacher sees a more sinister angle to Mari’s vanishing act. He can’t help it. Not with the spurned lovers in her party-girl past, the vindictive enemies she used to claw her way to the top, and her hot-shot TV director being stabbed to death. And it won’t be the last murder in Conacher’s skip trace gig. Now Conacher had better find Mari and fast, before she makes ink in the obits.
 
Triple Slay is the 8th book in the PI Steve Conacher Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
Private detective Steve Conacher tails a runaway wife to a luxury Catskills resort for a weekend of fun, sun, and murder.
 
When popular cartoonist Lawrence Lariar decided to moonlight as a mystery writer, creating comic book artist turned amateur sleuth Homer Bull was a natural. From the 1940s through the 1960s, Lariar continued to switch from sketching caricatures to sketchy characters, writing hardboiled crime fiction under his own name as well as the pseudonyms Michael Stark, Adam Knight, Michael Lawrence, and Marston La France, and creating a series of memorable gumshoes. Now his classic whodunits are available as ebooks.
 
The Montford Hotel in the Catskills is a fabulous playground for the rich and beautiful—like Grace Lasker, the high-class Park Avenue knockout Conacher’s been hired to eyeball at the behest of her jealous husband. But the simple skip trace turns to murder when Conacher finds the young lovely stabbed to death in her suite.
 
That her body disappears is just the first distraction in the investigation. The others come fast and loose: a high voltage Broadway torch singer on a stopover to Hollywood; a sultry rhumba teacher who offers free lessons to the right man; and a high-diving swimming star with slippery limbs and a broad mind. They aren’t the only ones with secrets. Grace had her share of them, too.
 
As the motives for her murder mount, Conacher realizes that Grace won’t be the last guest not to make it out of the Montford alive.
 
Knife at My Back is the 3rd book in the PI Steve Conacher Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
Mon dieu! American detective Steve Conacher’s pursuit of a missing heiress in Paris becomes a case of murder—with a Gallic twist.
 
When popular cartoonist Lawrence Lariar decided to moonlight as a mystery writer, creating comic book artist turned amateur sleuth Homer Bull was a natural. From the 1940s through the 1960s, Lariar continued to switch from sketching caricatures to sketchy characters, writing hardboiled crime fiction under his own name as well as the pseudonyms Michael Stark, Adam Knight, Michael Lawrence, and Marston La France, and creating a series of memorable gumshoes. Now his classic whodunits are available as ebooks.
 
When wealthy and naïve American art student Judy Martin flees the states to find succès in Paris, she’s followed by a relentless paramour eager to marry into money. Now PI Steve Conacher’s been hired to tail both of them—and cut the shady romance short. But someone beats him to it. Lover boy’s been found cut to ribbons on the banks of the Seine. And Judy has vanished without a trace.
 
From scouring the backstreet bistros in Montmartre to tangling with unflics to playing in the pleasure-seeking circles of the missing girl’s private life, Conacher is running headlong into danger. Because one by one, his contacts are being picked off. Now Conacher isn’t sure if he’s searching for a terrified runaway—or a fetching fugitive with so much to hide it’s criminal.
 
Girl Running is the 7th book in the PI Steve Conacher Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.