The Man Who Murdered God: Joe McGuire Mystery Series

Sold by HarperCollins Canada
Free sample

A beloved local priest brutally murdered in his own church.

A cloistered monk in a peaceful seminary shot at point-blank range.

A Jesuit teacher slain at night in his classroom.

Facing a brutal serial killer with his sights set firmly on the Catholic diocese, Boston homicide detective Lieutenant Joe McGuire—one half of the best homicide team in Boston’s history—is in a race against time to find a killer who seemingly leaves no trace.

With the help of the local diocese, McGuire’s investigation leads him to the monstrous, decades-old betrayal of an innocent child. But will McGuire be able to find the killer before he strikes again?

The Man Who Murdered God, the first novel in the thrilling Joe McGuire mystery series, won the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel. It is followed by And Leave Her Lay Dying, Whisper Death, Gypsy Sins, Solitary Dancer, and Haunted Hearts.

Praise for The Man Who Murdered God

“. . . a compelling and chilling mystery . . . ”—The London Free Press

Read more
Collapse

More by John Lawrence Reynolds

See more
An inside look at the secret societies that survive and thrive among us “with more twists and turns than The Da Vinci Code” (Robert J. Sawyer, Hugo Award–winning author of Hominids).
 
Secret societies generate fear, suspicion, and—above all—fascination. To many, their secrecy suggests sacrilege, crime, and conspiracy. Their loyalties are often accused of undermining governments and tipping the scales of justice. The Freemasons, for example, hold more seats of power in the US government than any other organization. No fewer than sixteen presidents have declared their Masonic affiliation, and there may have been more. Secret societies have infiltrated pop culture as well. Celebrity members of Kabbalah include Madonna, Demi Moore, and Elizabeth Taylor, among others.
 
From the Mafia and the Yakuza to the Priory of Sion, Skull and Bones, and the Templars, Reynolds offers an illuminating exploration of the stories—both confirmed and fabricated—that surround these societies. He also provides detailed information on their origins, initiations, rituals, and secret signs. Dispelling myths and providing gripping revelations—such as a direct historical link between the Assassins of the Middle Ages and today’s Al Qaeda—Secret Societies gives us a smart, surprising look at the best known and least understood covert organizations.
 
“A page-turner.” —Robert J. Sawyer
 
“This offers far more depth and detail than most . . . Excellent.” —Midwest Review of Books
 
“A must-read . . . Written with exceptional skill and competence.” —Ian Markham, dean of Hartford Seminary
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins Canada
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 5, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
257
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781443443661
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
When Jayne Wilson’s mother is accused of murder, Jayne and Gemma have to eliminate the impossible to reveal the true killer.

Legendary stage and movie star Sir Nigel Bellingham arrives on Cape Cod to star in a stage production of The Hound of the Baskervilles put on by the West London Theater Festival. When Sir Nigel, some of the cast, and the director visit the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop at 222 Baker Street, Gemma Doyle realizes that Sir Nigel is not at all suited to the role. He is long past his prime and an old drunk to boot. The cast, in particular the much younger actor who previously had the role, are not happy, but the show must go on.

Before the play opens, Leslie Wilson, mother of Gemma’s best friend Jayne, arranges a fundraising afternoon tea to be catered by Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room. The tea is a huge success, but when it’s time to leave, Sir Nigel has gone missing—only to be found at the bottom of the rocky cliff, dead. Along with the dead body, Gemma finds evidence incriminating Leslie Wilson. When the police, in the presence of handsome detective Ryan Ashburton and suspicious detective Louise Estrada, focus their attention on Leslie despite the numerous other suspects, the game is once again afoot and it’s again up to the highly perceptive Gemma and the ever-confused but loyal Jayne to clear Jayne’s mother’s name.

Fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle, and Sherlockians everywhere will delight at The Cat of the Baskervilles, the clever third Sherlock Holmes Bookshop mystery.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.