Bobbit Rock: A Psychological Horror Novel

Bublish, Inc.
Free sample

Still reeling from the death of his beloved wife and unborn child, homicide detective Isaac Murphy must investigate a growing string of unsolved murders in the shadowy city of Callahan, South Carolina. When mass hysteria plagues the populace, Isaac begins to lose his sanity and questions whether the killer is a man or a monster. But a terrible secret plagues Isaac’s heart—when he was a child, he climbed the forbidden Bobbit Rock and unknowingly unleashed a curse. Now, he hears the deaths are his fault.


Has Isaac doomed everything to the wrath of the WRETCHED MAN?


Read more
Collapse

About the author

Joseph Landing, Jr. is a three-time author who lives in Charleston, SC. He started writing novels at the age of thirteen and had published two of them before graduating high school. He studied file and media at the University of Miami and spent time developing his craft in New York and Los Angeles. He produced an award-winning short film titled, “Project Godhand,” during his studies. After graduating from college, he felt an interest in writing psychological horror. Within a year, he had written Bobbit Rock.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bublish, Inc.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 8, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
238
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781950282746
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Donna doesn’t know the old man with the sad face and yet there she is, beating him to death with a shovel. Is suppressed rage making her murder people in horrifying ways, or is she some sort of latent psychopath? She dreams of killing another man, and then another. The more people she kills, the more desperate she becomes to stop herself. Can she find the key and stop herself before she commits yet another gruesome murder? 


***


“I Do Terrible Things is a symphony of extreme horror. Goodrich masterfully draws the reader in and relentlessly turns the screws. Like a repeating melody, each chapter broadens and deepens the main character’s profound but subtle descent into madness and violence. By the time I had reached the grand guignol finale I felt as trapped in the tale as she did.” - Stephen Kozeniewsk, author of Braineater Jones


“John Goodrich will appeal to fans of Laird Barron, Mary SanGiovanni, and Peter Straub.” - Brian Keene


“What happened to the quiet and unassuming man I thought I knew? Something demented is brimming, hidden behind an unassuming, innocent smile that freezes into a rictus just below the surface. He’s serving up a seriously demented murder-rama thrillfest with a healthy dose of splatter. Death in the most insidious ways seem to fill every page. The pace, at times maddening, is handled skillfully, almost to the point of pain just before that wonderful release. I only hope someone this devastatingly disturbed is chained safely in his basement, his computer the only light.” - Monica O’Rourke, author of Suffer the Flesh


“John Goodrich’s new novel, I Do Terrible Things, proves his debut, Hag, was no fluke. Beginning with a terrifying and surreal premise, this story of a woman who’s a reluctant, but vicious killer in her dreams ramps up into a thrilling search for the truth that ends in a way that’d make the Greek tragedians wince. Trust me, once you start this one, you aren’t going to want to sleep until it’s finished.” - Bracken MacLeod, author of Come to Dust and 13 Views of the Suicide Woods


“Some of us don't get a 'cult fiction' sense from our reads very often, but you're likely to find it in John Goodrich. I Do Terrible Things offers up a meaty mix of Charles Willeford, John Skipp, and even Patricia Highsmith, all culminating into a nightmare of paranoia and crime that noir and horror fanatics will love. The results are unsettling, and at best, you'll be left with a sense of displacement that even your doctor will only be able to shrug at. Get on this book.” - Larissa Glasser, author of F4

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since It—publishing just as the second part of It, the movie, lands in theaters.

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes. Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there’s no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents—telekinesis and telepathy—who got to this place the same way Luke did: Kalisha, Nick, George, Iris, and ten-year-old Avery Dixon. They are all in Front Half. Others, Luke learns, graduated to Back Half, “like the roach motel,” Kalisha says. “You check in, but you don’t check out.”

In this most sinister of institutions, the director, Mrs. Sigsby, and her staff are ruthlessly dedicated to extracting from these children the force of their extranormal gifts. There are no scruples here. If you go along, you get tokens for the vending machines. If you don’t, punishment is brutal. As each new victim disappears to Back Half, Luke becomes more and more desperate to get out and get help. But no one has ever escaped from the Institute.

As psychically terrifying as Firestarter, and with the spectacular kid power of It, The Institute is Stephen King’s gut-wrenchingly dramatic story of good vs. evil in a world where the good guys don’t always win.
The instant New York Times Bestseller (January 2018)!

"A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" —New York Times Book Review

"Buckle up, because you won't be able to put this one down." —Glamour

"Jaw dropping. Unforgettable. Shocking." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The best domestic suspense novel since Gone Girl." —In Touch Weekly

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Read between the lies.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of Glamour Magazine's Best Books of 2018 | One of Hello Giggles' 19 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Praise for The Wife Between Us:

"Fiendishly clever...in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." —Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

“A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"The Wife Between Us delivers a whip smart, twisty plot in a taut, pacy narrative. It's terrific and troubling. This is one scary love triangle where you won't know who to trust. I loved it." –Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" –Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

“This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed, with an ending that smacks you between the eyes and takes your breath away. These authors are destined to become trail blazers in the field of psychological suspense books that explode in your hands!” —Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault

“Like a house of mirrors, The Wife Between Us kept me guessing around every corner, delving into the complexities of marriage, friendship, and obsession.” —Javier Ramirez, The Book Table

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.