Watch Your Mouth

Bitingduck Press LLC
Free sample

Watch Your Mouth! Discover What’s Alive Inside

Right now billions and billions of fungi, bacteria and viruses are coating your tongue, scumming up your teeth and flavoring your breath. There are more microbes in your mouth than there are people on earth. Horrible? Maybe. Healthy? For sure!

Your mouth is home to amazing mix of tiny critters. Because it’s wet, warm cave, washed with a constant food supply it’s a perfect place for microbes to thrive. Worried? Don’t be. In fact, having a good mix of microbes keeps you healthy. So open wide and discover, experiment, observe. Get friendly with your billions of secret micro pals. This book tells you how and why you will want to Watch Your Mouth!

This book is for middle grade readers (ages 9-12) and educators. It is a lighthearted look inside your mouth. It is also serious science, vetted by research scientists.    New discoveries about how microbes affect human health have gotten a lot of media attention. Very little is written for kids about how microbes affect human health. The mouth is microbe hotspot, and a great place to introduce children to the idea that their microbes matter. Having a happy, healthy mouth IS a hands on activity. This books tells how.


Read more

About the author

About the Authors 

Linda Allison is the author of many kids’ books including Blood and Guts, a Hands-On Guide to your Own Insides (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers 1976, in press for 38 years. It’s currently listed on Amazon’s Best Seller’s for children’s books on biology).

Dr. Rebecca Smith trained as a biochemist and is now Co-director of the Science & Health Education Partnership (SEP) at the University of California at San Francisco medical center.   She is currently collaborating with the non-profit 826National.org on a book of science lessons (for in and afterschool time) designed to inspire student writing that will be published by Jossey-Bass in 2015.

Dr. Judy Diamond is a biologist, science educator, professor and curator of informal science education at the University of Nebraska State Museum. Diamond is lead author of the graphic story, World of Viruses (University of Nebraska Press 2012), Concealing Coloration in Animals (Harvard University Press 2013), and Kea, Bird of Paradox (University of California 1999; funded with research grants from National Geographic).

Watch Your Mouth was developed with support the National Institutes of Health.   Science Education Partnership Award (NIH SEPA) funds are available to help produce, disseminate and promote this book through science festivals and other outreach efforts. 

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bitingduck Press LLC
Read more
Published on
Jan 1, 102
Read more
Pages
90
Read more
ISBN
9781938463297
Read more
Read more
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Health & Fitness / Children's Health
Health & Fitness / Oral Health
Juvenile Nonfiction / Health & Daily Living / Daily Activities
Juvenile Nonfiction / Health & Daily Living / Personal Hygiene
Medical / Dentistry / Dental Hygiene
Medical / Dentistry / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
This is the story of Rebecca Smith and John R. Emshwiller, the two reporters who led the Wall Street Journal's reporting on Enron and uncovered the unorthodox partnerships at the heart of the scandal through skill, luck, and relentless determination.

It all started in August 2001when Emshwiller was assigned to write a supposedly simple article on the unexpected resignation of Enron CEO Jeff Skilling. During his research, Emshwiller uncovered a buried reference to an off-balance-sheet partnership called LJM. Little did he know, this was the start of a fast and furious ride through the remarkable downfall of a once highly-prized company.

Written in an intense, fast paced narrative style, 24 Days tells the gripping story of the colossal collapse of what would become the world's most notorious corporation. The reader follows along as Smith and Emshwiller continue to uncover new partnerships and self-dealing among the highest levels of Enron's management. As they publish articles detailing their findings in the Journal, Wall Street and individual investors have a crisis of confidence and start selling Enron stock at unprecedented levels of volume. In the end - 24 short days later - Enron had completely collapsed, erasing 16 years of growth and losing $19 billion in market value while watching the stock drop from $33.84 to $8.41. Not only was the company destroyed, but investors and retired employees were completely wiped out-all the while Enron executives were collecting millions of dollars.

Climaxing with this 24-day period, this book shows the reporter's-eye view of a David-and-Goliath battle between journalists and a giant corporation. Each day a new story uncovered another fact; each day the company issued denials. And when the investigative stories reached critical mass and momentum, the stock market cast its final vote of no confidence. In the tradition of Indecent Exposure and Barbarians at the Gate, two other gripping narratives that began as a series of Wall Street Journal stories and ended up as books that defined an era, 24 Days brings the importance of great investigative journalism to life.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.