The New Mother: A completely gripping psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist

· Bookouture
4.0
3 reviews
Ebook
445
Pages

About this ebook

Who would you trust with your precious family?

 

Wanted: full-time, live-in help for expectant mother. Must be organised, friendly and willing to do anything.

 

Rachel is determined to be the perfect mother. She has a birth plan, with a playlist and a bag ready by the door. She’s chosen a lovely light cream paint for the nursery, and in wide-eyed, innocent Abbie she’s found the perfect person to help her with her baby.

 

After all, every mother needs a bit of help, don’t they?

 

But Rachel needs a little more than most.

 

She still makes sure her bedroom door is locked before she goes to sleep. She still checks the cameras that are dotted throughout the house.

 

Rachel trusts Abbie. She has to, because she knows better than to trust herself.

 

But sometimes, when she catches Abbie watching her with a disappointed look in her eyes, she wonders…

 

In trying to protect her baby, has she made a terrible mistake? 

 

From the bestselling author of Her Husband’s Lover, this is a truly gripping story about how far people will go to find a family. Filled with tension and twists to keep you glued to every page, it is perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, Shari LaPena and The Girl on the Train.

 

Readers are loving The New Mother:

 

‘Wow… A freaking page-turner from start to finish… Amazing… Will have you flipping the pages fast!Outstanding novel!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


OMG!!!! SERIOUSLY!!!! WHAT A BOOK!!! JUST WOW, WOW, WOW!!!… One of the most intense and suspense filled books I've ever read…. A genuine page turner that will keep you flipping the pages until you reach the explosive ending!!!An absolutely page-turning, intense, heart racing psychological thriller that will get you addicted!!!Bookworm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


WOW!!!… Guaranteed you have NEVER read a book quite as unique, thrilling, somewhat relatable, eye-opening, twisted, mind-blowing... A book that EVERYONE will be talking about so I suggest you go run out and get your copy today!!’ Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wow! Where do I even start with this one? What an absolute edge-of-the-seat book this is!… Once you start reading this book you won’t be able to put it down, so pick a time when you can just be completely consumed by it and cancel everything else… Had me completely enthralled… An absolute must-read.’ Sibzzreads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wow, what a fast paced, twisted thrill ride!… Captivating and chilling story! A must for my fellow thriller lovers! Will surely keep you up all night and leave you with a shock! Highly, highly recommend!' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Excellent read!… Nerve-wracking twist after twist… Kept me on the edge of my seat, all the way to the ending. Highly recommend this!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Grabs the reader’s attention and doesn't let go. Even when not reading the book, you are thinking about it and what will happen! Recommended for anyone who loves a thriller!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Captivating… So twisted, so shocking that the tension rises at an incredible pace, not letting up for one second… An incredible read, much like a runaway train that ended with a breathtaking climax.’ Robin Loves Reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘A roller-coaster ride… I was reading at breakneck speed as the suspense was unbearable… Gripping… The action-packed climax was nerve-wracking.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘If you like a book with plenty of twists and turns this is the one for you! Fantastic read!Grips you from the start and keeps you hanging on till the end.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Ratings and reviews

4.0
3 reviews
Marnie Harrison
October 15, 2021
“She wanted everything to be perfect…” It’s hard to know who to trust, particularly when you can’t trust yourself. Has Rachel selected the perfect person in Abbie to help out with calming her fears and with her soon to be arriving bundle of joy? Or is she about to make a terrible mistake? What do you get when you cross an egotistical social media influencer and an unhinged stalker, obsessed with said influencer? a bloody ripper of a read that’s what! Oh my goodness this story had me addicted right off the bat and caught in its dark sinister web! I could not put this one down and gave my Kindle quite the workout. The two leads are unlikeable, which I actually loved and it has been perfectly executed interspersed with instagram posts throughout. Alternating between the two women’s points of view, the deeper you get into the story you are wondering who is the most batshit crazy! The tension and suspense that simmers in the background. ramps up to boiling point which makes for an edge of your seat read in the lead up to its thrilling conclusion. All up The New Mother is a must read for fans of psychological thrillers.
Catawba Cats
October 12, 2021
Contemporary telling of a new nanny position within a wealthy setting where it all seems to be too good to be true. And it is! Cleverly written and interestingly dialogued where everyone is hiding something. Many thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for this ARC!

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.