Perky (Do-Over Series #2): Second Chance Small Town Enemies to Lovers Romantic Comedy

· Do-Over Book 2 · Julia Kent
4.6
53 reviews
Ebook
280
Pages

About this ebook

FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR JULIA KENT


One hundred years ago when I was young and impulsive (okay, it was five, alright? Five years ago…) I let my boyfriend take, let's just say...compromising pictures of me.


(Shut up. It made sense at the time).


Surprise! The sleazy back-stabbing jerk posted them on a website and, well, you can guess what happened. That’s right.


I’m a meme. A really gross one. 


You've seen the pictures. And if you haven't – don’t ask. And don't look!


As face recognition software online improves, I get tagged on social media whenever anyone shares my pictures. You try getting a thousand notifications a day, all of them pictures of your tatas.


So. I’m done.


It’s time for revenge. Let him see how it feels! But how do you get embarrassingly intimate pictures of your jerkface ex who double-crossed you five years ago?


Especially when he’s a member of the U.S.House of Representatives now? 


Getting sweet between the sheets with a congressman is pretty much every political roadie’s dream, right? I’m one in a crowd.


Except to this day, he swears he didn’t do it. Pursued me for months after I dumped him five years ago. Begged me to take him back.


And I almost did it. Almost. I was weak and stupid and in love a hundred years ago.


Okay. Fine. Five.


But I still have the upper hand. Second chance romance has all the emotional feels, doesn’t it? 


I can’t wait to punch him in the feels.


All I need to do is sleep with him once, take some hot-and-sweaty pics of him in... delicate positions, and bring him down. That’s it. Nothing more.


Pictures first. Revenge after. And then I win.


At least, that’s how it was supposed to happen. But then I did something worse than sexting.


I fell in love with him. Again.

---

Read the whole series:

Little Miss Perfect (FREE!)

Fluffy

Perky

Feisty

Hasty


* * *

Read what others are saying about Julia Kent's books:


"Heartwarming and intensely emotional, Our Options Have Changed is witty, sexy and hilarious with a heroine you admire and a hero you can't help falling in love with." -- Helena Hunting, New York Times bestselling author


"Reading a Julia Kent book is like taking a vacation with your best friends. They'll make you laugh, tug on your heartstrings, and leave you wanting more." -- New York Times bestselling author Melissa Foster


"Kent and Reed create rom com magic in this friends to lovers romance. Laughter, tears, and all the swoons." -- USA Today Best Selling author Daisy Prescott


"Witty, sexy, funny and delightfully delicious--love it from beginning to end."-- USA Today bestselling author T Gephart


"An utterly charming celebration of the messiness of love, life, and motherhood... every woman deserves a Nick." -- Laurelin Paige, New York Times bestselling author


Reader and Blogger reviews:

"Move over Sophie Kinsella and make way for Julia Kent. I haven't laughed so much since the Shopaholic series." -- Reader review


"Shannon reminds me of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum character..." -- Reader review


"Another best seller by the Queen of romantic comedy." -- Reader review


"Kent took this fun, sexy tale and gave it a depth that made it so darn easy to read." -- Glass Paper Ink Bookblog


"Nothing has made me laugh out loud this much since I read Bridget Jones' Diary many, many years ago." -- Reader review


"This book is a MUST READ and I can't WAIT for the next one!!!" -- Reader review


"...Julia Kent has once again brought the laugh until you cry scenes, but has added a new aspect to her writing..." -- Avid Reader Book Reviews


"The characters in this book are absolutely magnetic and you can't help but be drawn into their lives." -- Reader review


"This book is bursting at the seams with all the fun and witty banter!" -- Eargasms Audiobook Reviews


Perfect for readers of Emma Chase, Penny Reid, Lauren Blakely, Sally Thorne, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Kendall Ryan, Kristan Higgins, Helena Hunting, Sophie Kinsella and Alice Clayton.


Audiobook narrated by Erin Mallon.

 

4.6
53 reviews
Joyffree
July 30, 2019
"How do you put magic into words? It's magic. It works outside of reason and description. " My side is aching! Great story line and such a wonderful cast. We even get to watch Mal (from Fluffy) as she bridezillas on her besties. I adored Perky in Fluffy but I am going to have to say there were quite a few times during this story she pushed my buttons. I just wanted so badly to make her see clearly... whatever it took! I willingly admit she almost had me closing the pages on her but I waited and it paid off. I can't imagine the type of emotional wall you would have to build to survive the indignation and humiliation that she goes through regularly. I think that was the only thing that gave me the patience to not give up on her character. When Parker's sudden appearance provides him with the opportunity to once again claim his innocence I admit I agreed with Fi a bit. Is it destiny or bull? Gotta say though the chemistry between Parker and Perky is chemical perfection! The perfect blend of smooth and 'holy chit'! - opposites definitely do attract The story overall was easy to follow with a pretty fast pace that only occasionally slowed enough to let me grab a breath before the next "ah he ll" moment occurred Mal is killing me. Fi needs to get... she needs to expend some of that extra energy in a more physical way, Lol. I am excited about Fi's story
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Erin Lewis
July 23, 2019
5 star review Perky by Julia Kent    Julia Kent never fails to deliver; whenever I see her name I know that I am in for a fabulous read. As with previous books I have read I was in stitches having laughed so much I cried. That’s right, not only laughing but snort laughing, totally unattractive I assure you and the looks I got from my fellow commuters just made me laugh even harder. Julia Kent is one of my go to authors in the romantic comedy genre. There is just something about her style of writing that draws me in and I devour her books.   I absolutely loved the premise for Persephone’s (Perky) story. Perky was everything that I hoped it would be and so much more. Perhaps because Ms. Kent has such an ability to write about characters who are human, engaging and realistic that you cannot help but be drawn in to the story she weaves. Betrayed years before by Parker, the man she loved, Perky is determined to seek her revenge. After all he pursued her for months after she dumped him after his betrayal. I I so felt for Perky and the embarrassment and humiliation she has been made to live with over the last 5 years and I totally understand her need for revenge. Although a hilarious read it is also a story of a second chance at love, of taking a leap of faith. The secondary characters were an absolute hoot and it was great to catch up with Will and Mallory. Reconnecting at the rehearsal dinner Parker still maintains his innocence and he still has feelings for Perky. Unfortunately Perky’s head is set on revenge but her body and heart are still drawn to Parker. Which will win out head or heart? I fell hard and fast for Parker, he ticked all my boxes and was totally swoon worthy.   This is a gem of a book and in my humble opinion Ms.Kent has another winner on her hands.      
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
C.M Pepper
July 30, 2019
‘Revenge’ is a dish best served... Perky is the second in a new series of (inter-connected) standalones by Julia Kent. First came Fluffy and all that was Mallory and Will in their hugely entertaining story. If you haven’t had the privilege, do yourself a favor and read it first, even though it’s not necessary, but your missing out, plus it does kinda lead into this one. Anyway, back to Perky. This is Mallory’s best friend, Persephone a.k.a Perky’s story. We met Perky in Fluffy, and she was cool and interesting. Maybe a little wild? Here we get the backstory of why she came back home five years ago. Her then-boyfriend, Parker took a picture of her in a compromising position, and even though she agreed to it, she didn’t okay him posting all over the internet. Needless to say, she and Parker were very much NOT an item after that. Parker denied culpability and kept on denying for five long years until the meetup and Mal and Will’s wedding rehearsal. Parker tries once more to apologize and Perky is having none of it, all she can think about is having her revenge on him. And it wouldn’t be hard work. The man is the Da Vinci’s ‘David’ of U.S Congressmen. He’s hot, sexy and still makes her lust for him. Perky’s problem, even though she hates him, she’s still totally in love with him too. But, revenge, whether served hot or cold, is never sweet in the end and while getting close, then repeatedly pushing him away, Perky finally hits rock bottom. She’s surrounded by good friends, a loving family. Parker just has his mom and an ex-girlfriend turned journalist who follows his every move and tries to dictate his protocol. But, if Parker didn’t do it, and Perky sure didn’t, who is the real culprit that has caused them, two tempestuous lovers, to be separated for five years? And is it too late for them to make things right? This was a funny, somewhat angsty and teeth-clenching, sweet, awesome story. A slow-burning, second chance/ near enemies to lovers tale of twisted lies and machinations behind the scenes. The build-up to the final chapters was fast-paced and well thought out. I truly enjoyed every moment of this book and now I’m left waiting for Feisty’s story.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Sign up for my newsletter -> eepurl.com/uxB4r


New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Julia Kent writes romantic comedy with an edge. Since 2013, she has sold more than 2 million books, with 4 New York Times bestsellers and more than 19 appearances on the USA Today bestseller list. Her books have been translated into French and German, with more titles releasing in 2019.


From billionaires to BBWs to new adult rock stars, Julia finds a sensual, goofy joy in every contemporary romance she writes. Unlike Shannon from Shopping for a Billionaire, she did not meet her husband after dropping her phone in a men's room toilet (and he isn't a billionaire she met in a romantic comedy).


She lives in New England with her husband and three children where she is the only person in the household with the gene required to change empty toilet paper rolls.


She loves to hear from her readers by email at jkentauthor@gmail.com, on Twitter @jkentauthor, on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/jkentauthor and on Instagram @jkentauthor  


Visit her at http://jkentauthor.com

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.