The Other Wife: Book 2

Sold by HarperCollins UK
Free sample

Don’t miss this sweeping historical epic, perfect for fans of Gill Paul and Dinah Jeffries.

Outback Australia, 1981

After a terrible childhood, Jane comes to Thornfield as nanny to the adorable Adele, watched over by the handsome and enigmatic Edward. Plain and inexperienced, Jane would never dream of being more than his hired help. But swept up in the dramatic beauty of the Outback, she finds herself drawn to Edward. And, to her surprise, he seems to return her feelings.

But Jane is not the first woman Edward has pledged to make mistress of Thornfield.

As a child, Betty was taken from her English home and sent for adoption in Australia. At first, no-one wanted her, deeming her hair too curly, and her skin too dark. Until the scheming Mr Mason sees a chance to use Betty to cement a relationship with the rich and powerful Rochester dynasty...

When Jane discovers Betty’s fate, will she still want to be the next Mrs Rochester?

Readers LOVE Juliet Bell:

‘I want to buy a copy for every book lover I know!’

‘A fantastically absorbing read’

‘It is gripping and dark and an absolute triumph!!’

‘Brilliantly done. Can’t wait for the next book!’

‘I would thoroughly recommend this book and have no hesitation in awarding it the richly deserved 5 stars.’

‘Edgy and compelling update of a classic’

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Juliet Bell is the collaborative pen name of respected authors Janet Gover and Alison May.
Juliet was born at a writers’ conference, with a chance remark about heroes who are far from heroic. She was raised on pizza and wine during many long working lunches, and finished her first novel over cloud storage and skype in 2017.
Juliet shares Janet and Alison’s preoccupation with misunderstood classic fiction, and stories that explore the darker side of relationships.
Alison also writes commercial women’s fiction and romantic comedies and can be found at www.alison-may.co.uk
Janet writes contemporary romantic adventures mostly set in outback Australia and can be found at www.janetgover.com

Read more
Collapse
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 9, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
384
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780008284503
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Classics
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.