Cruel Truth

· Cruel Book 4 · K.A. Linde
23 reviews

About this ebook

A second chance stand alone office romance from USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde...

Five years ago, Sam and I fell in love just as hard as we fell apart.

The last thing I expect is for him to walk into my office as the new legal counsel.

Now, I have to see him every single day. We vow to remain professional, but it's a small office. The sly glances and his blistering charm are unavoidable.

It all feels so familiar. Too comfortable. After what happened the last time...I should know better. If I'm not careful, he'll break my heart all over again.

But being with Sam is everything I've ever wanted.

Maybe it's worth giving my heart to him a second time.

Ratings and reviews

23 reviews
Rachael Leissner
February 4, 2020
This book, I am struggling with the words to reflect how I feel about The Lying Season. What Kyla has done with this Upper East Side world is simply profound, exciting and captivating! In The Lying Season we get Lark’s story. Lark was first seen in the Cruel series by K.A. Linde in 2019, and now gets her own spin off that. This book is a standalone but having read the Cruel series and the Record series, it elevated my reading experience beyond what I ever expected! Lark is working on the mayor’s reelection campaign in NYC and when her ex from five years ago walks back into her life, as legal counsel to the mayor, a flood of emotion and everything she ever felt about Sam comes back instantly. They plan to remain strictly professional, but when you only get one once in a lifetime love, and they slip away, can you truly vow to stay away? Their spark is more than just a spark that could ignite a fire. It is a spark that could engulf and destroy them all if they aren’t careful! “You can’t escape who you are, but you shouldn’t ignore who you want to become either.” “…I decided that I couldn’t be the person I was if I wanted to be the person I was meant to become.” We get to go back to the Upper East Side with Lark’s standalone and I can’t wait for the rest of the standalones to hit my kindle later this year. I need all their stories! These characters have all continued to grow in different ways from first meeting them and seeing what Kyla has planned for the remaining members of The Crew, I am beyond thrilled for each release planned this year! Going back brings up memories of Penn and Natalie’s story, as well as the other crew members we love to hate! Court, Katherine and Gavin all get books, bring on the next season!
Did you find this helpful?
Jeff Roberts
April 27, 2020
Lying Season by K.A. Linde is the first full length interconnected standalone story in her Seasons series. The full story of second chances and fated love when Larkin St Vincent and Sam Rutherford meet again in the re-election campaign offices for Mayor Kensington. After a bitter ending, Lark isn't sure how to handle seeing Sam again. She has all these feelings that she hasn't dealt with and seeing him brings everything back to the surface and leaves her feeling raw. Sam is living in New York, somewhere he didn't think he'd ever be, especially when Lark and he ended abruptly five years ago. But moving here with his girlfriend a couple of years ago placed him in New York and then his new job landed him in Larks world, once again. Angst-ridden, filled with emotion, heartbreak, passion, and pain, this story was a slow build to a great ending, and the perfect introduction to Lark's crew from the Upper East Side which we will meet more of in the upcoming books in this series. LOVED IT! Enjoy!
Did you find this helpful?
Gayathiri Chandrasekaran
February 5, 2020
The Lying season is a second chance romance about Lark St. Vincent!!! Lark is a successful campaign manager, currently working for the Mayor re-election campaign.. Though she is wealthy and from the Upper East side, Lark has worked hard to earn her place at work!! Lark is busy with her work and things are good until Sam Rutherford joins as a legal at her work place.. In the past, Lark and Sam fell in love, when they worked in a campaign together!! When their relationship went downhill, Lark got back to NYC while Sam took up Law. So, when Lark meets Sam after 5 years, she realizes that she has never been able to get over Sam and he seems to feel the same... But, with their past and the new challenges, will Sam n Lark be able to get together? I loved Lark. She was hard working, Independent and brings out the best in the people !! Sam was perfect for her and he just grew on me with the story!! I love all books of K.A Linde and this is no exception!! Iam so glad that we are getting books for the other characters too.. I cant wait to read them all!!
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

K.A. Linde is the USA Today bestselling author of the Avoiding Series, Wrights, and more than thirty other novels. She has a Masters degree in political science from the University of Georgia, was the head campaign worker for the 2012 presidential campaign at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and served as the head coach of the Duke University dance team. She loves reading fantasy novels, binge-watching Supernatural, traveling, and dancing in her spare time.

She currently lives in Lubbock, Texas, with her husband and two super-adorable puppies.

Visit her online at Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @authorkalinde.

Join her newsletter for exclusive content, free books, and giveaways every month.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.