Blind the Eyes

Snowmelt & Stumps
4
Free sample

In a drowned city where hope kills and dreams are deadly, one wrong thought can end your life. 

Teenaged outcast Cole is haunted by a trickster spirit, down to her last chance, and desperate to hide her macabre obsession with the corpses of the Mara-taken before she becomes one.

Luckily, she's still got one thing going for her: the last time she failed, the Mara devoured her dreams, but they didn't take her life. She gets to try again--and now that she no longer has the will to disobey, her odds of making the wrong choice and failing again are slim.

But when a charismatic stranger with unsettling gold eyes shows up claiming to know her and offering an unlikely proposal, he proves a dangerously tempting distraction. The body count is rising, and the ghost glued to her side isn't the only one with something to hide. 

When Cole uncovers the dark secret behind the Towers of Refuge and the monsters they claim to offer protection from, she abandons the life she knew to seek out allies in the glittering underworld. But with the dead piling up at every turn, can she untangle the lies and stop the dying before the nightmares eat her alive? 

A not-quite-alive girl and her not-quite-dead ghost discover trusted authorities lie, allies have their own agendas and even the monsters wear masks in a journey of betrayal, revenge, and finding the power to fight back. YA dark fantasy with echoes of This Savage Song, The Phantom of the Opera, and The Masque of the Red Death for fans of Brenna Yovanoff, Laini Taylor, and Melissa Marr. 

Read the atmospheric and twisty paranormal gothic horror-meets-dystopian action hit that made the NetGalley Most Requested Fantasy and Barnes & Noble Press's 25 Beach Reads for Your Summer Holiday lists today!
Read more

About the author

 K.A. Wiggins writes YA Fantasy with an edge for ages 14 and up at kawiggins.com  

Expect more blood than kissing. #monstersandmagic

Her debut novel, BLIND THE EYES, launched in 2018. Join the newsletter to get an exclusive free 5 chapter preview ebook and audiobook.

Kaie has been creating urban legends about witches in the back wood and fairies in the snow melt since she was seven years old. She writes prickly misfits challenging the borders of the mundane, inspired by current stars Brenna Yovanoff, Kendare Blake, and Laini Taylor, and fantasy legends J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and Madeleine L'Engle.

Born in Vancouver, BC, she freelances as a business writer and marketing consultant in the Pacific Northwest.
Read more
3.5
4 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Snowmelt & Stumps
Read more
Published on
Jun 1, 2018
Read more
Pages
300
Read more
ISBN
9781775162728
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Dystopian
Fiction / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Fantasy / Dragons & Mythical Creatures
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Fiction / Fantasy / Paranormal
Fiction / Fantasy / Urban
Fiction / Ghost
Fiction / Gothic
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Fiction / Romance / Fantasy
Fiction / Romance / Paranormal / General
Fiction / Science Fiction / Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Fiction / Urban
Young Adult Fiction / Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Young Adult Fiction / Coming of Age
Young Adult Fiction / Dystopian
Young Adult Fiction / Fairy Tales & Folklore / General
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / General
Young Adult Fiction / Ghost Stories
Young Adult Fiction / Girls & Women
Young Adult Fiction / Horror
Young Adult Fiction / Legends, Myths, Fables / General
Young Adult Fiction / Loners & Outcasts
Young Adult Fiction / Monsters
Young Adult Fiction / Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
Young Adult Fiction / People & Places / Canada
Young Adult Fiction / Romance / Paranormal
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Assimilation
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Death & Dying
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Depression
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Eating Disorders & Body Image
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / New Experience
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Peer Pressure
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Physical & Emotional Abuse
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” —New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” —New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” —Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” —Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.