Then You Happened: A Small-Town, Emotional, Enemies to Lovers, Western Romance about Second Chances

· JKB Publishing, LLC
4.8
24 reviews
Ebook
330
Pages

About this ebook

From New York Times Bestselling author K. Bromberg comes a standalone contemporary romance about trusting fate and finding yourself again.


Jack Sutton was the man I didn’t want to need. 

His know-it-all attitude. His annoying suggestions. His outlook on life.

He was determined to help me while I had resolved to figure it out on my own. 

But he taught me things I’d forgotten. 

How to trust. How to believe in myself. Who I was.

The problem

I went and fell in love with him. 

---

Tatum Knox was the disaster I should have walked away from.

Her ruined reputation. Her failing business. Her chaotic life. 

She hated me at first sight and yet intrigued me all at the same time.  

I was only supposed to be there six months. 

I was supposed to use that time to make amends for things I’d done wrong. 

Instead I fell in love with her.

---

They say it’s better to have loved and lost, than not to have loved at all. Does that hold true when the love is based on a lie to begin with?


Read what others are saying about New York Times bestselling author, K. Bromberg:

“. . . riveting, sexy and pulsing with energy. And I can't wait for more!" - Lauren Blakely, #1 NYT bestsellingauthor

An irresistibly hot romance that stays with you long after you finish the book.” - Jennifer L. Armentrout, # 1 NYT bestselling author 

Captivating, emotional, and sizzling hot!” — S. C. Stephens , #1 NYT bestselling author

Bromberg is a master at turning up the heat!”  — Katy Evans, NYT bestselling author

K. Bromberg is the master of making hearts race and pulses pound.” — Jay Crownover, NYT bestsellingauthor 

She has the most delicious heroes in the book world! A master storyteller!!” — Pepper Winters, NYTbestselling author 

K. Bromberg writes the perfect romance, packed with steam, sizzle, and soul. — Ella James, USA Todaybestselling author 

"Super charged heat and full of heart. Bromberg aces it from the first page to the last." – Kylie Scott, NYTbestselling author

Bromberg reminds you why this series was the phenomenon it is. Sexy, heartwarming, and so much more.” – Corinne Michaels, NYT bestselling author

". . . everything you want in a romance; sexy, sweet, and amazingly perfect." —KL Grayson, USA Today bestselling author

". . . everything you’ve ever wanted in a romance. Simply unputdownable." – Helena Hunting, NYT bestsellingauthor


Topics: contemporary romance, small town, second chance, friends to lovers, series, romantic series, women’s fiction, romance saga, romantic small town, series starter, first in series, romance series, romance saga, romantic family saga, new york times bestseller romance, NYT romance, new york times romance, sexy, heartwarming, sports romance, heart-warming, family, love, love books, kissing books, emotional journey, captivating romance, emotional, healing, hot, hot romance, forbidden love, sparks, loyalty, swoon, K. Bromberg romance, funny romance, modern romance, new release, office romance, forbidden romance, boy band, older in life, childhood crush, friends to lovers, one night stand, second chance romance, hidden romance, strong alpha, alpha hero, family business, strong female lead, strong heroine, family secrets, top romance reads, best seller, emotional romance, family romance, Driven series


Perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Nicholas Sparks, Maya Banks, Penelope Sky, Kendall Ryan, Kennedy Fox, Lexi Blake, EL James, Carrie Ann Ryan, Lani Lynn Vale, Chelle Bliss, Sarina Bowen, Penelope Ward, Nora Roberts, Marie Force, Melanie Harlow, Corinne Michaels, Laurelin Paige, Lauren Blakely, Lexy Ryan, Audrey Carlan, Melissa Foster, Kristen Proby, Devney Perry, Susan Stoker, Tessa Bailey, Jana Aston, Sally Thorne, Christina Lauren, Kristan Higgins, Elle Kennedy, Anna Todd, Debbie Macomber, Robyn Carr, Julia Kent, Sylvia Day, K.A. Linde, Catherine Cowles, Jill Shalvis, J. Daniels, Jessica Hawkins, Rachel VanDyken, Jodi Ellen Malpas, L.J. Shen, Natasha Madison, Kylie Scott, Kennedy Ryan

4.8
24 reviews
Emma Davies
February 10, 2020
Then You Happened is a compulsive, emotional read filled with character development and the ways in which adversity shapes our identities. Tate is a surprising character, growing from naive young adult to independent, determined horse breeder. Sadly the path she had to take to get there was filled with a large number of tragedies along the way. Having left a wealthy family where she didn’t conform to their expectations; Tate had stars in her eyes to go along with her first love. Disowned by her family, Tate puts her own dreams aside in order to pursue that of her husband, Fletcher’s. Unfortunately, Fletcher was not the person she thought he was; deliberately isolating Tate from the local community while simultaneously feeding the gossip mill in order to disguise his own failures and addictions. The truth is only revealed following Fletcher’s untimely death thrusting Tate into the deep end of the pool of poop Fletcher has left their finances in. However, Tate is far stronger than she thinks although the depth of her problems is beyond anyone facing them alone. Jack has his own fair share of regrets, he has applied to work for Tate in order to fulfill a promise he has made, although this is not uncovered until much later within the story. Jack recognises Tate’s strength even when she doesn’t, as well as being insanely attracted to her. Initially their behaviour to each other is antagonistic, while they both fight against their chemistry and their lack of trust in their fellow humans. As they work side by side they can’t help but develop feelings to accompany their attraction. Even though they have an expiration date to their time together, Tate and Jack fall hard and fast. There are a number of other issues throughout the plot which add depth to the struggle Tate has faced in a small town. I loved the way in which Jack was able to assist Tate with her struggles without taking over completely, he empowered her to become the woman she was meant to be. Sadly, there was one more secret Jack had that could jeopardize everything he had with Tate. If you put the pieces together it is plain to see the direction of this secret, however, you will need to read Then You Happened to find out if Jack and Tate get the happily ever after they deserve together 💕
Brigid Brown
February 3, 2020
Honestly, K. Bromberg had me at the dedication.... "This book is dedicated to the broken ones: To the person with a broken heart. To the reader whose trust has been broken. To the woman feeling broken because she lost sight of who she was for a moment. You’re not alone." K. Bromberg (part of the dedication) She hooked me there and didn't let go until the last word. Tate and Jack's story isn't easy. Tate has been emotionally hurt, broken to a point even. But she is strong. She's left to pick up the pieces and save a dream that wasn't even hers. Jack is a bit lost himself. He's made a promise to his dying father. It turned out to not be as simple as he thought it. K. Bromberg has this way of developing characters with such depth, with flaws and with feeling. You can't help but love them, cry for and celebrate the victories. I absolutely loved watching their fight for their HEA. It was beautiful and poignant.
Jackie Wright
January 27, 2020
4.5 Stars for Then You Happened This is a great enemies to lovers romance set in a small town full of noisy residents who are more than happy to gossip about the newly widowed Tate and her new sexy ranch manager Jack. I have to be honest this book took me a few chapters to really get into but I’m so glad I persevered because as this couple got to know each other I found myself wanting more from Jack and Tate. On the face of it this couple should not be attracted to each other, Jack is only at the ranch to help Tate after her husband passed away and he is hiding secrets that could destroy a friendship let alone a romance ....... This book really touched me on so many levels once I got into the plot I found I couldn’t put this book down, I needed to know what happened when the secrets came out. This is an emotional beautifully written love story, it’s sweet yet sexy with some gut-twisting, heartbreaking moments, I loved the characters and the witty banter they shared and I ended up wanting more from this small town and it’s residents.

About the author

New York Times Bestselling author K. Bromberg writes contemporary romance novels that contain a mixture of sweet, emotional, a whole lot of sexy, and a little bit of real. She likes to write strong heroines and damaged heroes who we love to hate but can’t help to love.


A mom of three, she plots her novels in between school runs and soccer practices, more often than not with her laptop in tow and her mind scattered in too many different directions. 


Since publishing her first book on a whim in 2013, Kristy has sold over one and a half million copies of her books across eighteen different countries and has landed on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestsellers lists over thirty times. Her Driven trilogy (Driven, Fueled, and Crashed) is currently being adapted for film by the streaming platform, Passionflix, with the first movie (Driven) out now.


With her imagination always in overdrive, she is currently scheming, plotting, and swooning over her latest hero. You can find out more about him or chat with Kristy on any of her social media accounts. The easiest way to stay up to date on new releases and upcoming novels is to sign up for her newsletter (http://bit.ly/254MWtI) or follow her on Bookbub (http://smarturl.it/KBrombergBB)


Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.