La moglie sbagliata

«Un debutto eccellente. Un ritratto di famiglia straordinario.»
Publishers Weekly

«Energico, fresco e, sorprendentemente saggio, vista la giovane età dell’autore. Ogni pagina del romanzo meriterebbe di essere citata, ciascuna frase scoppietta di acume, colpisce i sensi del lettore con odori, luce, e calore.»
San Francisco Chronicle

Rakesh Ahuja è seduto nella tenda matrimoniale e aspetta la futura sposa. L’ha vista solo una volta, quando è andato a incontrarla nella casa dei suoi genitori. Ma non appena la ragazza si accomoda accanto a lui, dietro le frange d’oro Rakesh scorge occhi diversi da quelli della donna che aveva scelto. Rakesh è come paralizzato, ma sa che ormai è tardi per tirarsi indietro, il disonore sarebbe troppo grande. I due girano intorno al fuoco rituale: ora sono marito e moglie e si dovranno amare.

Molti anni sono passati da quel giorno e, nonostante tutto, tredici figli si sono susseguiti uno dietro l’altro. Tredici bambini che combattono senza sosta per avere le attenzioni di un padre spesso assente. Un padre che si dedica con maggiore impegno alla sua carica di ministro dello Sviluppo urbano e alla costruzione dei cavalcavia che stanno invadendo New Delhi, piuttosto che allo sciame di ragazzini che lo insegue ogni mattina. L’unico per cui Rakesh è disposto a fare un’eccezione è Arjun,  il più grande, un sedicenne ribelle negli occhi del quale Rakesh rivede il fuoco di un amore segreto, un amore di cui nessuno più si ricorda, tranne lui.

Read more

About the author

Karan Mahajan è nato nel 1984 ed è cresciuto a New Delhi. Laureato alla Stanford University, vive negli Stati Uniti.

Read more

Reviews

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Garzanti
Read more
Published on
Jul 19, 2017
Read more
Pages
238
Read more
ISBN
9788811148418
Read more
Language
Italian
Read more
Genres
Fiction / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Karan Mahajan
Auf der Litrom-Bestenliste »Weltempfänger« Winter 2017/18 »Eins der 25 wichtigsten Bücher der Saison.« Spiegel-Online »Eins der 10 besten Bücher des Jahres.« New York Times Das Buch Die Khurana-Brüder schlendern zusammen mit ihrem Schulkameraden Mansoor Ahmed über einen gut besuchten Markt in Delhi. Ohne Vorwarnung kommt es zur Katastrophe: Neben ihnen explodiert eine Bombe – eine der vielen »kleinen« Bomben, die von der Welt kaum beachtet werden – und reißt die Khurana-Brüder in den Tod. Mansoor überlebt, doch der Bombenanschlag hinterlässt Spuren an Körper und Seele. Nach einem kurzen Aufenthalt an einer amerikanischen Universität kehrt Mansoor nach Delhi zurück, wo seine Suche nach einem Platz im Leben immer radikalere Formen annimmt ... Eng verwoben mit der Geschichte der Familien Khurana und Ahmed ist die des kaschmirischen Bombenbauers Shockie, der bereit ist, sein Leben für die Unabhängigkeit seines Vaterlands zu opfern. Karan Mahajans Roman ist außergewöhnlich komponiert: Er beginnt buchstäblich mit dem großen Knall – und zeichnet dann die vielen Druckwellen nach, die die Bombenexplosion bei allen Beteiligten ausgelöst hat: Welche Auswirkungen hat ein solcher Terrorakt auf die Betroffenen? Auf die Angehörigen? Auf die Gesellschaft? Wie werden Menschen zu Terroristen? Mahajan nähert sich differenziert, originell und nicht ohne Humor einigen der wichtigsten Fragen unserer Zeit. Warum es uns gefällt Karan Mahajan schreibt lebendig und originell über die Auswirkungen des Terrorismus auf Opfer und Täter. Einer der relevantesten literarischen Beiträge zu einem der wichtigsten Themen unserer Zeit. Pressestimmen Deutschland (Auswahl) »Schonungslos und voller Mitgefühl porträtiert Karan Mahajan einen Bombenanschlag in Delhi ... Der Autor zeichnet seine Bilder mit enormer sprachlicher Präzision und scharfsinnigem Witz.» Jana Volkmann, Buchkultur »Karan Mahajans Roman ist sprachgewaltig, aufwühlend und spannend ...« Jörg E. Mayer, Deutschlandfunk »Mahajan stellt einen Link her zwischen allen, die mit so einem Anschlag zu tun haben. Die Wirkung ist erstaunlich: Der Terror verliert Glanz und Gloria seines demonstrativen Nihilismus, er steht nackt da und stumm in seiner ganzen Erbärmlichkeit – sein Schrecken verpufft.« Ulrich Noller, WDR »Eine bestechende Erkundung über die Natur der Bombe ... « Claudia Kramatschek, NZZ »Karan Mahajan erzählt bewundernswert real von den Auswirkungen eines Anschlags aus Sicht von Opfern und Tätern.« NDR
Karan Mahajan
National Book Award Finalist
Winner of the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award
Winner of the American Academy of Arts & Letters Rosenthal Family Foundation Award
Winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Award
Winner of the Bard Fiction Prize
One of the New York Times Book Review’s Ten Best Books of the Year
One of Granta’s Best Young American Novelists
A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of the Year
PEN Center USA Literary Award Finalist for Fiction
Shortlisted for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 
Longlisted for the FT/Oppenheimer Emerging Voices Award

Named a Best Book of the Year by: Buzzfeed, Esquire, New York magazine, The Huffington Post, The Guardian, The AV Club, The Fader, Redbook, Electric Literature, Book Riot, Bustle, Good magazine, PureWow, and PopSugar

“Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable. . . . I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste.” —Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review

“Brilliant.” —Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal

“[Mahajan’s] eagerness to go at the bomb from every angle suggests a voracious approach to fiction-making.” —The New Yorker

For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope

When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family’s television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb—one of the many “small” bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world—detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland.
 
Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.