The Association of Small Bombs: A Novel

Sold by Penguin
11
Free sample

National Book Award Finalist
Winner of the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award
Winner of the American Academy of Arts & Letters Rosenthal Family Foundation Award
Winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Award
Winner of the Bard Fiction Prize
One of the New York Times Book Review’s Ten Best Books of the Year
One of Granta’s Best Young American Novelists

A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of the Year
PEN Center USA Literary Award Finalist for Fiction
Simpson Family Literary Prize Finalist
Shortlisted for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 
Longlisted for the FT/Oppenheimer Emerging Voices Award

Named a Best Book of the Year by: Buzzfeed, Esquire, New York magazine, The Huffington Post, The GuardianThe AV Club, The FaderRedbookElectric Literature, Book Riot, Bustle, Good magazinePureWow, and PopSugar

“Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable. . . . I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste.” —Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review

“Brilliant.” Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal

“[Mahajan’s] eagerness to go at the bomb from every angle suggests a voracious approach to fiction-making.” The New Yorker

For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope


When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family’s television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb—one of the many “small” bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world—detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland.
 
Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.

Read more

About the author

Karan Mahajan was born in 1984 and grew up in New Delhi, India. His first novel, Family Planning, was a finalist for the Dylan Thomas Prize and published in nine countries. His writing has appeared in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, NPR’s All Things Considered, The New Yorker online, The Believer, The Paris Review Daily, and Bookforum. A graduate of Stanford University and the Michener Center for Writers, he lives in Austin, Texas.


From the Hardcover edition.
Read more
4.2
11 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Penguin
Read more
Published on
Mar 22, 2016
Read more
Pages
256
Read more
ISBN
9780698407060
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Family Life
Fiction / Literary
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
FINALIST for the PULITZER PRIZE
LONG-LISTED for the NATIONAL BOOK AWARD
WINNER of the LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE
FINALIST for the NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD
FINALIST for the KIRKUS PRIZE
LONG-LISTED for the ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL

TOP 10 NOVELS OF THE YEAR -- TIME, Wall Street Journal, San Francisco Chronicle, BBC, Newsday

ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: Barnes & Noble, BookPage, BuzzFeed, Elle, Financial Times, Huffington Post, Kirkus, NPR, Refinery29, Seattle Times, Shelf Awareness, WBUR's On Point

"Haslett is one of the country's most talented writers, equipped with a sixth sense for characterization" --Wall Street Journal

"Ambitious and stirring . . . With Imagine Me Gone, Haslett has reached another level." --New York Times Book Review

From a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award finalist, a ferociously intimate story of a family facing the ultimate question: how far will we go to save the people we love the most?

When Margaret's fiancé, John, is hospitalized for depression in 1960s London, she faces a choice: carry on with their plans despite what she now knows of his condition, or back away from the suffering it may bring her. She decides to marry him. Imagine Me Gone is the unforgettable story of what unfolds from this act of love and faith. At the heart of it is their eldest son, Michael, a brilliant, anxious music fanatic who makes sense of the world through parody. Over the span of decades, his younger siblings -- the savvy and responsible Celia and the ambitious and tightly controlled Alec -- struggle along with their mother to care for Michael's increasingly troubled and precarious existence.

Told in alternating points of view by all five members of the family, this searing, gut-wrenching, and yet frequently hilarious novel brings alive with remarkable depth and poignancy the love of a mother for her children, the often inescapable devotion siblings feel toward one another, and the legacy of a father's pain in the life of a family.

With his striking emotional precision and lively, inventive language, Adam Haslett has given us something rare: a novel with the power to change how we see the most important people in our lives.
Winner of the 2016 Man Booker International Prize

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • Publisher's Weekly •  Buzzfeed •  Entertainment Weekly •  Time •  Wall Street Journal •  Bustle •  Elle •  The Economist •  Slate •  The Huffington Post • The St. Louis Dispatch •  Electric Literature

Featured in the New York Times selection of "15 remarkable books by women that are shaping the way we read and write fiction in the 21st century" 

A beautiful, unsettling novel about rebellion and taboo, violence and eroticism, and the twisting metamorphosis of a soul
 
Before the nightmares began, Yeong-hye and her husband lived an ordinary, controlled life. But the dreams—invasive images of blood and brutality—torture her, driving Yeong-hye to purge her mind and renounce eating meat altogether. It’s a small act of independence, but it interrupts her marriage and sets into motion an increasingly grotesque chain of events at home. As her husband, her brother-in-law and sister each fight to reassert their control, Yeong-hye obsessively defends the choice that’s become sacred to her. Soon their attempts turn desperate, subjecting first her mind, and then her body, to ever more intrusive and perverse violations, sending Yeong-hye spiraling into a dangerous, bizarre estrangement, not only from those closest to her, but also from herself.
 
Celebrated by critics around the world, The Vegetarian is a darkly allegorical, Kafka-esque tale of power, obsession, and one woman’s struggle to break free from the violence both without and within her.
Auf der Litrom-Bestenliste »Weltempfänger« Winter 2017/18 »Eins der 25 wichtigsten Bücher der Saison.« Spiegel-Online »Eins der 10 besten Bücher des Jahres.« New York Times Das Buch Die Khurana-Brüder schlendern zusammen mit ihrem Schulkameraden Mansoor Ahmed über einen gut besuchten Markt in Delhi. Ohne Vorwarnung kommt es zur Katastrophe: Neben ihnen explodiert eine Bombe – eine der vielen »kleinen« Bomben, die von der Welt kaum beachtet werden – und reißt die Khurana-Brüder in den Tod. Mansoor überlebt, doch der Bombenanschlag hinterlässt Spuren an Körper und Seele. Nach einem kurzen Aufenthalt an einer amerikanischen Universität kehrt Mansoor nach Delhi zurück, wo seine Suche nach einem Platz im Leben immer radikalere Formen annimmt ... Eng verwoben mit der Geschichte der Familien Khurana und Ahmed ist die des kaschmirischen Bombenbauers Shockie, der bereit ist, sein Leben für die Unabhängigkeit seines Vaterlands zu opfern. Karan Mahajans Roman ist außergewöhnlich komponiert: Er beginnt buchstäblich mit dem großen Knall – und zeichnet dann die vielen Druckwellen nach, die die Bombenexplosion bei allen Beteiligten ausgelöst hat: Welche Auswirkungen hat ein solcher Terrorakt auf die Betroffenen? Auf die Angehörigen? Auf die Gesellschaft? Wie werden Menschen zu Terroristen? Mahajan nähert sich differenziert, originell und nicht ohne Humor einigen der wichtigsten Fragen unserer Zeit. Warum es uns gefällt Karan Mahajan schreibt lebendig und originell über die Auswirkungen des Terrorismus auf Opfer und Täter. Einer der relevantesten literarischen Beiträge zu einem der wichtigsten Themen unserer Zeit. Pressestimmen Deutschland (Auswahl) »Schonungslos und voller Mitgefühl porträtiert Karan Mahajan einen Bombenanschlag in Delhi ... Der Autor zeichnet seine Bilder mit enormer sprachlicher Präzision und scharfsinnigem Witz.» Jana Volkmann, Buchkultur »Karan Mahajans Roman ist sprachgewaltig, aufwühlend und spannend ...« Jörg E. Mayer, Deutschlandfunk »Mahajan stellt einen Link her zwischen allen, die mit so einem Anschlag zu tun haben. Die Wirkung ist erstaunlich: Der Terror verliert Glanz und Gloria seines demonstrativen Nihilismus, er steht nackt da und stumm in seiner ganzen Erbärmlichkeit – sein Schrecken verpufft.« Ulrich Noller, WDR »Eine bestechende Erkundung über die Natur der Bombe ... « Claudia Kramatschek, NZZ »Karan Mahajan erzählt bewundernswert real von den Auswirkungen eines Anschlags aus Sicht von Opfern und Tätern.« NDR
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.