The Cafe at Seashell Cove: A heartwarming laugh out loud romantic comedy

· Bookouture
4.0
11 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

‘I about fell out of my chair laughing… Hysterical… One of my favorite authors… Perfect… So many laughs my sides were sore after reading!… Hilarious.’ Novel Gossip, 5 stars

 

When Cassie Maitland needs a holiday from her glamorous but stressful job in event management, she escapes home to gorgeous Seashell Cove, where her family’s cosy café sits perched on the cliffs above sparkling waves and golden sand.

 

But a lot has changed while Cassie’s been away: her parents have transformed their tired café into a welcoming haven, her friends Meg and Tilly have whole new lives, and old flame Danny’s twinkling eyes and winning smile make Cassie feel even more flustered than they used to.

 

Keen to throw herself back into local life, Cassie starts to run themed events – including a not entirely successful cat-café day, complete with dozens of felines. Luckily Danny is always around to lend a helping hand, and Cassie soon begins to wonder if her life in London was really all she made it out to be…

 

Could a new start in Seashell Cove be exactly what Cassie needs?

 

A heart-warming and hilarious read about friendship, belonging and seaside living. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Holly Martin and Jenny Oliver.

 

Read what everyone is saying about The Café at Seashell Cove:

 

Words cannot express how much I enjoyed this novel, it was so easy to read, light-hearted and hilarious that I couldn't put it down… I would 110% recommend this book. It's the perfect story to get you excited for summer… It left me feeling all warm inside.’ The Cosiest Corner, 5 stars

 

‘I loved this book so much I devoured it in one sitting… You will find yourself gasping out loud and laughing… Excellent read.’ Shaz’s Book Blog

 

Absolutely fantastic… I couldn’t help but laugh… A perfect break from reality!’ Chells and Books, 5 stars

 

Totally amazing… So heart-warming while funny as well… An excellent book from the first page, has you hooked and so well written. I highly recommend reading this.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

Fabulous… With every book I read of Karen Clarke's she is becoming a firm favourite of mine… This is a warm-hearted, uplifting story of family, romance, and of being true to yourself and I would recommend it to anyone.’ Rachel’s Random Reads, 5 stars

 

‘To say I was excited to receive this book was the understatement of the year! I’ve read all of Karen’s books and have loved every one of them! This one was no exception… A very funny book!... An absolutely perfect story to lounge around on the beach with… Fantastic!’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

I laughed out loud… A truly beautiful, cosy and touching novel… It will leave you feeling the most loved person in the world.’ The Writing Garnet, 5 stars

 

I absolutely loved it… Fantastic.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

Heart-warming, funny, and utterly charming.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘A really funny, sweet, romantic book by Karen which you won't regret picking up… You'll be sure to enjoy this read, especially on the beach in the summer!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘A feel-good novel that I really enjoyed reading. I will definitely need to check out this author's other books.’ Bookworm Corner

 

I didn’t want to put it down… Delightful.’ Fabulous Book Fiend

 

‘Funny and cosy… Strongly recommended.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘A really fun summer read.’ Twitter review, 5 stars

Ratings and reviews

4.0
11 reviews
Gaele Hi
March 26, 2018
Cassie has returned home to Seashell Cove with a big secret, plenty of questions and a determination to reframe her life. She used the last bit of her trek from London to gather her thoughts – and surprises her parents in a topless clinch on the sofa. Aside from the “ick” factor – this scene gives a peek into the connection and affection her parents share: something she longs for. But – there’s more to Cassie’s return than she’s let on. Fired from a prestigious event management company in London, her life, despite the highlights she shared (and perhaps played up) with her parents was one long round of stress, struggles and ultimately, disappointment. Sure, she was good at her job, mostly, but she wasn’t in love with the work or even able to see the point most of the time. Now with that black mark on her resume, she’s going to find event management, and London, unwelcoming unless she has a list of proven successes to bring with her. Deciding that her parent’s little café is the perfect option to use her ‘help’ as she is determined to make her mark by planning evenings at the café with different themes: tastings, cat days, game nights, even comedy: all intended to bring in new customers and boost the bottom line. From the start, Cassie’s character was difficult for me: the fact she was hiding so much from everyone, and her desperation to forge ahead with her plans, with no thought to anyone else’s wishes or desires. Sure, she means well, but her own tone-deafness to those around her just seemed to give her an extra dose of immaturity and cluelessness as to what she actually is accomplishing. Fortunately, Clarke manages to offset Cassie’s problematic moments with some wonderful characters: her Nan in the midst of a ‘back to nature clear-out’ is adorably quirky, her brother, now back in school with a new focus on life and moving forward, her parents: loving and so beautifully drawn and so determined that their children will not be “stuck” as they were. Lastly there are Cassie’s school friends and a leaving-year crush… her friends have been back in town with one leading walking tours when the mood strikes, the other engaged and splitting her work time between the bakery next door and her parent’s café: then there’s Danny, seeming to be everywhere and a dab hand at everything, much to Cassie’s discomfiture. Round and round the story goes: Cassie is stuck on her own merry go round of secrets, ambitions, desires and dreads, and only manages to get off that ride when circumstances force her to adapt. From Danny putting her artwork on the café walls, to a liquor fueled confession and the offer of a “dream job” in London from the man she was just starting to date, the story kept me reading and wondering: for if ever there was a character that could invent difficulties for herself, Cassie is she. And it was interesting to see how Clarke managed to keep her sympathetic and show all of her reasons (even if arrived at wrongly) that kept her from being honest with her family and friends, and her own struggles with the word success, and just what that means. Clarke managed to make this story one of reframing a life with the help of family, friends and the potential of new romance: and give Cassie, even in her difficult moments, a future she deserved. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Did you find this helpful?
Pam Young
October 29, 2022
not the right book for me. Mills and Boon type story with a very selfish main character. But was drawn in as the opening chapter was novel.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.