A Map of the Dark

The Searchers

Book 1
Sold by Mulholland Books
9
Free sample

To save a missing girl, FBI Agent Elsa Myers may have to lose herself...
"I absolutely love when I find a new mystery series to follow and enjoy!... I just couldn't stop reading... I loved the characters and want more! 4 out of 5 stars." Booked on a Feeling
Even as her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, FBI Agent Elsa Myers can't ignore a call for help. A teenage girl has disappeared from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads obscures the fact that she did not go willingly.
As the hours tick by, and the search becomes a hunt for a man who may have been killing for years, Elsa's carefully compartmentalized world collapses around her. She finds missing people, but she knows too well how it feels to be lost. Everything she has buried--her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death--threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.
Can our most painful childhood secrets be forgotten? Or will they always find their way back into our adult lives? These questions lie at the heart of A Map of the Dark, a riveting portrait of a woman haunted by her family legacy, and a race-against-time thriller. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Megan Abbott, and Lisa Gardner.
What readers are saying about A Map of the Dark:
"This book was so good on so many levels.... Fantastic read, highly recommended." For The Love Of Books
"Loved this! A Map of the Dark has a super lead character who harnesses her own demons in order to help solve the case of three missing girls. I couldn't get up from my chair until I'd read it all!" Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars
"Sometimes you find, amidst all the 'new and wonderful series' a book that marks the start of a series you think you will really like. This is such a book... It even brought a tear to my eyes. And it is not every day that I read a book that has this effect on me." Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars
"Wow, this was such a fast paced read... A Map of the Dark is an exciting start to a new series which I will certainly be keeping an eye on." Hooked From Page One
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Novelist Karen Ellis lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her family. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America and International Thriller Writers.
Read more
Collapse
3.8
9 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Mulholland Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 2, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
304
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780316505673
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Her eyes are wide open. Her lips parted as if to speak. Her dead body frozen in the ice. She is not the only one.

When a young boy discovers the body of a woman beneath a thick sheet of ice in a South London park, Detective Erika Foster is called in to lead the murder investigation.

The victim, a beautiful young socialite, appeared to have the perfect life. Yet when Erika begins to dig deeper, she starts to connect the dots between the murder and the killings of three prostitutes, all found strangled, hands bound and dumped in water around London.

What dark secrets is the girl in the ice hiding?

As Erika inches closer to uncovering the truth, the killer is closing in on Erika.

The last investigation Erika led went badly wrong, resulting in the death of her husband. With her career hanging by a thread, Erika must now battle her own personal demons as well as a killer more deadly than any she's faced before. But will she get to him before he strikes again?

A page-turning thriller packed with suspense. If you like Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter, discover Rob Bryndza's new series today at a special launch price.

Watch out for more from DCI Erika Foster.

She's fearless. Respected. Unstoppable. Detective Erika Foster will catch a killer, whatever it takes.

1. THE GIRL IN THE ICE

2. THE NIGHT STALKER COMING SOON

What people are saying about The Girl in the Ice

'I freakin' LOVED it! . . . Once in a while a book stops you in your tracks . . . this is THAT book!' Crime Book Junkie

'I loved, loved, loved this book and Erika Foster is most definitely my kind of heroine. She is smart, tenacious, direct and passionateI found the writing tight, evocative and enthralling. I CAN NOT wait for the next installment.' Angela Marsons

'A non-stop, edge-of-your-seat, rollercoaster of a thriller! The ending, oh the ending! My mind is still blown! This book does not disappoint!' The Book Addicted Boy

'Oh my gosh!...gripping, grimy, hardcore, thrilling. I was hooked!!!...I loved this bookYou Have GOT To Read This!' A Page of Fictional Love

'An intriguing web of lies, secrets and suspense. I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Foster and am already looking forward to the next book.' Mel Sherratt

'A compelling read once you've started, it's hard to put down.' Rachel Abbott

'Hands-down, one of the most exciting, dramatic, tense and compelling thrillers that I think I have ever read.' Bookaholic Confessions

'Absolute perfection!Boy are there some sharp turns! There were a few moments when I felt like I had it all figured out and I was so wrong! Fantastic book!' The Eternal Optimist

'The Girl In The Ice is a brilliantly clever crime thrillerHad me hurtling at full speed, until WHAM!!!! with an ending that just totally blew me away! An absolute must read for all you crime fanatics out there.' By The Letter Book Reviews

'Engaging, thought provoking, full of suspense this is one murder mystery you won't want to miss.' Erisea Magazine

'With a great plot that really digs into the depths of human nature and some fascinating characters that really were excessive shades of light and darkThe book keeps you guessing and on edge, you will think you have it ALL worked out, but the twisty reveal was very impressive, loved it.' Book Lover Cat Lady

'I found myself racing through the chapters. It has plenty of twists and turns, with enough red herrings to keep the reader captivated to the very last page, it's addictive, compulsive and much more.' The Book Review Caf_

For courses in reading electrocardiograms


This conversational text teaches EKG from basic to advanced concepts
Unlike books that encourage rote memorization, the conversationally-written EKG Plain and Simple puts the student at the patient’s bedside. This popular text focuses not just on identifying rhythms or EKGs, but also on what can be done for the patient. Assuming no prior knowledge, the text covers basic to advanced EKG concepts. Part I progresses seamlessly from basic cardiac A&P through waves and complexes, lead morphology, and rhythms. Part II covers 12-lead interpretation, axis, hypertrophy, myocardial infarction, and more. The author provides many clinical scenarios, anecdotes, and critical-thinking exercises, plus over 500 practice rhythm strips and 12-lead EKGs. The Fourth Edition has been updated to include improved opening scenarios, streamlined explanations, new tables, and more photos, art, and visual aids.


Also available with MyHealthProfessionsLab
Now available packaged with the Fourth Edition of EKG Plain and Simple , MyHealthProfessionsLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. No matter their learning style, students will gain a solid foundation in EKG interpretation through pre-built homework assignments, interactive case studies with assessments, animations, videos, and more! Practice CCT and CET exams provide a true-to-life experience that prepares students for their certification exams. Within MyHealthProfessionsLab’s structured environment, students gain knowledge that will carry through to their professional careers.


Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyHealthProfessionsLab does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyHealthProfessionsLab , ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyHealthProfessionsLab, search for:


9780134627243 / 0134627245 EKG Plain and Simple Plus NEW MyHealthProfessionsLab with Pearson eText--Access Card Package, 4/e contains:

9780134525051 / 0134525051 EKG Plain and Simple 9780134525495/ 0134525493 MyHealthProfessionsLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for EKG Plain and Simple
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.