A Map of the Dark

Sold by Mulholland Books
Free sample

A race-against-time thriller for fans of Tana French and Megan Abbott: to save a missing girl, FBI Agent Elsa Myers may have to lose herself...

Even as her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, FBI Agent Elsa Myers can't ignore a call for help. A teenage girl has disappeared from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads obscures the fact that she did not go willingly.

With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, Elsa's carefully compartmentalized world collapses around her. She finds missing people, but she knows too well how it feels to be lost. Everything she has buried--her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death--threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.

Can our most painful childhood secrets be forgotten? Or will they always find their way back into our adult lives? These questions lie at the heart of A Map of the Dark, a riveting portrait of a woman haunted by her family legacy, and a race-against-time thriller.
Read more

Reviews

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Mulholland Books
Read more
Published on
Jan 2, 2018
Read more
Pages
304
Read more
ISBN
9780316505673
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Karen Ellis
For courses in reading electrocardiograms


This conversational text teaches EKG from basic to advanced concepts
Unlike books that encourage rote memorization, the conversationally-written EKG Plain and Simple puts the student at the patient’s bedside. This popular text focuses not just on identifying rhythms or EKGs, but also on what can be done for the patient. Assuming no prior knowledge, the text covers basic to advanced EKG concepts. Part I progresses seamlessly from basic cardiac A&P through waves and complexes, lead morphology, and rhythms. Part II covers 12-lead interpretation, axis, hypertrophy, myocardial infarction, and more. The author provides many clinical scenarios, anecdotes, and critical-thinking exercises, plus over 500 practice rhythm strips and 12-lead EKGs. The Fourth Edition has been updated to include improved opening scenarios, streamlined explanations, new tables, and more photos, art, and visual aids.


Also available with MyHealthProfessionsLab
Now available packaged with the Fourth Edition of EKG Plain and Simple , MyHealthProfessionsLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. No matter their learning style, students will gain a solid foundation in EKG interpretation through pre-built homework assignments, interactive case studies with assessments, animations, videos, and more! Practice CCT and CET exams provide a true-to-life experience that prepares students for their certification exams. Within MyHealthProfessionsLab’s structured environment, students gain knowledge that will carry through to their professional careers.


Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyHealthProfessionsLab does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyHealthProfessionsLab , ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyHealthProfessionsLab, search for:


9780134627243 / 0134627245 EKG Plain and Simple Plus NEW MyHealthProfessionsLab with Pearson eText--Access Card Package, 4/e contains:

9780134525051 / 0134525051 EKG Plain and Simple 9780134525495/ 0134525493 MyHealthProfessionsLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for EKG Plain and Simple
B. A. Paris
THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING DEBUT PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER YOU CAN'T MISS!

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

“A hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive...A chilling thriller that will keep you reading long into the night.” —Mary Kubica, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Good Girl

“This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” —Booklist (starred review)

"A can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” —Library Journal (starred review)

“This debut is guaranteed to haunt you...Warning: brace yourself.” —Bustle (10 New Thrillers to Read This Summer)

“The sense of believably and terror that engulfs Behind Closed Doors doesn't waver.” —The Associated Press, picked up by The Washington Post

“This was one of the best and most terrifying psychological thrillers I have ever read.” —San Francisco Book Review


Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He’s a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You’re hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are inseparable.

Some might call this true love. Others might wonder why Grace never answers the phone. Or why she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. Or why she never seems to take anything with her when she leaves the house, not even a pen. Or why there are such high-security metal shutters on all the downstairs windows.

Some might wonder what’s really going on once the dinner party is over, and the front door has closed.

From bestselling author B. A. Paris comes the gripping thriller and international phenomenon Behind Closed Doors.

Karen Ellis
For courses in reading electrocardiograms


This conversational text teaches EKG from basic to advanced concepts
Unlike books that encourage rote memorization, the conversationally-written EKG Plain and Simple puts the student at the patient’s bedside. This popular text focuses not just on identifying rhythms or EKGs, but also on what can be done for the patient. Assuming no prior knowledge, the text covers basic to advanced EKG concepts. Part I progresses seamlessly from basic cardiac A&P through waves and complexes, lead morphology, and rhythms. Part II covers 12-lead interpretation, axis, hypertrophy, myocardial infarction, and more. The author provides many clinical scenarios, anecdotes, and critical-thinking exercises, plus over 500 practice rhythm strips and 12-lead EKGs. The Fourth Edition has been updated to include improved opening scenarios, streamlined explanations, new tables, and more photos, art, and visual aids.


Also available with MyHealthProfessionsLab
Now available packaged with the Fourth Edition of EKG Plain and Simple , MyHealthProfessionsLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. No matter their learning style, students will gain a solid foundation in EKG interpretation through pre-built homework assignments, interactive case studies with assessments, animations, videos, and more! Practice CCT and CET exams provide a true-to-life experience that prepares students for their certification exams. Within MyHealthProfessionsLab’s structured environment, students gain knowledge that will carry through to their professional careers.


Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyHealthProfessionsLab does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyHealthProfessionsLab , ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyHealthProfessionsLab, search for:


9780134627243 / 0134627245 EKG Plain and Simple Plus NEW MyHealthProfessionsLab with Pearson eText--Access Card Package, 4/e contains:

9780134525051 / 0134525051 EKG Plain and Simple 9780134525495/ 0134525493 MyHealthProfessionsLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for EKG Plain and Simple
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.