Cry for Mercy

Detective Eleanor Raven

Book 1
Bookouture
5
Free sample

OMG what an opening. Talk about being hooked… The words ‘OH WOW’ left my mouth when I realized I had finished it!… This is a must read for all crime fans5 massive stars.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


The girl’s eyes were open, her gaze softened with a milky hue. Her perfect skin and halo of blonde hair made her look angelic. It was a brutal contrast to the rope suspending her from the high-vaulted ceiling, and the bruises that had blossomed on her arms. Eleanor reached forward then caught herself. This woman was past saving.


When a beautiful young woman is found murdered in a derelict power station, Detective Inspector Eleanor Raven hurries to the scene. The girl’s body has been ritualistically posed, with cherry-red lipstick painted across her mouth. And when she catches sight of the engagement ring crusted with blood on her delicate finger, Eleanor pushes back on the grief it provokes. Lydia Greystein had so much to live for. The only way Eleanor can help now is to find the killer responsible, and she and her team immediately set to work.


As Eleanor and the team work together to unpick the killer’s motivations, another woman is found, bound and posed in the same ceremonial stance. Suddenly, Eleanor’s case becomes more twisted and urgent than ever. Just when they think they’ve hit a dead end, Eleanor finds a link between the victims and a cold case—an unsolved death with a connection to her own hidden life outside work. To follow the clues now risks bringing her secrets into the open.


But as Eleanor begins to understand the killer, he starts to understand her too.


Eleanor must solve this case before more women are taken. Could the secrets she keeps from those closest to her be the final clue to break open this caseor will they ultimately cost Eleanor her life?


A fast-paced, tense and completely gripping mystery thriller that will keep you hooked until the final page. Karen Long will be the newest favourite crime author for fans of Lisa Regan, Angela Marsons and Robert Dugoni.


Cry for Mercy was previously published as The Safe Word.


Readers love Cry for Mercy:

“I absolutely loved itOMG what an opening. Talk about being hooked… The words ‘OH WOW’ left my mouth when I realized I had finished it! That’s how much I enjoyed it. This is a must read for all crime fans it ticked all the boxes for me. I highly recommend this book giving it 5 massive stars.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Excellent!!!… Fantastic read!!! Do yourself a favour… read it… NOW!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Loved, loved, loved this book.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“This book had me gripped with suspense from page one. I couldn’t put this book down. Such a perfect serial killer thriller. Fantastically written.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“One of the most gripping books I have read… From the off the action was fast-paced and exciting… I cannot recommend it enough.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“I stayed up well into the early hours of the morning to finish this… Just outstanding.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Absolutely brilliant I could not put it down.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Without a doubt, one of the best crime books I have read all year!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Couldn’t put the book down… kept you guessing in the action all the way to the end.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“I don’t give out 5-star reviews lightly… I’m so glad I stumbled across this gem.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Unputdownable… Eleanor Raven is an amazing female character.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“This book is a one-sitting read. You will think you have it figured out in chapter one but do you? You will be sucked in.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Eleanor Raven is quite easily one of my favourite female characters this year… Gritty, suspenseful and captivating.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Excellent thriller… Eleanor Raven is not your average detective by any stretch of the imagination!!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Read more
Collapse
4.2
5 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 16, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
312
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781800192591
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Private Investigators
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Noir
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Romance / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.