A casa do lago

Editora Arqueiro

A casa da família Edevane está pronta para a aguardada festa do solstício de 1933. Alice, uma jovem e promissora escritora, tem ainda mais motivos para comemorar: ela não só criou um desfecho surpreendente para seu primeiro livro como está secretamente apaixonada. Porém, à meia-noite, enquanto os fogos de artifício iluminam o céu, os Edevanes sofrem uma perda devastadora que os leva a deixar a mansão para sempre.Setenta anos depois, após um caso problemático, a detetive Sadie Sparrow é obrigada a tirar uma licença e se retira para o chalé do avô na Cornualha. Certo dia, ela se depara com uma casa abandonada rodeada por um bosque e descobre a história de um bebê que desapareceu sem deixar rastros.A investigação fará com que seu caminho se encontre com o de uma famosa escritora policial. Já uma senhora, Alice Edevane trama a vida de forma tão perfeita quanto seus livros, até que a detetive surge para fazer perguntas sobre o seu passado, procurando desencavar uma complexa rede de segredos de que Alice sempre tentou fugir.Em A casa do lago, Kate Morton guia o leitor pelos meandros da memória e da dissimulação, não o deixando entrever nem por um momento o desenlace desta história encantadora e melancólica."A casa do lago é uma história grandiosa e cativante, do tipo que já se tornou a marca da autora. Sua escrita progride suavemente, com muitas tramas entrelaçadas, mas atadas com maestria. Este livro nos faz lembrar por que amamos ler." – Reader's Digest
Read more

About the author

Kate Morton é uma autora premiada e frequenta as listas de mais vendidos em todo o mundo. Seus livros venderam mais de 10 milhões de exemplares em 42 países, sendo traduzidos para 34 idiomas diferentes. Criada nas montanhas de Queensland, na Austrália, ela é formada em arte dramática e literatura inglesa, especializada em tragédias do século XIX e romances góticos contemporâneos. Atualmente vive com o marido e os filhos em Londres.
Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Editora Arqueiro
Read more
Published on
Jun 5, 2017
Read more
Pages
464
Read more
ISBN
9788580417289
Read more
Language
Portuguese
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A rich, spellbinding new novel from the author of The Lake House—the story of a love affair and a mysterious murder that cast their shadow across generations, set in England from the 1860s until the present day.

My real name, no one remembers.
The truth about that summer, no one else knows.

In the summer of 1862, a group of young artists led by the passionate and talented Edward Radcliffe descends upon Birchwood Manor on the banks of the Upper Thames. Their plan: to spend a secluded summer month in a haze of inspiration and creativity. But by the time their stay is over, one woman has been shot dead while another has disappeared; a priceless heirloom is missing; and Edward Radcliffe’s life is in ruins.

Over one hundred and fifty years later, Elodie Winslow, a young archivist in London, uncovers a leather satchel containing two seemingly unrelated items: a sepia photograph of an arresting-looking woman in Victorian clothing, and an artist’s sketchbook containing the drawing of a twin-gabled house on the bend of a river.

Why does Birchwood Manor feel so familiar to Elodie? And who is the beautiful woman in the photograph? Will she ever give up her secrets?

Told by multiple voices across time, The Clockmaker’s Daughter is a story of murder, mystery, and thievery, of art, love, and loss. And flowing through its pages like a river, is the voice of a woman who stands outside time, whose name has been forgotten by history, but who has watched it all unfold: Birdie Bell, the clockmaker’s daughter.
The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they -- and Grace -- know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets -- some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, already sold in ten countries and a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters -- and an ending -- the reader won't soon forget.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.