The Storms of War: A Novel (The Storms of War)

The Storms of War

Book 1
Pegasus Books
3
Free sample

For fans of Atonement, Birdsong, and Downton Abbey, the first of three novels about a privileged British family enduring the trials of World War I, from New York Times bestselling author Kate Williams. In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter Emmeline, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris, and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world.

But the onslaught of war changes everything and soon the de Witts find themselves sidelined and in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only herself but those she loves in danger.

With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.

Read more

About the author

Kate Williams is Professor of History at the University of Reading and the author of the New York Times bestseller Becoming Queen Victoria; Young Elizabeth; and Ambition and Desire, a biography of Josephine Bonaparte. She serves as CNN’s royal historian and appears regularly on television and radio as a historical adviser.

Read more
3.3
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Pegasus Books
Read more
Published on
Sep 15, 2015
Read more
Pages
528
Read more
ISBN
9781605988689
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / General
Fiction / Historical
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Alive with rich characters and evoking love, loss, and one woman's surprising strength during the tumult of the 1920s and 30s, the new novel in the “Storms of War” trilogy brings this acclaimed series to a dramatic conclusion. This scintillating third part of the “Storms of War” trilogy finds Celia in the glittering new city of 1920s New York, hunting for her son, Michael, who was taken from her at birth. In her desperation to find him, thwarted at every turn, she looks to the valiant girls of an underground flapper army and runaway boy with the biggest heart who knows New York inside and out for help. While in New York, she reconnects with Jonathan Corrigan—the best friend of her long-dead brother—and falls in love. In the hope of saving her family—and their home, Stoneythorpe—Celia sets up a business in New York. Her “Flapper Foods,” beautiful cans and jars of convenience food for the modern girl takes off. Then the Great Depression falls and everything seems lost.

But the Depression brings Michael to her, and although Celia has lost her brother and her business, she has her child. They return to England, and Celia finds her family poor and in desperate need. She starts her business back up in a battle to save the house.

But Celia's attempt to save her family—and keep everybody's secrets—is so all consuming, her business so absorbing that she doesn't see what's going around her. She refuses to see Tom when he begs to see his son. She doesn't see the advance of German rearming and nationalism, nor how it distresses her parents. And most of all, she doesn't see how Michael and his cousin, Lily, are becoming obsessed with each other. The adults attempt to separate the children. And this act tears the family apart.

Michael and Lily disappear, World War II is coming, and Stoneythorpe, despite Celia’s efforts, must be sold. Jonathan realizes she is never coming back to the United States, and Tom is furious with her. It seems to Celia that she has lost everything, especially her son and niece. But the world around her is watching, and hope is on the horizon. But there are big decisions to make, and Celia will have to risk everything to save her family.

Full of joy, wonder, bittersweet emotion, humor and redemption, Into the Darkness is filled with rich characters and a marvelous story about loss, love, new life, and one woman's surprising strength...
Alive with rich characters and evoking love, loss, and one woman's surprising strength during the tumult of the 1920s and 30s, the new novel in the “Storms of War” trilogy brings this acclaimed series to a dramatic conclusion. This scintillating third part of the “Storms of War” trilogy finds Celia in the glittering new city of 1920s New York, hunting for her son, Michael, who was taken from her at birth. In her desperation to find him, thwarted at every turn, she looks to the valiant girls of an underground flapper army and runaway boy with the biggest heart who knows New York inside and out for help. While in New York, she reconnects with Jonathan Corrigan—the best friend of her long-dead brother—and falls in love. In the hope of saving her family—and their home, Stoneythorpe—Celia sets up a business in New York. Her “Flapper Foods,” beautiful cans and jars of convenience food for the modern girl takes off. Then the Great Depression falls and everything seems lost.

But the Depression brings Michael to her, and although Celia has lost her brother and her business, she has her child. They return to England, and Celia finds her family poor and in desperate need. She starts her business back up in a battle to save the house.

But Celia's attempt to save her family—and keep everybody's secrets—is so all consuming, her business so absorbing that she doesn't see what's going around her. She refuses to see Tom when he begs to see his son. She doesn't see the advance of German rearming and nationalism, nor how it distresses her parents. And most of all, she doesn't see how Michael and his cousin, Lily, are becoming obsessed with each other. The adults attempt to separate the children. And this act tears the family apart.

Michael and Lily disappear, World War II is coming, and Stoneythorpe, despite Celia’s efforts, must be sold. Jonathan realizes she is never coming back to the United States, and Tom is furious with her. It seems to Celia that she has lost everything, especially her son and niece. But the world around her is watching, and hope is on the horizon. But there are big decisions to make, and Celia will have to risk everything to save her family.

Full of joy, wonder, bittersweet emotion, humor and redemption, Into the Darkness is filled with rich characters and a marvelous story about loss, love, new life, and one woman's surprising strength...
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.