Shattered Lies

Web of Lies

Book 3
Laurens Publishing
Free sample

The time has come to step out of the shadows . . .

Valeria McGregor was a better shot, a better fighter, and smarter than everyone she’d ever gone up against as an agent for the DEA. Then she’d uncovered illegal activity within her own organization and was fired as part of a cover-up. Valeria is offered a chance to get back in the game as part of a secret elite group reporting only to the president. Valeria fully plans to find the men and women hell bent on ruling the world from the shadows, but she also has revenge on the mind.

Valeria secretly left her new team thinking she could go undercover to get to the bottom of how the shadow group was funded. Valeria discovered too late that when it comes to true evil, it’s best to face it with your team at your back. Alone and on the run, Valeria finds herself being hunted by some of the most dangerous people on the planet. She has learned how the shadow group has been funded and what they have planned next, but she still has to find out where before it’s too late. If the shadow group pulls off their next move, then there may be no stopping them.

Grant Macay would do anything for his former Air Force Pararescue team leader, Dalton Cage. So when Dalton calls and invites Grant into the fold, he doesn’t hesitate to drop everything to rescue Valeria. With her past at the DEA threatening her survival, and the world’s most vicious drug lord hunting her, a feisty Valeria and Grant must make their way back to the team to prepare for the battle of their lives. This woman is unlike anything he’s experience before and it doesn’t take long for the sparks to fly . . . as well as bullets. With time running out, Grant could only hope he and Valeria would be the ones left standing.

Read more

About the author

 Kathleen Brooks is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling author.  Kathleen’s stories are romantic suspense featuring strong female heroines, humor, and happily-ever-afters.  Her Bluegrass Series and follow-up Bluegrass Brothers Series feature small town charm with quirky characters that have captured the hearts of readers around the world.

Kathleen is an animal lover who supports rescue organizations and other non-profit organizations such as Friends and Vets Helping Pets whose goals are to protect and save our four-legged family members.

Email Notice of New Releases:
Kathleen’s Website:

Read more
6 total

Additional Information

Laurens Publishing
Read more
Published on
Oct 19, 2017
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Romance / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / Political
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

See entire series

When danger lurks in the shadows…


Government secrets are being sold and the newly sworn in President of the United States already feels out of options. Without knowing the full scope of the scandal, the president decides to turn to the one person he knows he can trust—former FBI Agent, Elizabeth James. Her deep distrust of the system is rooted in her unfair discharge from service. Now she sees a chance to restore her reputation and send a message to those that would use their power to destroy others' lives.

Elizabeth James is ordered to do whatever it takes to end a criminal organization pulling the strings of the worlds’ governments to do their bidding. She's also been told that this is completely off the books. If caught, the government will deny all knowledge of her and the mission. Elizabeth was ready to go it alone until a man with a chip on his shoulder mysteriously helps her when she’s under fire.


Dalton Cage had led his small group of elite Air Force Pararescuemen into the most dangerous parts of the world to rescue civilians and soldiers alike. He thought his time spent evading enemy fire was over after he was booted for ignoring an order he believed to be wrong. But enemy fire was nothing compared to the dangers he faced when he was offered a chance at redemption. All he had to do was provide back up to an undercover agent and he’d get a chance to rejoin his pararescue team. Danger strikes early and often as Elizabeth and Dalton begin their mission and find their hearts becoming involved. Now every decision could cost them their freedom . . . or their lives.

The bestselling Bluegrass Series is now a boxset!  Find out why so
many readers have fallen in love with this Southern romantic suspense
series set in Keeneston, Kentucky.  This bundle includes three
full-length novels: Bluegrass State of Mind, Risky Shot, and Dead Heat
(total of 215,000 words).

Bluegrass State of Mind

Mason, a New York City attorney with a love of all things Prada, is on
the run from a group of powerful, dangerous men. McKenna turns to a
teenage crush, Will Ashton, for help in starting a new life in beautiful
horse country. She finds that Will is now a handsome, successful race
horse farm owner. As the old flame is ignited, complications are aplenty
in the form of a nasty ex-wife, an ex-boyfriend intent on killing her,
and a feisty race horse who refuses to race without a kiss. Can Will and
McKenna cross the finish line together, and more importantly, alive?

Risky Shot

De Luca, an ex-beauty queen who is not at all what she seems, leaves
the streets of New York after tracking the criminals out to destroy her.
She travels to Keeneston, Kentucky to make her final stand by the side
of her best friend, McKenna Mason. While in Keeneston, Danielle meets
the quiet and mysterious Mohtadi Ali Rahman, a modern day Prince. Can Mo
protect Dani from the group of powerful men in New York? Or will Dani
save the Prince from his rigid, loveless destiny?

Dead Heat

the third book of the Bluegrass Series, Paige Davies finds her world
turned upside down as she becomes involved in her best friends'
nightmare. The strong-willed Paige doesn't know which is worse: someone
trying to kill her, or losing her dog to the man she loves to hate.

Agent Cole Parker can't decide whether he should strangle or kiss this
infuriating woman of his dreams. As he works the case of his career, he
finds that love can be tougher than bringing down some of the most
powerful men in America.


©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.