The Elements of the Crown: A Royal Young Adult Epic Fantasy Novel

· The Elements of Kamdaria Book 1 · Marten Press
4.3
3 reviews
Ebook
450
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

A royal young adult epic fantasy novel with intrigue, magic, and enemies to lovers romance.

She wasn’t supposed to become so powerful. She wasn’t even supposed to survive.

In an empire divided into three rings, Talise is from the lowliest and most dangerous outer ring. To escape that life, she just has to do three things.

1) Attend an elite academy for manipulating the elements of water, air, earth, and fire.

2) Become the most powerful student in her year.

3) Prove her magic is the best in a competition in front of the emperor himself.

Everything goes according to plan until a handsome and rich young man shows up with just as much skill as her.

She has to win. She has to hate him.

But when the competition falls apart, the emperor forces them to work together instead. Their growing attraction only distracts them from dark truths the empire has hidden for too long.

Secrets lurk in every shadow of the palace, hiding a conflict that sits on the brink of war. But Talise has secrets of her own. Secrets that could destroy her.

A war is coming. Talise can only hope she’s powerful enough to meet it.


This completed young adult fantasy series includes:

Book 0: Ice Crown (get for *free)

Book 1: The Elements of the Crown (this includes Ice Crown, which is *Free, it also includes the rest of book 1)

Book 2: The Elements of the Gate

Book 3: The Elements of the Storm

Omnibus: The Elements of Kamdaria The Complete Series

 

PRAISE FOR THE ELEMENTS OF KAMDARIA EPIC FANTASY SERIES

Elemental magic, magic trials, a masquerade ball, and an enemies to friends to lovers plot? Yes please!” --Tessonja Odette, author of Curse of the Wolf King

“The twists of this series are never ending and will have you gasping for breath along the way. Any fan of danger, adventure, elemental magic and pushing the buttons will love this book! Perfect for fans of Elise Kova and LJ Andrews.”

“This is a brilliant read. Wonderful well written plot and story line that had me engaged from the start. Love the well fleshed out characters and found them believeable. Great suspense and action with wonderful world building that adds so much to the story. Can't wait to read more.”

“This book has deception, betrayal and romance with strong characters and awesome friendships. It is filled with lots of twists you don't see coming.”

 

Readers who like young adult epic fantasy, young adult fantasy, YA fantasy books, YA Fantasy, epic fantasy fiction, young adult fantasy, romantic fantasy, fantasy romance, Elise Kova, Tessonja Odette, LJ Andrews Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas, Victoria Aveyard, Kiera Cass, Leigh Bardugo, and Elise Kova are sure to love this royal young adult epic fantasy novel with intrigue, magic, and enemies to lovers romance.

4.3
3 reviews
Karma Clarence June
August 25, 2021
I loved this book. It is divided into sections and each one is like a separate short book, which would provide nice stopping points for things like sleeping for those who have better self control than I do. I am intrigued by Talise and read this book straight through. It is told from the point of view of a female teenager from a fantasy kingdom made up of 3 concentric rings forming 3 castes. This series of 4 shorter books within one larger book takes place in the ring closest to the palace, the Crown. Talise grows up in the lowest level, an area worse than the slums, then is admitted to an academy in the upper level for children who are able to “shape” elements. Her skill is unmatched until a boy, Aaden, from the neighboring academy joins their class near their final months. They all compete for a position in the palace as Master Shaper, the one who can best shape all of the four elements. If Talise does not win, she is banished back to certain death in the Storm. Aaden has a burning desire to win as well. A bit of Airbender, a bit of Hunger Games. Some crazy plot twists I was not expecting but made sense when I looked back. I like it when you can step back and see the whole picture and not just a random, disconnected change of direction. I’m really enjoying Moody’s writing style. Moving on to the next in the series!
Did you find this helpful?
Aletia Meyers
October 26, 2022
I found myself very surprised at how captivating I found this tale. I did not expect to keep turning the page, even though I really should have been going to bed. I find the world intriguing. And I rather enjoy seeing the twists and turns the story takes. It's my first book by Kay L. Moody. I am definitely going to try her other works.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Kay L. Moody is the YA fantasy author of COURT OF BITTER THORN and THE ELEMENTS OF THE CROWN. Her books feature rich world building, slow burn romance, mythical creatures, and twisty plots.

As a lover of strong female characters, books, and the color pink, she enjoys diving into magical worlds where characters can overcome even their darkest struggles. She lives in the western United States with her husband and four sons. Connect with Kay directly when you follow her on social media @kaylmoody

Visit her website to learn more. KayLMoody.com

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.