The Trial of Marie Montrecourt

Troubador Publishing Ltd
1
Free sample

“It was so dark in the cell. However, one of the wardresses had taken pity on her and allowed her a candle, a pen and paper. Marie could only hope that the woman knew how much the gesture had meant. She’d been so taken aback by this unexpected act of kindness that she hadn't been able to find the words to say thank you. During the trial, she’d faced nothing but hostility...”

1899 and Marie Montrecourt arrives in Harrogate from France, an eighteen-year-old, penniless orphan, facing an uncertain future and knowing little of her past. Meanwhile in London, Evelyn Harringdon is dealing with the death of his father, one of the most influential men in Parliament and a hero of the first Boer War.

It would seem that these two events have little in common but they are linked by a scandal, one that is deeply buried in the past.

As Marie struggles to find a place for herself in her new life she is drawn into the fight for women’s rights, while Evelyn discovers that political corruption threatens to ruin his family’s good name. It is his obsession with discovering the truth that brings him into contact with Marie – a meeting that will prove dangerous for them both. They are prisoners of the past, and Evelyn’s attempt at atonement sets Marie on a path which will lead her into making a terrible choice. It’s one which will transform her from an innocent young woman into the central player in a notorious murder trial...

The Trial of Marie Montrecourt is a gripping tale of love, loss and betrayal that will appeal to those with an interest in women’s rights in the early 20th Century, as well as fans of crime fiction.
Read more

About the author

 Kay Patrick trained at RADA and appeared in programmes such as Dr Who. Her career as a television director includes twenty years directing Coronation Street. She lives in Cheshire and is working on a second novel.

Read more
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Troubador Publishing Ltd
Read more
Published on
May 22, 2018
Read more
Pages
200
Read more
ISBN
9781785895517
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

*Library Journal

Publishers Weekly’s #3 Longest-Running Bestseller of 2017 • Winner of the Southern Book Prize • If All Arkansas Read the Same Book Selection 

“A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets.”—People

“Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you’ll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann’s legacy.”—Parade

“One of the year’s best books . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel.”—The Huffington Post
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER •  Lee Child returns with a gripping new powerhouse thriller featuring Jack Reacher, “one of this century’s most original, tantalizing pop-fiction heroes” (The Washington Post).

BONUS: Includes a sneak peek of Lee Child’s new novel, Past Tense.

Reacher takes a stroll through a small Wisconsin town and sees a class ring in a pawn shop window: West Point 2005. A tough year to graduate: Iraq, then Afghanistan. The ring is tiny, for a woman, and it has her initials engraved on the inside. Reacher wonders what unlucky circumstance made her give up something she earned over four hard years. He decides to find out. And find the woman. And return her ring. Why not?

So begins a harrowing journey that takes Reacher through the upper Midwest, from a lowlife bar on the sad side of small town to a dirt-blown crossroads in the middle of nowhere, encountering bikers, cops, crooks, muscle, and a missing persons PI who wears a suit and a tie in the Wyoming wilderness.

The deeper Reacher digs, and the more he learns, the more dangerous the terrain becomes. Turns out the ring was just a small link in a far darker chain. Powerful forces are guarding a vast criminal enterprise. Some lines should never be crossed. But then, neither should Reacher.

Praise for The Midnight Line
 
“Puts Reacher just where we want him.”—The New York Times Book Review

“A gem.”—Chicago Tribune
 
“A timely, suspenseful, morally complex thriller, one of the best I’ve read this year . . . Child weaves in a passionately told history of opioids in American life. . . . Child’s outrage over it is only just barely contained.”—The Philadelphia Inquirer
 
“A perfect example of Lee Child’s talent . . . Lee Child is the master of plotting. . . . This is Child’s most emotional book to date. . . . This is not just a good story; it is a story with a purpose and a message.”—Huffington Post
 
“I just read the new Jack Reacher novel by Lee Child. . . . It is as good as they always are. I read every single one.”—Malcolm Gladwell
‘I loved this book… I was hooked and couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next… to say I devoured this book is a little bit of an understatement… What a great book!’ Dark Twisty Books

 

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him. 

 

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death... So why did he have a picture of her?

 

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

 

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

 

Read what everyone is saying about The Serial Killer’s Daughter:

 

‘Amazing, page turning, tense and twisted… From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't stop at all.’ Stylish Brunette

 

‘Oh my goodness what a dark and twisted read… Gripping from the first page, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to its shocking conclusion… A roller coaster of a thriller… A gripping story of the psychology of evil and the lengths people will go to meet their own needs.’ The Book Review Café

 

‘An explosive climax.’ Novel Gossip

 

‘This thriller will have you speeding to the end.’ Books, Books and More Books

 

‘Had me gripped… I couldn’t tear my eyes away.’ The Writing Garnet

 

‘Twists and turns galore which kept me gripped from start to finish. The story flows perfectly with numerous shocking truths uncovered along the way. Brilliantly written… I highly recommend.’ Chat About Books

 

‘A riveting, haunting and twisted family tale.’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

 

‘The Serial Killer's Daughter is one gripping and absorbing psychological thriller… Lesley Welsh did an excellent job of getting into a serial killer's head. A truly absorbing read for anyone who likes the psychological thriller genre!’ Novel Deelights

 

‘A fun, twisty-turning read.’ When the Books Hit the Fans

 

‘Really enjoyed this book, the story line was fascinating. I loved the style of writing… A real page turner that I had a hard job putting down. A solid 6 stars.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

 

‘I absolutely ADORED this amazing, page turning, tense and twisted thriller. From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't flag, the writing is tight and spare and yet beautiful, the characters real and flawed. Loved every word. Highly recommend this brilliant read.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘It is a seriously dark and disturbing read… As evil as Don is, he still fascinated me and even though I was horrified by his actions, I had to keep reading. Fans of serial killer reads are without a doubt going to love it as it definitely has the shock factor.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

 

‘The character development in this psychological thriller is sublime… Without doubt one of the most twisted serial killers I’ve encountered… Very twisty.’ It’s All About Books

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.