The Buried Sky: Post Apocalyptic Coming of Age Mystery

Pyramid Press
Free sample

Trapped in a small town...

Calvin has grown up in a town with no phones. No televisions. No windows. A town that no stranger ever visits. And a town where no one under the age of twenty-one has ever seen the open sky.

There's not much work available, but the citizens have found ways to pass the time. Some bury themselves in books. Some become religious fanatics. And some play ever more complicated games of sex and manipulation.

And one of them has murdered Calvin's father.

Calvin needs to find out who and why. And he'd better do it fast. Because right now, he's the only suspect.

They're coming for him. And there's nowhere to run.

•Post apocalyptic young adult dystopian science fiction amateur sleuth noir mystery with occasional sex loosely based on Plato’s Allegory of the Cave•
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Keith Hartman grew up in Huntsville Alabama, where he was a weird little boy who didn't fit in. He went to Princeton University, where he was supposed to study economics and instead blew all his time on theater courses. He then started a PhD in Finance at Duke, before realizing that he just couldn't spend the rest of his life teaching MBA's how to screw each other. So he ran away to be a writer.His parents were thrilled.He sold his first short story to a tiny magazine that went out of business, and his first book to Rutgers University, which did not.He moved to Los Angeles a few years ago to direct low budget movies. It turns out that everyone in Hollywood is stark raving mad.And Keith fits right in.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Pyramid Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 6, 2011
Read more
Collapse
Pages
154
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781453823668
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Noir
Fiction / Science Fiction / Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
“The Wild Dead is a tightly plotted mind-thrill . . . This is the feminist dystopian mystery series you didn’t know you needed.” — Meg Elison, Philip K. Dick Award–winning author of The Road to Nowhere series
 
Mysteries and murder abound in the sequel to the Philip K. Dick Award–winning Bannerless
 
A century after environmental and economic collapse, the people of the Coast Road have rebuilt their own sort of civilization, striving not to make the mistakes their ancestors did. They strictly ration and manage resources, including the ability to have children. Enid of Haven is an investigator, who with her new partner, Teeg, is called on to mediate a dispute over an old building in a far-flung settlement at the edge of Coast Road territory. The investigators’ decision seems straightforward — and then the body of a young woman turns up in the nearby marshland. Almost more shocking than that, she’s not from the Coast Road, but from one of the outsider camps belonging to the nomads and wild folk who live outside the Coast Road communities. Now one of them is dead, and Enid wants to find out who killed her, even as Teeg argues that the murder isn’t their problem. In a dystopian future of isolated communities, can our moral sense survive the worst hard times?
 
“An intriguing mystery made compelling by its post-apocalyptic setting . . . Another great read from Vaughn.” — S. M. Stirling, New York Times best-selling author of The Sky-Blue Wolves and Dies the Fire

A Mariner Original
A John Joseph Adams Book
 
Murder, Conspiracies… and what might be black magic.

In the summer of 2035, Atlanta is a city on the verge of panic. A killer is stalking her people, leaving behind eerily beautiful crime scenes painted with occult symbols. Is he an insane artist, carving his work out of flesh and blood? A satanic sorcerer, hoping to bring about the end of days? Or a political operative, trying to terrify the electorate into voting for his party?

A handful of people have the pieces to the puzzle, but they are scattered through the city’s subcultures: A black cop, trying to use high-tech forensics to solve crimes that seem to be right out of the Middle Ages. A Wiccan journalist who employs scrying spells and search engines with equal skill. A televangelist with an eye on the White House, and the Christian rock star who wants to take him down. A transgendered Cherokee shaman trying to right a wrong from the 1800’s. A street-smart gay detective hunting for his missing partner.

And Benji, the fourteen year old boy at the center of it all. Who thinks that his biggest problem is what will happen when his strict Baptist parents find out that his new girlfriend is a witch.

Together, they might be able to stop what’s coming. If they can stay alive long enough to find each other.

Winner of Two Spectrum Awards and picked as one of the “Ten Best Mysteries of the Year” by The Drood Review of Mysteries.

•Wisecracking gay PI witch magic realism near future high tech police procedural occult science fiction mystery coming of age social satire with politics and occasional sex. Read at your own risk.•

 

‘I loved this book… I was hooked and couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next… to say I devoured this book is a little bit of an understatement… What a great book!’ Dark Twisty Books

 

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him. 

 

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death... So why did he have a picture of her?

 

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

 

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

 

Read what everyone is saying about The Serial Killer’s Daughter:

 

‘Amazing, page turning, tense and twisted… From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't stop at all.’ Stylish Brunette

 

‘Oh my goodness what a dark and twisted read… Gripping from the first page, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to its shocking conclusion… A roller coaster of a thriller… A gripping story of the psychology of evil and the lengths people will go to meet their own needs.’ The Book Review Café

 

‘An explosive climax.’ Novel Gossip

 

‘This thriller will have you speeding to the end.’ Books, Books and More Books

 

‘Had me gripped… I couldn’t tear my eyes away.’ The Writing Garnet

 

‘Twists and turns galore which kept me gripped from start to finish. The story flows perfectly with numerous shocking truths uncovered along the way. Brilliantly written… I highly recommend.’ Chat About Books

 

‘A riveting, haunting and twisted family tale.’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

 

‘The Serial Killer's Daughter is one gripping and absorbing psychological thriller… Lesley Welsh did an excellent job of getting into a serial killer's head. A truly absorbing read for anyone who likes the psychological thriller genre!’ Novel Deelights

 

‘A fun, twisty-turning read.’ When the Books Hit the Fans

 

‘Really enjoyed this book, the story line was fascinating. I loved the style of writing… A real page turner that I had a hard job putting down. A solid 6 stars.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

 

‘I absolutely ADORED this amazing, page turning, tense and twisted thriller. From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't flag, the writing is tight and spare and yet beautiful, the characters real and flawed. Loved every word. Highly recommend this brilliant read.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘It is a seriously dark and disturbing read… As evil as Don is, he still fascinated me and even though I was horrified by his actions, I had to keep reading. Fans of serial killer reads are without a doubt going to love it as it definitely has the shock factor.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

 

‘The character development in this psychological thriller is sublime… Without doubt one of the most twisted serial killers I’ve encountered… Very twisty.’ It’s All About Books

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.