A Boy Made of Blocks: The most uplifting novel of 2017

Sold by St. Martin's Press
4
Free sample

A Boy Made of Blocks is a funny, heartwarming story of family and love inspired by the author's own experiences with his son, the perfect latest obsession for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes.

A father who rediscovers love

Alex loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn't understand him. He needs a reason to grab his future with both hands.

A son who shows him how to live

Meet eight-year-old Sam: beautiful, surprising - and different. To him the world is a frightening mystery. But as his imagination comes to life, his family will be changed . . . for good.

"One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time."
Good Housekeeping

"Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did."
Graeme Simsion

"Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome."
Jenny Colgan

"'A wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love."
Daily Mail

“A charming and timely tale of learning to connect in the digital age.”
Kirkus

"This is an author who understands fatherhood and boyhood and everything in between. A truly beautiful book."
Matthew Dicks, author of Memoirs of An Imaginary Friend

"A Boy Made of Blocks will make you laugh and cry in equal measure; a book you won’t soon forget."
Brenda Janowitz, author of The Dinner Party

Read more

About the author

KEITH STUART is the games editor of the Guardian and a veteran video game journalist who has spent 20 years playing, investigating, and writing about video games and their possibilities. He lives with his family in Somerset, England. A Boy Made of Blocks is his first book.
Read more
4.0
4 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
St. Martin's Press
Read more
Published on
Sep 6, 2016
Read more
Pages
400
Read more
ISBN
9781250111609
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Family Life
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
“I loved this book. It's one of those books that you just want to give to everybody.” —Nancy Pearl on NPR’s Morning Edition

“An astute, engaging debut” (Publishers Weekly), The Trouble with Goats and Sheep is a quirky and utterly charming tale of a community in need of reconciliation and two girls learning what it means to belong.

England, 1976. Mrs. Creasy is missing and the Avenue is alive with whispers. The neighbors blame her sudden disappearance on the heat wave, but ten-year-olds Grace and Tilly aren’t convinced, and decide to take matters into their own hands.

Spunky, spirited Grace and quiet, thoughtful Tilly go door to door in search of clues. The cul-de-sac starts to give up its secrets, and the amateur detectives uncover more than they ever imagined. A complicated history of deception begins to emerge—everyone on the Avenue has something to hide.

During that sweltering summer, the lives of all the neighbors begin to unravel. The girls come to realize that the lies told to conceal what happened one fateful day about a decade ago are the same ones Mrs. Creasy was starting to peel back just before she disappeared...

“A thoughtful tale of loyalty and friendship, family dynamics and human nature” (Kirkus Reviews), this glorious debut is part coming-of-age story, part mystery. The Trouble with Goats and Sheep radiates an unmistakable warmth and intelligence and is “rife with tiny extraordinaries” (The New York Times Book Review). “Joanna Cannon is an author to watch” (Booklist, starred review).
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.