Wordbook of Australian Idiom - Aussie Slang: No Worries! She's Apples!

Trafford Publishing
1
Free sample

A direct and informative Wordbook of Idiom and Slang which is directed at giving explanation to the meaning of and the correct usage of the Australian English language.

There are some words used that may offend as they have converse meanings to other English Speaking countries; however, there is no intent to offend or malign or denigrate anybody.

This book is designed to be informative, educational, and full of humor and will give the reader insight to a unique and colorful language.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Kerrin. P. Rowe was born in the outback area as it was then, in the gold mining town of Kalgoorlie; he later lived in the district of Norseman which is also a remote outback area of Western Australia.

He was educated in the cities of Perth and Melbourne Victoria.

Kerrin was employed in the plastics, printing ink, advertising and transport industries, in management and executive roles in these fields. He did also own several diversified businesses.

Kerrin has had first hand experiencing in studying the culture, the idiom and slang and the unique humorous, eccentricity of the Aussie spoken language.

Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Trafford Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 1, 2007
Read more
Collapse
Pages
176
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781412208260
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Business & Economics / Industries / Hospitality, Travel & Tourism
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.

Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you’ll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.