The Silent Wife: A gripping emotional page turner with a twist that will take your breath away

Bookouture
419
Free sample

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he’d done something terrible?

 

‘A heart-wrenching and gripping tale. I was hooked from the very first page.’ Write Escape 

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything he has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage. 

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. Then one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves? 

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price. 

A USA Today bestseller – a heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain. 

What everyone’s saying about The Silent Wife:

‘A compulsive read about secrets, lies, and the complexities of families.’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books

What a great novel this is! A very moving story filled with deception, betrayal and, contrastingly, loyalty, love, caring and forgiveness... and it has a brilliant ending!’ Splashes Into Books

Well, this book is a firecracker!...you will experience a rollercoaster of emotions, with laughter, sadness and a satisfying ending that will bring a lump to your throat.’ Many Books Many Lives

‘A fantastic, thought-provoking story, told with pace and style.’ Laura Bambrey Books

My heart broke … The plot is so well written that you begin to feel as though you are one of the family and it is packed with twists and turns.’ The Reading Reverie

‘A page turner - full of implied secrets, unravelling family lives, new family dynamics.’ Bookworms and Shutterbugs

‘An addictive novel about family dynamics, secrets and betrayals that will have your mouth hanging open in disbelief many times along the way.’ Books of All Kinds

‘A compelling, chilling and heart pounding read which will take you on a rollercoaster ride you’ll never want to leave. Phenomenally written and undeniably powerful, Kerry Fisher has done it yet again.’ The Writing Garnet

‘My only regret about this book is beginning to read it at half term and not being able to finish it quicker. A gripping and emotional read.’ De Ja Reads

‘It is rare that a book will make you look at your own personality and inspire you to be a better person. A less judgmental person. A braver person. The Silent Wife did that for me – and in the most unexpected way … I gasped, laughed and cried.’ The Glass House Girls

‘I loved this book… I was riveted throughout. 5 stars.’ Emma B books

The Silent Wife had me engrossed from page one. Five Stars!’ Boon’s Bookcase

Another five star read from Kerry Fisher ... I love Kerry Fisher’s books and this was no exception!’ Strongly Review

‘A wonderful, poignant, heart breaking, heart warming story of families and secrets, of hidden strength and unexpected friendship. Brilliant! Very highly recommended. Cannot wait for Kerry’s next!’ Renita D’Silva

This book was previously titled The Secrets of Second Wives 

Read more
Collapse

More by Kerry Fisher

See more
‘Wow, wow, wow. I am speechless as to how good this book was… A highly emotional, heart-breaking story.’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

You can run from your past, but it will always catch up with you…
 
Susie was forced to do something she will always regret. Everything that led to the choice she made had to be buried and forgotten.

Her secret echoes down through the years, tainting everything it touches. Her husband wonders why his wife is so distant. Her daughters can’t understand their changeable mother. 

Susie knows her past is pushing her family apart, and the guilt is eating her up, but she can’t escape from the consequences of what she has done. No-one but Susie knows the whole story, and when her daughters discover a piece of the puzzle, she must face the question she has struggled with for most of her life:

Would the truth bring them back together, or break them?
 
From the bestselling author of The Silent Wife, The Secret Child is a heartbreaking and unputdownable novel about family secrets and lies. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.


What readers are saying about The Secret Child:

 

‘WOW! From the very first, emotional chapter, I was hooked. And the story just kept getting better and better, more and more addictive… Brilliant author! Fabulous book!’ Renita d’Silva

 

‘The Secret Child is a powerful and emotionally charged character-driven novel. The story is heartbreaking as well as touching. I didn’t want to put the book down, for even a moment. And, this superbly written story stayed with me, long after I had turned the last page… I will read again and again.’ Write Escape, 5 stars

 

‘Will pull at your heartstrings… The characters and the stories were so beautifully written… This book will not disappoint.’ Book Nerd Anonymous, 5 stars

 

‘Heartfelt and emotional from the start… It tugged on my heartstrings and caused me to shed a few tears… It was everything I love in a book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘This is a very well written and compelling story, a heartbreaking tale of love, loss and lies which keeps you involved from start to finish.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I absolutely adore Kerry Fisher’s writing and her books just keep getting better and better.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I wanted to know how the story ended but it was so good that I wanted to keep reading… will pull on your heartstrings from every direction possible. A sure-fire bestseller.’ Sandie’s Bookshelves, 5 stars

 

‘A very emotional and thought provoking story… This was the first book by Kerry Fisher for me but it won't be the last.’ Twin Spin, 5 stars

 

‘So beautifully written it pulled me in and I felt my heart wrench… I didn't want it to end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘A touching story of love and loss, beautifully written and emotionally charged.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘A really emotional and heartbreaking story that had me in tears on more than one occasion.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Will tug at your heartstrings from the very beginning… Kerry Fisher knows how to write a book that will pull it’s readers into the story and make them feel everything.’ Book in One Hand Coffee in Another, 5 stars

 

‘I could not put this book down all day long… What a layered, poignant, deep, beautiful story. Simply wonderful writing. I am a new fan of Kerry Fisher!!’ Are Muffins Just Ugly Cupcakes?, 5 stars

‘For fans of Jodi Picoult and Liane Moriarty, this book is an intense page-turner… a book that you won't be able to put down until the very last page. It’s awesome, read it!’ Our Grand Life

 

A new home can be a happy ending. Or a fresh start. Or a hiding place...

 

Of all the emotions single mother Kate Jones feels as she walks into her brand new house on Parkview Road, hope is the most unexpected. She has changed her name and her daughter’s, and moved across the country to escape the single mistake that destroyed their lives.

 

Kate isn’t the only woman on the street starting afresh. Warm, whirlwind Gisela with her busy life and confident children, and sharp, composed Sally, with her spontaneous marriage and high-flying career, are the first new friends Kate has allowed herself in years. Whilst part of her envies their seemingly perfect lives, their friendship might help Kate to leave her guilt behind. 

 

Until one day, everything changes. Kate is called to the scene of a devastating car accident, the consequences of which will test everything the women thought they knew about each other, and themselves.

 

Can Kate stop her own secrets from unravelling, or was her hope for a new life in vain?

 

From the bestselling author of The Silent Wife, The Woman I Was Before is a book about the things we hide from those closest to us – and the terrible consequences that keeping those secrets can have. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

 

Readers love The Woman I Was Before:

‘It’s been a long time since I read a whole book in 24 hours but there was no way I was putting down The Woman I Was Before. No one writes complex, painful family love like Kerry Fisher. Real and raw but funny too. Loved it!’ Iona Grey, author of Letters to the Lost

 

‘Wow, what a corker of a novel… exactly the sort of novel that creeps into your life and you don’t want to put down… will keep you turning the pages, anxiously, excitedly and soon to reach a thrilling conclusion.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Loved it!!!! Fell in love with the characters, so real and relatable.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I was absolutely smitten with this book! I enjoyed it from the first page to the last.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I loved this book – I lost my whole Sunday reading – just couldn't put it down!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Kate’s secret, when revealed, is gut-wrenching... An excellent read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘A cracking character-driven story that enthralled me.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘5 stars! Kerry Fisher has once again nailed it with this fantastic book about how our lives may not really be as wonderful as we like to present them on social media.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘This is the first book I’ve read by Ms Fisher and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it! It sucked me in from the beginning!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Wives and mothers have an inexplicable need to use social media to share cozy snapshots and smart hash-tags that give the sense of a bright and shiny life. Kerry Fisher writes an endearing story about what really happens outside of the photo frame for women who are dealing with the challenges life brings. A wonderful read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘There are secrets galore, some big, some bigger. Very well done!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Absolutely loved this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘An excellent read.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I enjoyed every page.’ NetGalley Reviewer

4.5
419 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 24, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
352
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781786811264
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Sagas
Literary Collections / Women Authors
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.